We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a great old fashioned hotel to stay. The rooms are always clean and tidy . Nothing flash but have all the basics. The facilties on site are amazing. The Pavillion restaurant is fantastic. We have now stayed there over 12times and had the most awesome food every visit. Infact that is the main reason we come back to stay at Wairakei. The staff are always friendly, engaging and so helpful. We will be back ...thankyou once again !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

I held a training course at this hotel. The room was spacious, clean and tidy, the restaurant was excellent, the conference and catering staff were incredibly helpful and the price was reasonable. It is only a few kms out of Taupo and very well located for travel from all directions. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank db7andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Myself and several girlfriends stayed one night at the resort. We shopped in the morning, spent the afternoon at the resort using the well equipped gym, lounging in the hot pool and having a few wines. The next day we mountain biked the Craters of the Moon. The staff were super friendly, helping us store our bikes overnight in the bike room. We didnt eat at the restaurant so cant comment on that. Even though we had to be out at 10am, they told us we were welcome to come back after our ride and shower at the gym and the have a hot pool. That was fantastic I thought. I am definitely going to go back and take my family as the kids would love the pool and the tennis court and all that Taupo has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellen_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Room was dated, smelly and disappointing for price. Park only had few items, one for preschoolers, 2 swings and trampoline. Pool nice (one too cold for a Winter) spa (by family room) very shabby, headrests missing (just glue!) few bubbles.
Restaurants nice. Children's buffet good value but mains quite expensive. Breakfast very nice and lots of choice. I think that the experience depends on room but I would not return unless I were to make use of golf course, tennis and took bikes.

Room Tip: Look for offers on activities in foyer, or ask when booking as we paid then found out were free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kellyjoanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a family room which was nicely furnished and very clean. The only little thing that was missing, that I would have liked was a toaster. The restaurant served great food and was reasonably priced especially the kids meals. Helpful staff and the facilities were good. My kids loved the squash court and hot pools. We will go back again.u

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I also ways feel safe and relaxed when we stay at the Wairakei
We have been staying here for 5 years and enjoy every stay
They have great facilities for the whole family, stuff that we can all enjoy together or just par take on our own.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We would have had a better time if we could have had a family room. The booking page of the website indicated availability but apparently not. Adjoining rooms was best we could do. Strange thing was a lack of resort compendium full of information on the resort and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.3 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,131 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
5.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 68 in Taupo
342 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.4 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#15 of 68 in Taupo
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £69 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing