We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taupo Urban Retreat
Ranked #17 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here whilst doing the kiwi experience for 2 nights. We really enjoyed it here, everyone running the hostel was really nice and accommodating. Its a really cool and quirky little hostel, not your standard everyday hostel, it definitely had character.
The facilities are really good, the kitchen is well equipment a little small but it isn't the biggest of hostels so doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geepea95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This hostel has a really good vibe. Had a really good time here. Has a well equipped kitchen and large dining area. Has good pool table, nice outside area, great bar (the cheapest in Taupo!) and a comfy TV room and computers to use. They will also help you out with great deals on local attractions.

I recommend staying in the big 16 bed dorm as it's a really nice, unique dorm. The smaller dorms are just standard

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank mad-m0nk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I went to this backpacker after staying 2 horrible nights in yha taupo..... This hostel was much better... They have better beds rooms are well maintained..... Nice common room...they do have a bar there if u want to grab a beer after a trek ....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Kaustubh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having just travelled the length of NZ - northland to south canterbury - I can honestly say that this hostel had one of the best atmospheres of any I visited. Staff were friendly from the get-go, my room was clean and had loooaaaads of under-bed (padlock-able) storage and my room mates were absolute quality (I was a sole-traveller)... The place is lively and buzzing, with an open plan kitchen/eating/seating area which really encourages people to socialise (i met a new friend at every meal time). Meanwhile it didn't ever get too roudy and there was no noise disruption at bed time. The backpackers is in an excellent location - just across the road from several great cafes and 5mins walk to i-site. The staff were great for local information (free walks, free hot spring sites, and even advice for my next leg of travel!) - particularly the owner, who clearly has a LOT of north island knowledge to share! If you're looking for privacy and hotel-style surroundings then this probably isn't the place for you, but if you're looking for a friendly hostel with great atmosphere and LOADS to do in the area then this place is it!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daviesc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hostel! Despite us mucking up and turning up late without notifying them (oops!), they were super helpful and accommodating with everything. Good food, nice rooms and great showers! Lovely kitchen area, and a great lounge area!

We had a great time!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights here through the Kiwi Experience and it was fine. Very reasonably priced at $25 a night, good-sized, fully equipped kitchen, free use of computers, tv room, cheap drinks, comfy beds and clean bathrooms. Overall I really enjoyed it here. The staff are really friendly and their local knowledge is great. The dorms are a bit small and don't have a lot of space for bags/plug sockets etc but it's not a massive issue. Location is perfect, right in the middle of Taupo aswell. Would stay here again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pete2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Such a comfortable, friendly 1-night retreat in the heart of a lovely city.. Kelly gave me such a nice welcome, the shared room and bunk bed was great and the price was right. I got a special treat from the DC3 MacDonalds around the corner, having flown in same plane years ago; fascinating little museum on Maori culture and local history in the nearby park; pleasant lakeside cafes and park where I sat under an enormous old tree watching the birds, the activities on the lake and the world go by.

Room Tip: Room 17 with outside access to courtyard is specially nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mac O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Base Taupo
Base Taupo
#18 of 34 in Taupo
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taupo Urban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taupo Urban Retreat

Address: 65 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: £12 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Taupo Urban Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taupo Urban Retreat - your home away from home! Free unlimited WIFI and computers, comfy beds and hot, high-pressure showers are a given here. With arguably the best location in Taupo we are just a couple of streets away from the busiest bars and restaurants and the shores of the stunning Great Lake Taupo - yet far enough away to get a good night’s sleep. Not to mention we are only minutes away from the bus stop and supermarkets, and there is plenty of free off-street parking available. At Urban we have a sociable yet chilled atmosphere, making it super easy to meet people. Enjoy our delicious chilli every night for only $5, or for $3 more get a cold beer or wine to wash it down. You can cook up a storm in our well-equipped kitchen with free oil and spices included. Help yourself to our free tea and coffee too! Mingle in our in-house guest bar with new friends, soak up some rays in our sunny garden courtyard, or snuggle up with a good book in your quiet dorm room if you’re all talked out. Keen for movie night? Hunker down in our cosy TV lounge and choose from our vast array of movie titles, we even have free popcorn! We’d love to help you make the most out of your stay in our beautiful region. Our friendly staff can help you book your activities including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Skydiving, Bungy jumping, Jet boats or Rafting trips to name a few. We’ve been operating in Taupo for over ten years so we know all of the local hidden gems and the best travel tips. Whether you’re looking to spend or save we can help you fill your day! Still have energy to burn? We even have bikes for hire at reception so your adventure begins at our front door. If you are moving on, our awesome team can help you book your onwards travel – be warned you may find you never want to leave Taupo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taupo Urban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing