We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday function”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Whanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Birthday function”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We organised a dinner at the Suncourt for a 50th Birthday. The staff were extremely helpful. Pip who I dealt with was excellent. She arranged for us to have our own room due to numbers at no extra cost, she organised a discount on the rooms for all the people we had staying there also.
Great staff and awesome location. The meal there was excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Taupo Nui a tia room and it was excellent for 2 couples, lovely big lounge area wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mcleods2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are so glad to hear that the evening was a success and that everyone enjoyed themselves. Taupo Nui a Tia suite is in process of being upgraded from existing 1 x Queen and 2 x single beds to proposed 2 x Queen Beds so that should make it even more perfect for two couples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    134
    54
    13
    4
See reviews for
95
101
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had the corner room upstairs and it was simply fantastic. Even though it's about 50 meters from the water, there was nothing blocking our view of the lake and mountains in the background. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was more than adequate. The best feature of the hotel was the balcony. It was amazing being able to sit out there and have a drink while looking over the lake.

The restaurant was good. A little pricey but the food was decent and after a long car ride it was nice to sit down and enjoy lunch.

The location was perfect. Right next to the main parts of the city which was perfect for any tourist. Wifi is free but not great. We stayed for New Years and could see fireworks off the balcony on the lake. Great value for money. This would probably be the only place I stay if I go back to Taupo.

Room Tip: Ask for a second story room on the right side of the hotel. Best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Our upstairs lakefront units are the perfect location to see in the New Year so I'm glad that you enjoyed the fireworks from your balcony.

You will be pleased to know that we upgraded the WIFI structure throughout our property so that all our rooms should have full reception when you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great family hotel, room was well set up and they had prepared it for us by making sure the heaters were on.
The apartment was a 2 bedroom, small bathroom but workable
Good sized bedrooms, comfortable layout

Room Tip: Go for the apartments, playground outside for the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We pride ourselves on being a friendly family hotel so great to receive this feedback.
Taupo does tend to get a bit chilly in the winter months so we turn on the heaters in all our pre-booked rooms and close the curtains so that guests are greeted with a warm room on arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Spotless accommodation. Stayed in a 3 bed apartment. Kids loved the park, pool wasn't opened but we were told in advance and the hotel gave us a very good deal. Free wifi and second TV a bonus. Close to lots of restaurants to explore and short walk into town. Lovely to walk around the lake and see the snow in the distance. We will be returning. Would recommend ringing and asking for best price.

Room Tip: 3bed family apartment great value for bigger families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyjoanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Our Three Bedroom Apartments are certainly proving very popular with families, and no doubt the kids loved the new 16 foot trampoline we recently upgraded.

It's lovely to see a family enjoying a relaxing holiday together and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed recently just the 1 night in a 2 bedroom unit.It was just beautiful. The furniture and decor were very modern and it was lovely and clean. We had 3 adults and a child, and there was plenty of linen for all of us without having to ask for extra as sometimes you do. I had a brief encounter at check in, but the lady was lovely and explained what I needed to know. This place has an in interrupted view of Lake Taupo with a nice big balcony with table & chairs outside to use. Very close to shopping ang cafés, walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. The room you have described is our Taupo Nui a Tia Suite and a lot of hard work went into making this room both comfortable yet modern and spacious. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Beautiful location overlooking the lake - great value rooms and the staff were amazing - the girl at the front desk was able to help with coupons for an amazing spa, directions around town and even a loan phone charger!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank F_ogrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are very lucky to have a variety of Hot Springs / Spa's in the Taupo region so I'm glad you got to enjoy them during your stay, they are quite popular with our guests especially during the winter months.

I'll pass on your lovely comments to our reception team.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for the weekend and the room was clean, lake view and easy access to shopping and cafes area .but one of the staff were not friendly..
When I was checking tout he staff can't even bother to say: "good morning" and reluctantly response my questions..
It is a pity because the hotel itself is quiet good but poor hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We appreciate all feedback and have certainly taken your comments on board regarding the service by our reception team on your departure. At Suncourt we pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and this matter will be discussed with the staff member involved.

Your positive feedback will also be passed on to the housekeeping team regarding the cleanliness of your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.4 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#14 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#10 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#16 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 14 Northcroft Street | PO Box 837, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#18 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suncourt Hotel and Conference Centre takes pride of place on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, Qualmark rated 4 star, with magnificent uninterrupted views of stunning Lake Taupo, and Tongariro National Park. Enjoy a leisurely 3 minute stroll to the CBD boutique shopping & nightlife. With 52 accommodation rooms on offer, varying from lake studios to 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained units, you will enjoy spacious yet affordable accommodation. Suncourt is the perfect location for families, business travelers and corporate groups. Experience a conference, function or wedding at our fabulous four-room conference venue and on-site restaurant The Mousetrap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncourt Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing