We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Lodge Motel
Ranked #42 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This lodge was randomly chosen by an i-site center, and I'm so happy to have stay at this wonderful place. There is no view of the lake from the rooms, but it's certainly lake front in that it's just across the street. It is a little ways away from the heart from town (about 10 minutes), but that means parking is plentiful and you have a little piece of the lake all to yourself. The perfect R&R I needed during my short vacation.

About the room, I was on the ground floor and it gave me the peace I need for a good night's rest. The beds are super comfortable. The TV looks less than a year old with more stations than some places I stayed. The room has a kitchenette equipped with essential kitchenware that made me want to cook for the very first time in my entire trip. Last but not least, a SPA TUB!!!!

What made this place so dear to me is not only the charm of the lodge, but the people who operate this place. The owners Anthony and Noel are great people who not only took care of the property well but also nice to guests. Anthony helped me book a next day whitewater rafting trip 20 minutes before the business close, and recommended some local attractions during my short stay. I also got to do my laundry there at no cost, and was given some wonderful cookies as dessert.

The compassion from the owners made all the difference in my trip. While the decor may not be contemporary, it fits very well with the B&B cottage feel of this wonderful place. It is unfortunate that I only stayed one night at this relaxing place, this is one place I wouldn't mind staying longer. Thank you, Anthony and Noel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheap_flashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi Flashpacker.

Thanks for the review. Much appreciated.

Yes we offer something quite different to our guests than they would expect. Our Suites and Family Apartments are much larger than others in the area and we have beds in the Apartments and Suites so guests do not have to pull out Sofa Beds for the additional family or guests. Our Kitchens and Bathrooms are also larger than the average Motels in the district.

Our rooms are quiet, due to the double window locking so no road or external noises. The second floor Suites and Apartments have some lake views but your booking was a late one and we only had a downstairs suites, that overlook the courtyard, available at that time for you.

We have had some changes made to the landscaping, fences cut down and a total new theme for the Front Garden with a new large Water Feature cascading towards the front of the building.
We used Feng Sui to position the water feature in the right place.

The BBQ and Bar have been moved to the side where the Hedge used to be and the front fence lowered to take advantage of the great views. The courtyard now has a beautiful garden lacing the plain rockery. That gives some added colour to the area. We have added Colonial Light Posts and Lamps across the front of the property keeping it all in the one theme.

Its amazing the number of guests, that comment we have the only flowering gardens in any motel between us and the town centre. Makes a difference

We have a new range of Home Made Cookies and Muffins ready for your next visit. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Noel & Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    13
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
25
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I chose this hotel by other Trip Advisor reviews and value for money. It was clean and a good location by the lake front but if you do not have a car, it is too far from the town. Comfortable beds and a quiet location so good nights sleep, one of my main criteria. Could do with more than the bare minimum of crockery as we had to keep washing up. Bathrooms are functional and clean but getting a bit aged and need refurbishing. Staff were helpful and informative. Car parking could be a problem if the apartments were fully booked. I would stay here again if in Taupo.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank layerliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi Layerliz

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found us adequate and that you would stay with us again. We strive to accommodate all guests tastes and needs.

Being only 1.3 Klms from the centre of town it is not all that far to stroll. Many of our guests, of Senior Years, love the pleasant walk along the edge of the lake to town or restaurants and take in the views with the Swans and Ducks along with the Sail Boats etc.

We do have 3 sets of Crockery in each Suite and 5 sets in each Apartment. This is quite adequate for three to five guests per meal. If you had additional Guests for a meal we are available during the day and evening to assist with additional supplies. It is sad when we have to replace plates and cutlery when guests "borrow them" as they leave or break them and not inform us.

We have no problem with parking as we have 12 Units and 13 actual parking spots that can extent to 14 if required. We quite often have 100% occupancy and have no problem accommodating vehicles. Unfortunately the design of a 2 story building does not allow for all guest to park directly outside their accommodation so some may have to walk 10 to 15 metres to their accommodation.

I am sure you will see the change when you do come back again. We have only been here for half a year and, once the budget traveller's season ends, we will be starting our upgrades that will move us to a higher star rating. This includes the remodeling the bathrooms. The more simple the suites and apartments are the better for guests.

We wish you well in your travels.

Noel & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harnosand, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had booked Baywater Motor Inn just a few metres down the road. When we got there we found out that the previous owners had left the place, no reservation for us and no idea if we’d get our prepaid money back. However the owner of this hotel managed to save our last week in New Zealand. Very friendly, home baked cookies, Beach front BBQ. My girls even thought he looked like their granddad. When we left we all agreed that this was the greatest way to end our 6 weeks long trip to Australia and New Zealand. Oh, and we got our money back for the previous booking so no hard feelings. The next time I’ll book The Colonial Lodge!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello Anki.

It was great to have you stay with us and hope that your return home was pleasant.
Back to the cold must have been a shock to your system after our windy but pleasant weather.

We are happy to hear that your stay with us ended your trip in a pleasant way. Nice to leave wiht good memories and experiences. We do hope to see you and the girls again in the near future.

We also now make muffins and also another type of home made cookies from Old Aunties handed down recipe. I am sure you will enjoy them just as much on your next visit.

Glad to hear that your refund went through OK from your Agent.

Best regards

Noel and Anthony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Hi Guys.

We wrote a review as we promised we would but it must have gone astray.
Great Apartment, Great Sleep, Great Location right on the main beach. Very friendly Hosts. The home Made Cookies delighted the kids.

Easy access to a lot of the attractions around Taupo. We found the walk to the shopping centre an easy pleasant stroll along the lake edge. The hot foot pools pointed out to us were great.

Parking was not a problem although full house and busy. No Traffic Noise even though on busy Lake Terrace.

Bedding and Apartment very clean and well kept. Room Serviced every day. Did not have a fold out bed or a roll away for the kids as the Apartment had a Queen Bed and 2 Single beds and plenty of room. Kitchen Facilities good for cooking Family Holiday Meals. Spa was a plus after our Mountain Trek.

Grounds look inviting with nice garden beds of summer flowers. Nice to sit on the verandah or Front BBQ and enjoy the Sail Boats water sports etc.

Keep it up guys. Will see you again next school hols.

Alex.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbitman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi Hobbitman.

We were wondering what happened to the review as some time had passed since you notified us you had written one.

Glad we could be of service to your and your family during your stay.
We look forward to your next holiday stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This motel is v friendly and the rooms are nice. There are good facilities for catering for yourself. The location is a little way out of town - about a 20min walk which was ok but a little far to do both in the daytime and the evening. However, they did drive us to the bus stop in town for when we moved on, which was v helpful.


Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SarahsOffAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi. Thanks for your Review. We appreciate all reviews as we are aware all Guests have different points of view. We are always improving things we see as constructive comments.

Innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed with my wife. She is Chinese They speak Mandarin and Cantonese!!. And the Manager Noel one of the greatest guys one can meet.

If you are looking for a great place to stay this is as good as any. I chose the Colonial Lodge from trip advisor taking into consideration all the bad reports, the good reports as well as some places that put in fake entries and thought I'll give it it a try. And yes it is as good as it suggests on "Trip Advisor". I felt that this is one of the few places where the staff take an interest in the customer.

Everything was just fine. Off road parking is good, rooms are clean, facilities are all well kept. My wife and I liked the place and we see no reason not to book and stay there again...... Thanks Guys you are the best. We enjoyed our stay....See you again some time... Ps. We extended our stay by 2 days (you can do that when you are retired).

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed good. and off road parking was good and free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keram0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Happy Chinese New Year to you and your wife. It was great to hear from you and see your review.

We get some good and some "so so" reviews but generally we are well above the average level. It is impossible to get 100% all the time.

We are encouraged to answer reviews which we tend to do.

Constructive reviews help us to cater for all types of guests. An impossibility in some cases where anonymous reviewers hide behind their anonymous name. You cannot suddenly get a low score when the majority of your Guest have given you an above average score. Something had to wrong with Mr/Mrs anonymous. Generally guests come and speak with us if there is any problem and it is rectified immediately. That is what Customer Service is all about.

We hope you enjoy your trip to Europe and look forward to seeing you again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel had large comfortable rooms with a great kitchenette and a large Jacuzzi tub that we filled in a few minutes. The room was clean and appeared to have been recently updated with bright and attractive colors. The lake view from the front of the motel is incredible and there are seating areas with direct views of the lake. There is plenty of off street parking. Based on other reviews, I was concerned about the traffic noise but it was never a problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Csprings99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper_Taupo, Owner at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi there. Thanks for your review.

It is great to here from people that enjoyed their stay and what we have to offer. Yes we are in the midst of refurbishing Suites and Apartments and bringing back the "Colonial" look to our property.This will take some more time as we do things steadily here.

Our Beach Front BBQ area has been popular for those late afternoon BBQ's that allow Guests to sit and eat and take in the great sunsets over the lake.

Our rooms are quiet even though we are on the Main Road and our parking is quite good having enough spaces for 13 vehicles. We try to encourage Owners of Larger Mini Buses and Off Road Trucks to park in the rear car park and leave the front of units to smaller sedans or wagons.

We hope to see you and your friends again on another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#9 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#14 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Executive Motel
Executive Motel
#18 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#46 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
#36 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#16 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Lodge Motel

Property: Colonial Lodge Motel
Address: 134 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonial Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located opposite the main swimming beach just 1.3 Klms, a short pleasant stroll along the shores of beautiful Lake Taupo, to the main Shopping Centre, Restaurants and Vibrant Night Life. Our spacious Spa Studios, Family Studios, One Bedroom and Family Apartments are tastefully decorated and furnished for your comfort. Our Studios and Apartments are quiet, without any road noises, making them suitable for Corporate or Free Independent Travellers wishing to have a quiet nights rest. They have been built to capture the warm Sun in Winter and to keep cool during the Summer months. The main Swimming beach is opposite our front door and, from our BBQ Area and Picnic Tables, there are wonderful views of the 3 Volcanoes and all the splendour of the lake with yachts sailing, fishing boats and water sports. Come alone, with your partner, bring your family or friends and request an interconnecting room. Stay for a night or for a week. Stay here while on a Business Trip or for Pleasure and Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonial Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing