We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting tired?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Getting tired?”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have stayed there before and were impressed. However this time we thought it was not as clean as in the past, floors, skirtings. Bathroom good, except for hard tired towels. Only two, no hand towel and tissue box almost empty. Curtains still looked good, but bed covering etc looked past their use by date. On the ground floor there is a small courtyard with table and chairs. Lovely except the little garden was full of cigarette ends. It is not a cheap motel so we hope ths review will bring about changes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    56
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
95
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The local I-Site directed us to this motel which was not on the lakefront but was close to the shops and eating places. The young lady in the office gave us an upgrade to their newest unit which had great views looking towards the mountains. The furnishings were lovely, a triple sheeted king bed and a lounge area with a large plasma TV. It was so nice and quiet that we stayed an extra night.

Room Tip: Ask for the Mountain View Loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We recently stayed for a night at the Alpine Lake Motel. We felt that the room rate was over priced for what was offered. Although the self contained unit was tidy & clean, the furnishings and linen were tired and mismatched. The spare room had 3 single beds but no drawers, mirror or wardrobe. There was a large coffee table in the room but this was of no practical use whatsoever. It felt like a new house being renovated but with the old furniture being moved back in. Was disappointing given that the motel describes itself as a 'luxury' accommodation.
My partner noted when checking in, that you agree not to leave "any odourferous cooking smells" in your room. However the room we stayed in had no oven vent above the hob; just a small window next to it of which the small window blind had unfortunately collected grease residue from past guests.
On the plus side the bathroom was spacious. Also the lodge is located a short walking distance to town and to the lake

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jub13A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was a great find for us. It had its very own barbecue which we put to good use. We were able to put the 3 children to sleep in the separate bedroom before we watched two DVDs from their complimentary library. Very modern, very clean and great value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotter_Family_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here for a sporting event for which this place is ideally situated being right in town and close to the starting point. The unit was squeaky clean and quite upmarket in furnishings and I was pleasantly surprised how luxurious it was for the price I had paid compared to other motels that I had stayed at in Taupo previous years.
The managers were very pleasant and helpful in every way and I have already booked to stay here next year.

Room Tip: Downstairs units have outdoor courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new plymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed at Alpine for a night during wet weather in March. The first thing we noticed was the smooth tiles as you walk in, looks very nice BUT very SLIPPERY in wet weather.
New motel, however looks like been built on the cheap side, eg, furnishings look cheap (coffee tables for bedside cabinets) a serious lack of hot points to plug in computers etc, lighting for a modern place very poor, no bedside lamps, just two very bright lights above the bed, makes it hard when 1 wants to read and the other wants to sleep. Invest in bed lamps, guess they may need some more hop points first.
Over all unit looked clean into we went into bathroom, top of spa was dirty, could see where the last guest left the soap, and mould/dirt around the controls fopr the spa. A small brush and bleach would cleaned that up.
Uses coloured towels, nice touch, however there was not a hand towel in sight and our guess is they don't supply these in the units as there was no where to hang one. Nice to have hand towel to dry hands when washed after using toilet, instead of the bath towels. No spare towels either.
Overall stay was ok, would not recommend or stay again as it did not vavle for money. If you are going to build a cheap motel have the room prices to reflect this.
A smile on check in wouldn't go a miss either.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2012

On a recent trip back home to NZ from the craziness of Bangkok where I'm living now I was looking for smallish motels which were quiet and of course well priced. This motel was a wonderful spot- and I had the best night's sleep on my trip. Very clean, nice staff and a great spot close to town and attractions. It was a long time since I had been to Taupo so wanted to make it an enjoyable one.The airconditioning was a blessing !. Had all the facilities you would expect of a motel at a very good price. I had done extensive research on Trip Advisor beforehand and am pleased to say made the right choice. Good value for money at a good standard !

Room Tip: Free Wifi was appreciated- as not always a given in NZ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#17 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#30 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#14 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lake Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Address: 141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#21 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lake Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's newest motel is ideally located just a few minutes walk to restaurants, the town centre and lakefront. Featuring 20 spacious modern units. A variety of room styles and facilities are on offer which include spa baths, kitchens, BBQs and private courtyards. All units have unlimited free ultrafast broadband WiFi access, Sky Digital TV (5 channels) and DVD players. A large, free off street car park is available for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine Lake Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lake Motor Hotel Taupo
Alpine Lake Hotel
Alpine Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing