We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are a family of four (twin boys aged 12). We have stayed here several times and always really enjoyed our stay. Even though we cram ourselves into one room it's a great hotel with a stunning outdoor heated pool that stays open to a good hour of the night. The restaurant is great for breakfast, and the a la carte menu for dinner was pretty good too.

We'll definitely stay again as it's great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs as the corridors are less travelled and quieter. Plus you get a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SkinnyLaVeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    277
    121
    31
    15
See reviews for
217
215
19
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hi, sometimes when you choose to stay at large hotels that have been around awhile you imagine dated rooms and disinterested service.
Not at the Wairakei resort. The room was modern and spacious,the bathroom slightly dated but not damaged or well used looking.
The service was friendly and helpful. The facilities excellent.
The restaurant was also great. Although busy on a Saturday night with locals at their Mid Winter smorgesboard we got attentive service for our Al la Carte choice. The menu was broad and our orders were well done. Great flaovour, great presentation, great taste.
I'd recommend staying here and eating here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

As always a great place to visit.wonderful hot pools to swim in when it is cold and rainy.lovely welcoming entrance. But no squash rackets, one of the spa pools was filthy and there were no cheap dinner options saturday night.little bit of a let down as it was the school holidays !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a great old fashioned hotel to stay. The rooms are always clean and tidy . Nothing flash but have all the basics. The facilties on site are amazing. The Pavillion restaurant is fantastic. We have now stayed there over 12times and had the most awesome food every visit. Infact that is the main reason we come back to stay at Wairakei. The staff are always friendly, engaging and so helpful. We will be back ...thankyou once again !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I held a training course at this hotel. The room was spacious, clean and tidy, the restaurant was excellent, the conference and catering staff were incredibly helpful and the price was reasonable. It is only a few kms out of Taupo and very well located for travel from all directions. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank db7andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, NZ
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Myself and several girlfriends stayed one night at the resort. We shopped in the morning, spent the afternoon at the resort using the well equipped gym, lounging in the hot pool and having a few wines. The next day we mountain biked the Craters of the Moon. The staff were super friendly, helping us store our bikes overnight in the bike room. We didnt eat at the restaurant so cant comment on that. Even though we had to be out at 10am, they told us we were welcome to come back after our ride and shower at the gym and the have a hot pool. That was fantastic I thought. I am definitely going to go back and take my family as the kids would love the pool and the tennis court and all that Taupo has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellen_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Room was dated, smelly and disappointing for price. Park only had few items, one for preschoolers, 2 swings and trampoline. Pool nice (one too cold for a Winter) spa (by family room) very shabby, headrests missing (just glue!) few bubbles.
Restaurants nice. Children's buffet good value but mains quite expensive. Breakfast very nice and lots of choice. I think that the experience depends on room but I would not return unless I were to make use of golf course, tennis and took bikes.

Room Tip: Look for offers on activities in foyer, or ask when booking as we paid then found out were free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyjoanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
5.5 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,063 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
5.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
310 reviews
5.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
4.6 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wairakei Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairakei Resort Taupo

Property: Wairakei Resort Taupo
Address: 640 Wairakei Drive, Taupo 3384, New Zealand (Formerly Bayview Wairakei Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taupo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#14 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wairakei Resort Taupo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wairakei Resort Taupo is located only 5 minutes north of Taupo town centre, offering superb hotel and villa accommodation in Taupo with excellent indoor & outdoor leisure facilities and dining options, as well as a being a purpose built Taupo conference venue. All situated in a stunning historic setting, close to Taupo’s many activities and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wairakei Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Wairakei Hotel Taupo
Hotel Bayview Wairakei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing