We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My Husband and I plus three teenagers stayed at Suncourt on our recent visit to Taupo. We had a three bedroom unit with full kitchen,It was very clean, spacious and close to the lake, shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was called Garden View, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    134
    54
    13
    4
See reviews for
95
101
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at the Suncourt for a weekend with friends. The overall appearance of the hotel is good, the receptionists were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was on the bottom floor at the front facing the lake, which had excellent views. Our room was small but ok, the bed had probably seen better days and was extremelly soft and a bit on the small side for my husband and myself, the linen was fresh and clean as was the room. The shower was quite small and we had trouble getting the temperasture right as the plate at the back just spun and it was impossible to tell where the temperature was. We had dinner in the Mousetrap restaurant in the evening and this was first class, service was good, selection of wines were good, and the food was excellent, the pork ribs were amazing!!
We decided to have breakfast on our last morning there as the food had been so good in the evening. What a mistake, we arrived at 9.30am (breakfast finished at 10am) so felt we had plenty of time, there was no sausages left, and everything else that was in the cooked breakfast had been made for ages and was cold, not nice, we had to ask for bread for toast, they did make more eggs but these were presented in a "frying pan" shape and put into the cold server, what a pity the two girls that were working there did not try harder, we were left feeling that they were not interested. Other than the breakfast we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMHawkesBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed with my daughter so requested a room with a queen bed and a single bed and asked for a room with a view over the lake. The room was worth $180 for the night but the price was reduced to $160 because I had mentioned that I'd seen it valued at $135 on the "Wotif" website where you receive the price of $135 if you book through the website.
The view to the lake was lovely, the unit was very spacious, comfortable and clean. I was very surprised to see so many little pottles of milk provided for tea and coffee because most places I stay at usually only offer around 6 of them. I would say though that the single beds were extremely narrow and suitable for young children only not adult women and my daughter is small for a woman. It was quiet when the doors were closed despite there being a main road across the park.
The bathroom had a bath to soak in and a shower which had very good pressure. No chance of keeping your hair dry if you didn't wish to wash it. The only disappointment was the mildew in the shower which had been there a while and which I could and did wipe away with my towel. Laziness on the cleaners behalf or lack of noticing maybe.
There is a restaurant attached to the side of the reception area and I would highly recommend this as a place to eat especially if you don't feel up to driving anywhere else and perhaps want a few drinks and don't need to worry about driving afterwards. The food was divine and the wine also very good. The waitresses were lovely. Very nice.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, it is easy to find, spacious, clean, and for older people the gound floor units are very accessible. Good parking also.
Things that were not provided: No hair dryer, no shower caps, and no deck chairs or table to sit at outside. A shame especially since their is a lovely deck outside of each room overlooking the lake and it would have been lovely to sit with a coffee or glass of wine.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenGerNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed in a studio twin lake room. Our room was on the bottom floor. It's a 2 story building. There are different sections of the hotel but our building is right in the front facing a lawn and Lake Taupo. There are some trucks parked right on the lawn but luckily they didn't park in front of our unit so our view of the Lake was not blocked.

Did not see any elevator in our section of the building. The parking area is right behind each unit. There's a vending machine outside. We couldn't get a wi-fi signal from our room, maybe because our room is at the end of the building (room no. 14). Free wi-fi but you will need to ask the receptionist for an access code. It's a different code for different room. There are 2 computers free to use near the reception area. There's a restaurant right next to the entrance area and another one right next door.

The room is quite spacious. It comes with 1 single bed and 1 double bed. It has 2 chairs and a table. A sliding glass door facing the lake. A remote control A/C (very quiet) and a flat screen TV that has about 8 or 9 channels. The bathroom is quite spacious. It's dated and there are a couple of chips on the bath tub. The shower area is very small, perhaps the smallest one I've ever seen. No fans in the bathroom. There are windows that can be opened, they are opened to a corridor facing the parking lot. No tissues in the bathroom so be sure to bring your own.

The beds are a bit too soft but I didn't get a backache from it. The sink by the entry area has separate cold and hot water spouts and so close to the wall so it's a bit hard to wash your cups or glasses. There's a small refrigerator. Coffee/tea electric kettle. Ironing board, iron, hair dryer and extra pillows inside the closet.

Even though it's pretty close to the main road but it was quiet at night. I'm a light sleeper and I didn't hear any noise. There's a pool and jacuzzi area to the side of the parking lot. They're all outdoor. Overall it's not bad other than their tiny shower area and practically non existent wi-fi in the room. Good location if you want to stay close to the city center, only a 5 minute leisurely walk. You can find all kinds of places to dine.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank World Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore, Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

For the last 4 years we have been coming to Suncourt to celebrate our annual Nationals. The service we receive from Andrew and his whole team is outstanding for the conference side. The rooms are always neat, tidy and clean and we love the views and facilities. Always a pleasure and nothing is a problem to accomodate our requests (including all of us washing our cars for the show shine on the saturdays haha).....

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake and a spa bath for those leisurely moments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We booked this on a last minute website and got a great deal. Our room was very big and we enjoyed a beautiful sunset through the patio windows. The room looked out over the lake and it is 5 minutes walk from shops and restaurants. We walked to the spa thermal park and it took about 20mins.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We recently stayed in a one bedroom unit ( 2 beds also in the lounge) at the Suncourt with our 2 children ( 4 & 2 /12) the rooms were tidy and clean and comfortable, although we didn't eat at the restaurant on site the menu did look very appertising and reasonably priced.

The kids loved the playground and we all enjoyed the pool ( heated pool is a good size) but would say the main pool could have done with a bit of cleaning/vacuuming.

All in all it was good value for money and would stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: If you have little kids ask for the downstair units facing the playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.4 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#14 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#10 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#16 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 14 Northcroft Street | PO Box 837, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#18 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suncourt Hotel and Conference Centre takes pride of place on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, Qualmark rated 4 star, with magnificent uninterrupted views of stunning Lake Taupo, and Tongariro National Park. Enjoy a leisurely 3 minute stroll to the CBD boutique shopping & nightlife. With 52 accommodation rooms on offer, varying from lake studios to 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained units, you will enjoy spacious yet affordable accommodation. Suncourt is the perfect location for families, business travelers and corporate groups. Experience a conference, function or wedding at our fabulous four-room conference venue and on-site restaurant The Mousetrap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncourt Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing