We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what a hostel should be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taupo Urban Retreat
Ranked #17 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exactly what a hostel should be!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed in Taupo Urban Retreat several times during my stay in NZ and loved it every time. Both the bedrooms and all the communal areas are all really clean and have everything that you could need, including a well stocked kitchen. The on site bar is cheap and a great place to socialise with other backpackers and the really helpful and friendly staff. There is always people around, which can be an advantage or disadvantage depending on what you are looking for but I enjoyed this.
If you are a looking for a cheap, clean, friendly hostel in the beautiful town of Taupo then this is the place for you!! Highly recommended and would stay again if I was in Taupo!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review. Our housekeeping team work really hard to maintain high standards and it is so nice to see them appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again if you ever make it back to the beautiful town of Taupo. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    68
    37
    17
    12
See reviews for
2
56
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This is really the place to stay if you're going to Taupo. There's a bar on site with cheap beer and mealdeals. Staff is nice and helpfull. Room are clean and comfotable. There's a great atmosphere and very easy to get to know new people. The longtermstayers are easy going and fun. The common areas are nice and spacious - suitable for relaxing in the sun, socialising and eating.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Torunn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Staff love getting positive feedback, it is nice to know we are doing it right! We hope to welcome you back to NZ, and Taupo one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Literally bunk beds in a room and that's it. No storage/fridge etc and not much room. However, nice pool/kitchen area and outdoor decking. Cheap bar with nice drinks and friendly and helpful staff. Some free internet daily too.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angharad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review. Each bed has a large under-bed storage locker (large enough for a backpack), and we have an additional safe at reception if required. We love being able to give away free 'urban internet' to guests and are glad you made use of it :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I spent Christmas at Urban Retreat and had such a great time! The hostel is so nice with a really homey atmosphere, little bar, and outside courtyard. They put on a big Christmas buffet lunch for $25 with tons of food, dessert, drinks, and games, and my friends and I all had a really nice holiday.

This may sound strange, but I really recommend the 16 bed dorms. They're the largest and cheapest ones, but they have so much space. You're all in an entire loft so the beds are spread out and there are windows all along the walls. It looked way nicer than the smaller dorms downstairs. Plus it was actually quieter when you're ready for bed!

Overall this hostel is great if you're looking for friendly staff, character, comfort, location, and a fun time. I don't see any reason to stay anywhere else! One of my favorite Nomads I've been to.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on the stay bus trip. I found the hostel brilliant- great meal deals- $9 (I think) for a filling meal (delicious chilli con carne!) and a drink. The kitchen was really well equipped and clean.

Bathrooms were new and really clean- the showers were awesome!

Staff friendly and welcoming too!

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm- beds were bunks but really comfy and the room had lots of plug power points! Super handy when in a group of girls all with phones and hair straightners!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We missed our connection in Taihape to Taupo and I managed to get ahold of CJ (owner) and asked if he could get our bags off the bus when it's in Taupo,

He obliged and got our bags off, some of our stuff were stolen but thankfully not "the passport" phew!

Other than that, clean facilities, great common area and we just felt happy and secure all the time! Even got a ride to the spa in the evening! Thank you very much CJ! We can never be more thankful! Keep smiling and will definitely give a shout to your daughters in Wellington :)




Tricia x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katianya, Manager at Taupo Urban Retreat, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hey girls, CJ loved his cameo on reception the weekend you stayed and is so glad that he could help you out! We hope you enjoyed Wellington and the rest of your travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very nice hostel, clean, great location and friendly staff. The only reason it doesn't get an excellent review from me was because there is a bar in the main building I found it very noisy. On the second night (Saturday) I was unable to get to sleep until 1am thanks to all the drunk tourists running about :P. I am in no way saying not to stay at this hostel but warning people that it may get rowdy and if like me you are no longer a keen drinker it might not be suitable for a solid nights rest.

Room Tip: Twin room was lovely but very close to bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usc_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,019 reviews
1.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 34 in Taupo
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo Urban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo Urban Retreat

Property: Taupo Urban Retreat
Address: 65 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Taupo Urban Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taupo Urban Retreat, your home away from home! Free internet, comfy beds and hot, high-pressure showers are a given here. With arguably the best location in Taupo we are just a couple of streets away from the busiest bars and restaurants, yet far enough away to get a good night's sleep. We are also only a few minutes walk from the bus stop and supermarkets, and there is plenty of free off-street parking available. At Urban we have a really sociable and chilled atmosphere, making it super easy to meet people. Enjoy our delicious chilli every night for only $5, or for $8 get a cold beer or wine to wash it down too. You can cook up a storm in our well-equipped kitchen, free oil and spices included. Help yourself to our free tea and coffee too! Mingle in our in-house guest bar with new friends, soak up some rays in our sunny garden courtyard, or snuggle up with a good book in your quiet dorm room if you're all talked out. Keen for movie night? Hunker down in our cosy TV lounge and choose from our vast array of movie titles, we even have free popcorn! We'd love to help you make the most out of your stay in our beautiful region. Our friendly staff can help you book your activities including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Skydiving, Bungy jumping, Jet boats or Rafting trips to name a few. We've been operating in Taupo for over ten years so we know all of the local hidden gems and the best travel tips. Whether you're looking to spend or save we can help you fill your day! We even have bikes for hire at reception so your adventure begins at our front door. We can also help you book onwards travel, although you may find you never want to leave Taupo! With a friendly welcoming vibe, cheap drinks and helpful staff Taupo Urban Retreat is your home away from home in Taupo. We look forward to having you stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taupo Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing