We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, great location, convenient”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had only 2 nights here at Lake Taupo, after a 5 hr drive from Wellington, we arrived at Comfort Inn Cascades around 5pm, it was so easy to find as it was located at the main thoroughfare. Paul, the owner, was so friendly and made us feel so welcomed and immediately gave us the key to our room. It was great, clean and roomy, the Lake was just at our doorstep and what a fantastic view it was. As we had a rented car, it was a nice 5 minutes drive to the town where there were lots of nice eateries. Pauls reccomendation of Dixie Brown was spot on. This experience alone made our short stay in NZ a complete success. I would definitely reccomend this motel to anyone looking for a great holiday accomodation at Lake Taupo. Thank you Paul and Comfort Inn for a great holiday.

Room Tip: You'll have the best view ay room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DustyF0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    124
    29
    5
    1
See reviews for
141
144
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for the week leading up the Ironman I was participating in hoping for a nice, relaxing, quiet place by the lake. When we arrived, the new owner, Paul was very nice and welcoming. Our room was quite spacious and had an upstairs level as well which was perfect for me to store all my race gear. We had a patio with direct access to the beach that we also enjoyed. It's a great alternative to a traditional hotel room. There were a few detracting things that made it less than a perfect stay. Minor issues included that the tv was placed on a table lower than the bed so you couldn't really watch it comfortably and the parking situation is less than ideal with a large tree stump roped off in the middle of an already tight parking lot. The larger more pressing problem was the construction going on next door which ended up being about 30 ft from our room. Not just minor construction, as they were adding a whole new room. From 7:30 am till 5 pm for the entire week, it was hammering hammering hammering, sawing, nail guns, loud music from construction workers. Non stop. We found it entirely impossible to relax or unwind in our room during the day. Unfortunately it was the thing that stuck out the most. Hopefully there will be no construction should you decide to stay there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lowcawki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Picked this place cause it was lake front and not across the road from the lake - thinking it would be quiet and I was right! Our unit was upstairs/downstairs - a family unit - which was perfect - nice and roomy. We had a spa bath and separate shower and a toilet upstairs. Its a short stroll to the lake front and the other way a short stroll to the pool area. Its a little tired but very comfortable bed and had all the basics we needed for our one night stay. The managers couldn't do enough to make sure we had everything we needed and very friendly - a 3 min drive to the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for room by the pool if you have kids as you can sit on the chairs outside your room and watch t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a studio room which we were pleasantly surprised at how big the room was. It had everything we needed, comfortable bed, kitchenette, and a spa bath! We would definitely stay here again. One of the only hotels with room to park a trailer which we required.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at Comfort Inn for 2 nights in November 2013. Very clean facilities, although the hot water ran out fast. Staff are lovely and they even sent me back my clothes i left behind in the room. Moderately priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simoe N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for 1 night in Taupo and I adored this hotel. Stayed in Room 12, which has a 2 storeys, downstairs double bed and bathroom and upstairs queen and single beds and another bathroom with spa bath. There's a dining area, kitchenette with microwave fridge and everything you need. 2 TVs, and best of all french doors that open out onto a gorgeous little sunny courtyard (shared with Rooms 11 and 13) and steps away from the heated swimming pool and spa pool.
The hotel has access to Lake Taupo as well, where we sat and watched a glorious sunset.
The staff/owners were really friendly and I can't recommend this hotel enough - we loved it and would always try and stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want to swim or have children and pool access is important, ask for Room 12 - plenty of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vixnzld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here with our teenaged son and his friend, and it was an ideal set-up for us. The boys had twin beds in the main room, and a bathroom to themselves. We were upstairs (mezzanine-style) with our own tv and bathroom. The fridge was small, and there's no oven (2 hobs and a microwave) but we had a BBQ in our private patio area, and it was a simple matter of getting the gas tank from the office and the BBQ implements from the laundry.

The teens enjoyed the swimming pool and the spa pool, and if it had been less windy, we could've walked a few steps from the back of the apartments and had a dip in the lake! It's a short drive to 'downtown' Taupo, or a 30-40 minute walk along the lakeside, depending how often you stop to take photos or watch the swans.

Another reviewer described the receptionist as surly; the owner ran reception whenever we popped into the office, and he was helpful and friendly. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose a garden room, and enjoyed having the private patio with BBQ, table, chairs and sun umbrell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.0 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades Lakefront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades Lakefront Motel

Property: Cascades Lakefront Motel
Address: 303 Lake Terrace | Two Mile Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Cascades Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#9 Business Hotel in Taupo
#10 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#24 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades Lakefront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Cascades is proud to belong to the Choice Hotel Group. We accept Flybuys, Choice Privileges, Air New Zealand Airpoints, Qantas Frequent Flyer, Velocity. Stunning quiet location on the shores of Lake Taupo. Direct access to walk/cycle way (no roads to cross). Lakeside apartment for views and total rest and relaxation, studio units with some lake views, family rooms sleep up to 6 people and some have two bathrooms and 2 LCD TV's and/or a ensuite 2nd toilet. Heated outdoor pool, spa pool, Springfree trampoline, children's playhut, SKY TV, free wireless internet, cooked or continental breakfast available. Clean, warm, affordable and friendly accommodation. Small pets by arrangement. Lots of free parking for boats, trailers etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cascades Lakefront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cascades Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing