We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super staff,a fun place to stay and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taupo Urban Retreat
Ranked #20 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Reviewed 21 April 2014

super staff,a fun place to stay and great location make this a good stop after the drive down from aukland, spent 2 nights here and had a really good time even though the weather wasnt up to much. The double room was clean and comfortable and the managers were great hosts. $5 dollar chilli was good too. Its a back packers but dont be put off by this as the doubles are great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromlondononwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

To be honest, I myself not really like this hostel. It was too happening, was very hard to find a place to sit down and relax. However, the staff was very friendly and nice. And the location is quite nice.

The toilets and shower rooms available were too few as well, only 1 shower room and 2 toilets for female and another set for male.

The kitchen is not really clean and hygiene. Maybe due to the high density backpackers.

If you are looking forward to have an open social life, this hostel is pretty good for you.
If you are looking forward to have a relax and privacy trip, i don't think this hostel is a good option for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicode123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I was expecting a lot more from this hostel considering the good reviews on here but it was a bit of an anti climax.

On the plus side - the staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The $5 chilli is reasonable for the money. The communal area is also a good place to meet fellow travellers.

The major disappointment at the hostel was the dorms. Room 1 is way too small and should be a 4 bed dorm rather than a 6 bed. The lack of plug sockets also makes it difficult to charge your phone if you're on the top bunk.

Overall, the poor standard of dorms lets what could be very good hostel down.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Urban retreat was an average place to stay. They offer free internet on the computers opposite reception, however, it is extremely slow and also you have to wait for ages because they are always being used.
The kitchen is quite small, but has all the basic equipment you may need.
There are not many showers, so you may have to wait.
There is not much space in the bedrooms for everyone's bags.
The location is pretty good though. Not sure i would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank worldtraveller479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I always choose to stay at Urban Retreat when I go to Taupo as I know I'm going to get excellent friendly service with a great social atmosphere. The Facilities are perfect for a back packers, the rooms are always clean and it's in a great location. It's just the right size to keep that homely feel and the $5 Chilli is delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaBrand157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived thinking we got free internet, but you just get an hour a day on very slow computers.. So ended up buying wifi. The room we stayed in had only 2 plugs which were right behind someone's bed.. this was extremely awkward. If you weren't in that bed you basically could never charge your stuff. When asking about an extension lead the lady at reception said no and really didn't care. Wouldn't be that hard to get one sorted. The kitchen was always pretty dirty as well as the sitting area. Having to go to reception to put a movie on worked until someone turned over without coming in and checking what people were watching, very frustrating! Also while we were staying, there was a very big party group who were very noisy and extremely messy. However it is in a good location and most of the staff do seem friendly.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chelsea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I wondered how this hostel in the middle of the NZ North Island was going to be urban and when it comes to geography it is not.Taupo is a cute little town on a lake and the area around the hostel has wide open streets and a big discount warehouse supermarket with great prices. It feels very suburban. But when you are inside the hostel the inner courtyard and kitchen area get crowded in the evening as all the "kids" hang out and make their dinner while a disc jockey spins remixed dance versions of Top 40 hits. This is where it starts to feel urban and even club like. My partner and I are a middle aged male couple, but hung out in the courtyard and cooked our dinner with the throngs of other young backpackers. Everyone was very social and friendly, but i can imagine this would not optimal for everybody. its not the place for people who don't want to be social or who want to hang out in a nice room. Our room was sparsly furnished and didn't have a window to the outside. The single bed was not super comfy either, but for a single night before we went off to bungy the next day, it was fine, fun and cheap. There is a bar on premises so you are not supposed to drink your own, but the beer and wine is fairly cheap and it didn't seem like they were watching all that closely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#2 of 68 in Taupo
392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 34 in Taupo
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo Urban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo Urban Retreat

Address: 65 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: £25 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Taupo Urban Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taupo Urban Retreat - your home away from home! Free unlimited WIFI and computers, comfy beds and hot, high-pressure showers are a given here. With arguably the best location in Taupo we are just a couple of streets away from the busiest bars and restaurants and the shores of the stunning Great Lake Taupo - yet far enough away to get a good night’s sleep. Not to mention we are only minutes away from the bus stop and supermarkets, and there is plenty of free off-street parking available. At Urban we have a sociable yet chilled atmosphere, making it super easy to meet people. Enjoy our delicious chilli every night for only $5, or for $3 more get a cold beer or wine to wash it down. You can cook up a storm in our well-equipped kitchen with free oil and spices included. Help yourself to our free tea and coffee too! Mingle in our in-house guest bar with new friends, soak up some rays in our sunny garden courtyard, or snuggle up with a good book in your quiet dorm room if you’re all talked out. Keen for movie night? Hunker down in our cosy TV lounge and choose from our vast array of movie titles, we even have free popcorn! We’d love to help you make the most out of your stay in our beautiful region. Our friendly staff can help you book your activities including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Skydiving, Bungy jumping, Jet boats or Rafting trips to name a few. We’ve been operating in Taupo for over ten years so we know all of the local hidden gems and the best travel tips. Whether you’re looking to spend or save we can help you fill your day! Still have energy to burn? We even have bikes for hire at reception so your adventure begins at our front door. If you are moving on, our awesome team can help you book your onwards travel – be warned you may find you never want to leave Taupo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taupo Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing