We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lakeside and garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had one night stay in 1 bedroom unit. Everything was fine, clean and tidy. Heating is functioning well in the rooms and toilet. Every unit has its own garden, and the garden is very beautiful, and always can find ducks wondering in the garden! Not close to city centre, driving about 3 mins to shops and restaurants. Overall, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pooh_tyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the Comfort Inn Cascades for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. From the moment we arrived, the staff were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed, including a suite with a beautiful view of the lake.
This hotel is very close to lots of bars and restaurants so you have plenty of choices. We had dinner in our room one evening, as our suite had a great kitchen with all the amenities you need to make a meal. The rooms are very spacious, and the bathroom had a shower as well as a nice tub. Everything was spotless.
We also enjoyed the pool and the hot tub whilst watching a beautiful sunset one evening.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilFlatFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We travelled from the Taranaki to stay in Taupo for the weekend and what an enjoyable stay it turned out to be. The suite we stayed in was warm, clean and very spacious. The hosts Alister and Charlene offered advice on things to do and suggested 2 really awesome places to visit - summed up our arty fossiking hobby! We were handy to central town and very quiet room, very handy to lovely restaurant next door which we enjoyed for the ambience and little stroll down to sit by the fire. Couldn't rate this place high enough and will definitely be back to do further exploring.

Room Tip: Book ahead as they booked out early in the afternoon as saw couple of people turned away as full. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My mother and father stayed at the Cascades in 2000 when they visited New Zealand. Sadly we lost Dad in 2003, but I wanted to take Mum back to visit her brother who lives in NZ. She and Dad had loved the place it was one of the stand out places they had stayed at.

Our hosts Charlene and Alister were incredibly welcoming and accommodating. They gave us as much information as we needed to explore the area and also how to keep my 8 year old son amused. The even hooked us up with another family who were staying at the same time so the children could play together.

The hotel itself was in a quiet location about a mile and a half from the town itself. The rooms were spacious and the layout worked well for our family group. We could even accommodate all our luggage. The only let down was the decor was a bit tired, but it was immaculately clean.

At the time we commented that with a fresh coat of paint and updating curtains, carpets and bedding covers it would be perfection. However I note on the website that it was refurbished in June 2011 and is now a Comfort Inn but still with the same lovely host. So I am sure it really is a wonderful place to stay at when visiting Lake Taupo now.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank xangrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed in a deluxe room for 4 people with lake view on the front yard and private access to the lake. Can't find anything to complain. Great service, nice breakfast (thank to Trip Advisor we had such a decent continental breakfast for 4 of us on both dates), excellent lake view, nice facilities, good location, good size swimming pool....one of the best motel we stayed in NZ with such a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IreneZuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Owners very welcoming, room facilities excellent. Very little noise from road - slept undisturbed. Premises about 5 kms from main shopping area - excellent choice of restaurants in town & surronding motels and hotels. Stayed two nights 10th and 11th August.
Con....no onsite restaurant - breakfast served as room service if chosen.
Worth another stay on my next visit to NZ North Island.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAC6017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Great service, very friendly staff! Room was excellent - beautiful view, clean and felt very welcoming. Location was good - right on the lakefront and close to town. Had a very enjoyable weekend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caro282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades Lakefront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades Lakefront Motel

Address: 303 Lake Terrace | Two Mile Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Cascades Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#9 Business Hotel in Taupo
#10 Family Hotel in Taupo
#23 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £69 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades Lakefront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Cascades is proud to belong to the Choice Hotel Group. We accept Flybuys, Choice Privileges, Air New Zealand Airpoints, Qantas Frequent Flyer, Velocity. Stunning quiet location on the shores of Lake Taupo. Direct access to walk/cycle way (no roads to cross). Lakeside apartment for views and total rest and relaxation, studio units with some lake views, family rooms sleep up to 6 people and some have two bathrooms and 2 LCD TV's and/or a ensuite 2nd toilet. Heated outdoor pool, spa pool, Springfree trampoline, children's playhut, SKY TV, free wireless internet, cooked or continental breakfast available. Clean, warm, affordable and friendly accommodation. Small pets by arrangement. Lots of free parking for boats, trailers etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cascades Lakefront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cascades Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing