We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay in attractive accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay in attractive accommodation.”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We were very happy with all aspects of our short stay in the Alpine Lake. Lovely, spacious suite, very stylish decor and a spa bath with a viewing window so you can watch TV from the bath! Brilliant! The whole Lodge is kelp meticulously clean and well-maintained, the staff are nice & welcoming, breakfast can be delivered to your room which is a nice touch. The walk into the town centre is do-able and all on the flat so not too taxing even in the heat! Would recommend this accommodation highly.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have views of the lake. If you want outdoor space, ask for ground floor as upper f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandHazel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    56
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
96
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

When my wife & I arrived into Taupo, we looked for accommodation based solely on Tripadvisor and Wotif. This motel is a very nice place to stay, with friendly hosts and a good location which allows a pleasant stroll to the main town centre. We stayed downstairs, in a room with a king bed, flat-screen TV with digital channels, spa bath, shower and kitchen facilities. The courtyard outside is private (except to the upstairs guests) and is a nice place to enjoy the sunshine. Unfortunately there are no views from the rooms, but that's good motivation to get out and explore Taupo up-close.
All in all, this room was great value for money, and was just modern enough to still make you feel like you're paying for a more expensive room. There's free wireless broadband, and the air conditioning unit was great at keeping the room pleasently cool in summer. The spa bath was great, and better than a lot of other baths you'll find in competing hotels. We would happily stay here again if we were in the area.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kerrydp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My husband & I have just returned from Taupo and stayed once again at Alpine Lake Motor Lodge. This place was just as excellent as the first time we stayed. The window spa studio is an awesome choice, it has plenty of room, the bed is so comfy, the kitchenette has everything you need,the studio was spotlessly clean, and the spa bath was fabulous. The hosts were very helpful and friendly as usual and we would not hesitate to recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Had another stay at this motel for work early in the new year. As it has been in the past, very nice rooms, with good facilities. Got room 5 which is the disabled room. Huge shower with epic water pressure.
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed in the Alpine Lake Motor Lodge as our accommodation in Napier was so worse that we have run away.
As written in the other reviews the room was in all perfect. We stayed in a suite with a separate bedroom and a jacuzzi in the bathroom. On top there was even a reasonable size garden.
Taupo centre is on a short walk distance and here you find all the shops and restaurants.
The lake is even nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Over-en-Naar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Me and 4 friends stayed in the Alpine Lake Motor Lodge on 21/12/2012 for two nights and it was great. The staff couldn't do enough to help you and the rooms were clean, modern and to a really high standard. I would recommend this place to anyone and I would recommend visiting Taupo if your in NZ it has loads to offer!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamBjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We were very happy with our choice of motel in Taupo this time. Previously we have stayed at lakefront motels, paid a lot more and not been able to walk to shops and restaurants. Our unit was beautifully furnished with dark wood tables and leather chairs and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was probably the best of any motel we have ever stayed in, nearly as good as our one at home. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. Really liked being able to sit outdoors in our own private courtyard. Highly recommended and will use again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#24 of 69 in Taupo
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#14 of 69 in Taupo
189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cascades Motor Inn
Cascades Motor Inn
#13 of 69 in Taupo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lake Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Address: 141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#21 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lake Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's newest motel is ideally located just a few minutes walk to restaurants, the town centre and lakefront. Featuring 20 spacious modern units. A variety of room styles and facilities are on offer which include spa baths, kitchens, BBQs and private courtyards. All units have unlimited free ultrafast broadband WiFi access, Sky Digital TV (5 channels) and DVD players. A large, free off street car park is available for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpine Lake Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lake Motor Hotel Taupo
Alpine Lake Hotel
Alpine Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing