We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent new motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland
1 review
“Excellent new motel”
Reviewed 6 November 2008

As a frequent business traveller to Taupo I have recently discovered this motel which I consider the best in town. Service is great, units are exceptionally well equipped, clean and spacious. All units are away from road noise, parking is oustide the door of unit and I can walk to any of the many good local restaurants. Their cafe breakfast is great and of course the free internet is an essential now days. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Every thing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank john1841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    56
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
96
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ladyt41
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Just finished a lovely week in New Zealand and would like to commend Sue and Ron for making our stay in Taupo the highlight of our trip. Not only was their friendly advice re things to do so appreciated but their motel was head and shoulders above the others we experienced. The motel is very new, sparkling clean and furnished beautifully. We liked the larger than usual unit which had its own private courtyard and even its own barbecue. Every thing was provided, spa bath, kitchen and even complimentary DVD's as well as free broadband in the unit. As we did not have our own laptop we used the free email cafe instead and this was much appreciated. Location was great and it was away from road noise. Great fresh bean coffee too!

  • Liked — The large and beuatiful unit
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyt41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We had two fantastic nights at the Alpine. We have 4 young children and there was plenty of space. We had TV trouble when we checked in and the owners went out of their way to fix this small problem for us. The spa bath was excellent when the weather was wet it gave the kids something to do. Thankyou for a fantastic stay.

  • Liked — The service and lovely clean well appointed rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4greatkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2008

True to the reviews thus far, it's a nice, new, clean property, with friendly proprietors. The studio we stayed in was rather spare in it's decor--or one might call it simple and modern. The bathroom is the best bit--though I thought the open-able "window" feature (I guess it's there in order for the guest to watch the tube while bathing) was a little weird. Free internet, comfy bed, and a good location. My husband loved it. I thought it was very good, especially considering the price. Strangely, our room wasn't cleaned when we returned one evening (we were there four nights). I'm sure this was an anomaly, as the proprietor seemed rather mortified. She gave us a free magazine and didn't charge us for our calls (there were only a couple of local calls). Bonus: we felt an earthquake there one night.

  • Liked — Newness.
  • Disliked — Room not cleaned one day.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hellokitty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2007

A warm welcome to a dreary day is how we were met upon arrival. The Motel had everthing we needed and was close to town centre. All ammenities were in working order and even supplied a dvd player with complimentary dvd's to watch. Highly recommended with a welcoming atmosphere.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2007

It was a cold day when we arrived but we stepped into a lovely warm unit, thanks to the under floor heating. The one bedroom unit was very spacious, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. It opened onto a very private garden courtyard effectively an extra outdoor room complete with its own barbecue! The bathroom was quite large and all luxury with spa bath, shower, heated towel rail and even heated mirror. There was a full kitchen but because the motel is in town we just walked down to the Waterside restaurant for a lovely meal then walked home via the lakefront. We then watched a complimentary DVD before enjoying the most comfortable bed I have slept in. I was able to plug my laptop straight into the computer port and use their free broadband which was really appreciated. Being able to park right outside our unit was very convenient and we were away from any road noise. Apparently this motel is one of only a few in Taupo where the operators own both the freehold and the lease and this extra commitment was reflected in the attention to detail and the first class service. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The newness and the luxury inclusions
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Renie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

We stayed here Easter Weekend 2007. It was a last minute booking to help break up our journey from Wanganui to Auckland. There were no reviews to go by so we took a chance.
What a surprise when we arrived. The motel is brand new and the room had everything we need, including a spa bath!
The room was immaculate with Sky TV in both the lounge and bedroom.
It is located only a couple of blocks from the lake and would only take 5 minutes to walk there.
We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KiwiHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#24 of 69 in Taupo
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#14 of 69 in Taupo
189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cascades Motor Inn
Cascades Motor Inn
#13 of 69 in Taupo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lake Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Address: 141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#21 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lake Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's newest motel is ideally located just a few minutes walk to restaurants, the town centre and lakefront. Featuring 20 spacious modern units. A variety of room styles and facilities are on offer which include spa baths, kitchens, BBQs and private courtyards. All units have unlimited free ultrafast broadband WiFi access, Sky Digital TV (5 channels) and DVD players. A large, free off street car park is available for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Alpine Lake Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lake Motor Hotel Taupo
Alpine Lake Hotel
Alpine Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing