We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for your money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best value for your money!”
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We booked the Alpine for 2 nights. As we had stayed in Taupo previously at a B&B, we were looking to try a motel and the Alpine does everything but disappoint. Located a couple of blocks from the beach means its away from noise and traffic. The rooms are large, spacious & complete with WiFi, Full Kitchen, AC, private patio & BBQ (on ground floor units). The bathrooms boast a corner soaker as well as separate shower, towel warming rack and even a mirror heater. This property is only 2 years old and very well maintained. Rooms were always nicely prepared, staff are very friendly & any requests were followed up. Our best stay anywhere in NZ yet!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubba G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    56
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
95
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Easy to find motel in central Taupo. Great big rooms with an individual patio and bbq. Big bathroom with bubble bath and shower. Nice beds. Very modern and clean. Impeccable service, we arrived late and found the key where we had agreed. Could even help with colour printouts etc.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatianatemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemany
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Stayed here while I did the Tongariro Crossing. Very nice unit with lovely spa bath and free internet. Bus for the crossing picked me up outside lodge early in morning. Good to have a guest laundry and guest internet. Really good value. Sue and Ron were very knowledgeable and helpful. Hope to return one day in the ski season.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedwig09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

My wife and I have just had 3 nights at the Alpine Lake motel. It is located close to the town centre and walking distance to most activities. The motel is modern and the only thing lacking is a swimming pool, otherwise it is just perfect. The reception, advice and support given by our host Sue was wonderful and I would stay at the Alpine Lake if we visited Taupo again. There is plenty of off street parking with the motel offering charge back from some local restaurants. Free internet is also available via a LAN cable which is thoughtfully supplied. The rooms are spacious and quiet and we had a lovely relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom unit for $159. Fitout appears quite cheap at first, but the rooms are large and have pretty much everything you would expect. Spa bath and large shower (although temperature of water fluctuated during shower). Small; non-widescreen TVs in both lounge and bedroom.

Warning - external aircon units are very noisy and deep 50hz rumble / hum made it hard to go to sleep even when we turned off our unit.

Free wired "broadband" but the speed was variable and some sites didn't work due to slowness.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2009

This motel was refreshingly modern and spacious with excellent service. Was perfect for my business stay in Taupo. Had unlimited broadband in unit and despite the cold outside the unit was lovely and warm thanks to the undefloor heating. The breakfast panini was delicious! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydoctor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
color
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Alpine Lake Motor Lodge is a lovely motel - newly decorated rooms, very clean and quiet. The bathroom was very spaceous and nicely appointed. It's a short walk to restaurants and shops. The owners are extremely helpful - with suggestions for sightseeing, shops, etc. The guest laundry was very convenient and the internet access was easy to use and fast!

The focus on customer service was excellent. We left a wallet in the room when we checked out, and in fact didn't realize that was where it was lost. The owners, who had no way to reach us while we were on vacation, sent the wallet back to us in the States. We were delighted to receive it !

Alpine Lakes is New Zealand hospitality at its best!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#17 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#29 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#14 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lake Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lake Motor Lodge

Property: Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Address: 141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#21 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lake Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's newest motel is ideally located just a few minutes walk to restaurants, the town centre and lakefront. Featuring 20 spacious modern units. A variety of room styles and facilities are on offer which include spa baths, kitchens, BBQs and private courtyards. All units have unlimited free ultrafast broadband WiFi access, Sky Digital TV (5 channels) and DVD players. A large, free off street car park is available for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine Lake Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lake Motor Hotel Taupo
Alpine Lake Hotel
Alpine Lake Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing