We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
276
148
33
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
148
33
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmezzanine floorspa bathqueen bed downstairslake taupodirect access to the lakegreat accessheated swimming poolenjoyed our staythe kitchencooking facilitiesfree wifistayed for nightssmall kitchenettewould definitely stay here againshort drivelake viewgreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We recently travelled to Taupo for six nights with three additional families who all had children between 2 and 12. We were 18 in total, 9 children and 9 adults. Charlene and Alister, the proprietors of Cascades Motor Lodge, could not have been more accommodating. They were helpful, informative, interested and exceptionally friendly. They were always in a good mood, nothing was too much of a problem despite us asking for all sorts of things eg extra plates, platters, cutlery so that we could all eat together in the evening. The location is great for children as it leads straight down to the lake where they can bike, walk or play. We had a boat and easy access to the water so could water ski, take out the biscuit or just cruise around the lake with the littler ones. We walked into town a number of times around the lake with the childen in tow which took about 60 mins by the time we stopped to look at various things, try out the water and the blackberries growing on the bushes. At the Motor Lodge there is a spa pool and heated swimming pool. The children had endless fun here and everyone was very tolerant of them. Charlene and Alister also pointed out what was to be a highlight of our walk to Huka Falls from Country Lane, off Spa Rd near Info Centre, namely the thermal streams and waterfall at the very outset of the walk, down from the carpark and under the bridge. Adults and children alike loved this. Many thanks for our stay Charlene and Alister and we are planning our next Easter break to you guys in 2012.

Room Tip: For young kids the mezzanine floor might be tricky
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuriwaiLot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed here for two nights in April and had a lovely stay. The hosts were very inviting and helped us with our cases to our rooms and provided a free carton of milk so we could settle straight in with a cup of tea.
We had a room on the top floor which was nice and cosy. The kitchen had a two ring hob, microwave and fridge, but no oven. We cooked in on both nights and found the pots and pans sufficient.
You really need a car if you are staying here, as the town is a 5 minute drive away (so probably at least a 20 min walk, although we never walked it).
The weather was really bad when we stayed here, and there was a power cut for a few hours on one of the afternoons (which didn't affect us as we were out), but then there was another power cut for a couple of hours in the evening. The whole town was out of power, but luckily the hosts provided us with candles.
A good place to stay if you're not too worried about being in the centre of town. It was perfect for us as we had a car and were out and about in the local area anyway.
A big plus for us was the free use of the internet in the lobby, and also free wi fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireS4396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Quite comfortable and well appointed. Lakeside location is good but is a few km south of main town and shops.
Helpful hosts. Good laundry.
Brochure view is not applicable to near all units which is disappointing.

Room Tip: Wet stairs to upper level can be quite slippery.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveS3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

The hotel owners (Alister & Charlene) are the loveliest people. They gave us a warm welcome when we arrived and showed us to our room. They explained about the local area & what there is to do (Hot, mineral pools/Jet Boat to Huka Falls/exploring the town). They gave us a town map & outlined their facilities.

You can hire bikes from here & tour round the lake; there is a heated pool & a hot tub which are clean&relaxing; they have a trampoline & free WiFi (password available from reception).

The amenities in the room are great - kettle with tea & coffee. We were given free milk on arrival so we could use this straight away. There is a hairdryer/flatscreen TV/iron/ironing board & plenty of space - including a little balcony where you can sit outside in the evening & relax.

The kitchen comprises microwave/two-ring, electric hob/fridge/sink etc. There is sufficient cutlery, crockery, utensils & washing up equipment. They have a cafetiere, toast rack and egg cups!! There are pool towels available so you don't have to use your room towels.

Cannot fault this place. The only improvements they could make would be to introduce safes into the rooms, rather than only at reception & perhaps more secure locks on the doors - although we did not feel unsafe or that our belongings were unsecure.

Overall, I would recommend this motel & would like to thank the owners for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LDN_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Very much enjoyed our stay here despite the circumstances. Hosts were lovely and extremely helpful when we had to find a medical centre for our baby and when our toddler fell out of car seat onto the concrete. Use of highchair and stair gate made a big difference to the ease of stay. Rooms clean and quiet, beds very comfortable. Location great, close to the lake, and swimming pool clean and warm.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJC_3072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews