We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonial Lodge Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baycrest Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
33
16
12
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
16
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcoming and friendly hostsspa bathlakeside locationroom was cleanstayed one nightlake taupothe ground floornew zealandnoelkitchenettemotelfacilitiesunittoiletpillowsheaterdryer
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel had large comfortable rooms with a great kitchenette and a large Jacuzzi tub that we filled in a few minutes. The room was clean and appeared to have been recently updated with bright and attractive colors. The lake view from the front of the motel is incredible and there are seating areas with direct views of the lake. There is plenty of off street parking. Based on other reviews, I was concerned about the traffic noise but it was never a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Csprings99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Hi there. Thanks for your review.

It is great to here from people that enjoyed their stay and what we have to offer. Yes we are in the midst of refurbishing Suites and Apartments and bringing back the "Colonial" look to our property.This will take some more time as we do things steadily here.

Our Beach Front BBQ area has been popular for those late afternoon BBQ's that allow Guests to sit and eat and take in the great sunsets over the lake.

Our rooms are quiet even though we are on the Main Road and our parking is quite good having enough spaces for 13 vehicles. We try to encourage Owners of Larger Mini Buses and Off Road Trucks to park in the rear car park and leave the front of units to smaller sedans or wagons.

We hope to see you and your friends again on another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

For the price ($160) for 3 people in peak season I was pretty happy with the motel unit.
Lake Taupo is just across the road and the main shopping centre is a 15 minute walk away.
Room is clean and tidy. The spa bath was a bonus. Beds were actually quite good.
Could have done with a few more coffee sachets (3 only) but other than that we were happy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwiguy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our family had a great time staying at The Colonial Lodge Motel especially with just a stone's throw away from the beautiful lake. We enjoyed the sunset every evening and the duck / swan feeding sessions were great for the kids.
Food and shopping is conveniently located with just a short walk away.
Not far from the motel, there are also lots of attractions like the Huka Falls, Action park (for the kids), Honey Hive, Prawn fishing park, lava glass blowing, white-water rafting etc.
Most of all ,the owners are a great bunch ! Thanks for the wonderful experience Noel & Anthony !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RODHEOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Had a great stay at the motel, the room was spacious and clean and with a well equipped kitchenette. The view in front of the motel is glorious as the pacid Lake Taupo and the snow capped mountains reminds me of Switzerland. The owners recommended some nearby attractions and those were interesting. The town is 5 minutes drive away and this makes meals and shopping convenient.
Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel B, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Hello Sock Cheng

It was a pleasure having your here with us and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your long stay.

There are many attractions within easy driving and/or walking distance from our Property. The town is a pleasant place to walk around and shop. We hope your luggage was within the 30kg limit with your buying.

We look forward to your next visit and will ensure that Cookies and Scones are available made with the special receipe's you left us.

Have a great Christmas and New Year.

Noel and Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a very comfortable motel on the lakeside in Taupo. It was a full house due to the Taupo Half Marathon . The rooms were spacious,well appointed and exceptionally clean. Despite the full house the rooms were cleaned v promptly the next day. Good tv with full range of Sky channels and v reasonably priced at $110...Taupo has always been an expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews