We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Booked for 2 days but ended up extending this another 2 days because of our spacious unit which had all modern amenities, was cosy warm and cleaned every day. Had free Wifi and only a short walk to good restaurants plus very reasonably priced. Thanks to Ron and Sue for our great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    56
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
94
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was the nicest place in New Zealand because the lady and man were so wecloming and helped us organise our holiday. It had a lovely spa bath and was close to town. Also it was less expensive than most of the others so we can recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

This motel is clean and tidy but I don't believe that it offers value for money. After paying $214 for one nights accommodation I wasn't greeted with a smile or hello upon check in and the owner seemed pained to even be serving me.

The second and most concerning factor is the water in the showers. This morning I was subjected to scolding hot then instant freezing cold water. I truly believe that had my children been in the shower at the time we would have spent the day at A&E. When advising the owners at check out, I was fobbed off my the male and the female wasn't fussed and said she would look into it. After reading other reviews on trip advisor I realise she wasn't fussed as this is a known fault.

Having worked in the motel business myself I know this is not how you treat customers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaseandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We were walkin guests, tired and cold so didnt spend the time looking around for perhaps better value for the $ and on checking around the next day, realized we would have got more for our $ if we had.
Unit was warm and comfortable and had everything we needed for our nights stay. Bathroom looks as though it needed some quality control after the cleaners had been in with finger marks on doors, hair in spa bath and grubby bin lid.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saracgisborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Did a lot of research before we chose this motel for our Taupo stay. Having a young baby we needed a unit with a separate bedroom so that we could put our 9 month old to sleep during the day in a portcot, At night she slept in the lounge and we had access due to the two way bathroom to the spa bath without disturbing her. The unit was so clean we had no fears about baby crawling on the floor and in fact I would go so far as to say it was the cleanest motel I have ever stayed in. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you have a baby the King Spa Ensuite is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stay here at this motel for work on a very regular basis. Location is good, and the rooms are top notch! Ideal for the corporate traveller. Under floor heating in winter is a bonus. Just wish the air on units worked better

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Just wanted to say thank you very much for the great service we received at our late notice stay - really appreciated your excellent and helpful manner, willingness to work around our timing, and excellent facilities. We have stayed with you several times and will again. We really appreciate good service, so thank you :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.3 mi away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#30 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#21 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lake Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Address: 141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#21 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lake Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's newest motel is ideally located just a few minutes walk to restaurants, the town centre and lakefront. Featuring 20 spacious modern units. A variety of room styles and facilities are on offer which include spa baths, kitchens, BBQs and private courtyards. All units have unlimited free ultrafast broadband WiFi access, Sky Digital TV (5 channels) and DVD players. A large, free off street car park is available for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpine Lake Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lake Motor Hotel Taupo
Alpine Lake Hotel
Alpine Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing