We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location & Value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here over the Easter weekend & must say it was one of the best places I had stayed in..Lovely view, friendly staff & very clean
Loved waking up to the beautiful Lake view. 2 minute drive from the city centre..
Will definitely go back & recommend to anyone visiting Taupo!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Cascades Lakefront Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We arrived in Taupo after a days driving with no accommodation booked, not knowing the next day the Ironman was been held there of course everywhere was booked out. I stopped at the Comfort Inn to see if he could give us an idea where we might get somewhere to stay. The owner tried ringing round a bunch of places but couldn't get anything, after spending a long time on the phone he spoke to his wife and ended up letting us stay in a room used by family and friends when they come to stay.Even phoned and booked a restaurant close by for us to get a meal. It had looked like we may end up sleeping in the car so I must say we were very grateful for all the trouble he went to for us that night. We had a lovely room at a very good rate and and a great nights sleep. Can't thank them enough and would recommend the motel to anyone. A little out of town but a lovely walk around the lake if you want to go in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 20Feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We arrived on our motor bikes dripping wet..and pretty codl,. to be greeted by the manager, with a smile and a question; would you like to book the spa? A man on top of things, way to go. After signing in and welcomed by the cat we (four ) of us found our accommodation. Plenty of space, and good heaters. So we hung up our wets, cracked a bottle of wine and started what was a two day very relaxing stay. Unfortunately there is no where in the spa room to hang clothes, so had to nip along wrapped in towels. A very good family style Motor lodge. The property verges on Lake Taupo with a nice walkway going either way for miles. Just a little too far out of town to walk of an evening

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be facing the same way
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaiHouOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night during a trip around New Zealand.

The owners gave us a very friendly welcome. The room was very big with a double height ceiling which was initially a bit cold but heated up quickly.

The hotel isn't in the middle of the town but being on the lakeside of the road it was nice to be able to access to the lakeside so easily.

We walked into town for dinner and back again afterwards, 30 mins or so each way, which was nice to walk off dinner.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephencrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked for a queen bed room with kitchenette & whirlpool bath at a very competitive rate for 1 night.
The room was fufurnished & equipped to a high standard and there was lots of space. Wifi worked very well and we enjoyed Sky tv as an included part of the deal.

The Welcome was exceptional and we had friendly & genuinely helpful support for all of our short stay. We tried the spa pool which was clean, private and convenient for our room.

A great feature was the cooked breakfast delivered to our room, very freshly prepared, delicious and most welcome. It was a good to discover that a gluten free option was available as this makes our family holidays much less hassle and more enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BarbaraMNottinghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed here for three nights largely because of the positive reviews on here. Though it isn't anything too fancy, it is a solid property with very friendly and accommodating owners. The kitchenette is quite useful and the small in room spa is actually quite nice. Everything was clean.

The only downside is that it is a bit outside of town, but it is well worth it given everything else (especially the friendliness of the owners).

Looking forward to staying here again someday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here with a friend 14th-16th April.
Patrons were very helpful, and the accommodation was really clean and comfortable.
Great value for money, we will certainly stay here again next time we are visiting Taupo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N3908HSDavid_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.2 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades Lakefront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades Lakefront Motel

Address: 303 Lake Terrace | Two Mile Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Cascades Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#9 Business Hotel in Taupo
#10 Family Hotel in Taupo
#24 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £71 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades Lakefront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Cascades is proud to belong to the Choice Hotel Group. We accept Flybuys, Choice Privileges, Air New Zealand Airpoints, Qantas Frequent Flyer, Velocity. Stunning quiet location on the shores of Lake Taupo. Direct access to walk/cycle way (no roads to cross). Lakeside apartment for views and total rest and relaxation, studio units with some lake views, family rooms sleep up to 6 people and some have two bathrooms and 2 LCD TV's and/or a ensuite 2nd toilet. Heated outdoor pool, spa pool, Springfree trampoline, children's playhut, SKY TV, free wireless internet, cooked or continental breakfast available. Clean, warm, affordable and friendly accommodation. Small pets by arrangement. Lots of free parking for boats, trailers etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cascades Lakefront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cascades Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing