We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Family welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascot Motor Inn
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
176 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Warm Family welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Nice to be met in reception by Murray & Jocelyn who were very friendly. Our room was spacious, clean, bed comfortable & warm, (tho almost freezing out side). However the heater fan was a bit noisy. 50 Sky TV channels, a good size spa bath. Really easy to use microwave. About 5-10min. walk to town, but they will shuttle you. We were in a ground floor unit but I imagine the view toward the mountains from the 2nd floor would be amazing.
When leaving I advised Murray of a blown bulb & loose toilet seat & he said he would get on to it straight away. Good service. Would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs unit for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    50
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
54
55
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I love this motel! Murray and Jocelyn the hosts are lovely. My family and I stay here regularly we come go to Taupo. We request the family units either 15 on ground floor or 16 upstairs. The rooms are clean and comfortable, I love that that have Sky 50+ channels and the spa bath is lovely to soak in at the end of the day. They have a silent dishwasher so you can it put it on before going to bed and not worry about the dishwasher noise keeping you awake. There is a small strip of shops, just across the road with a four square, café, butcher and vege shop which is great when you don't want to head into town. The lake is within walking distance. Would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a short or long stay in Taupo

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renjay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My family and I have stayed in the Ascot twice and have found it to be a great place to stay. It is very clean and the rooms are large (we had a 2 bedroom family unit). The facilities are in a very good condition and well maintained. We liked the spa bath and Sky TV. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRobertsons43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed one night in this lovely little motor inn. Very clean, tidy and spacious. Had its own little kitchenette, spa bath and lake views. Staff very helpful and cheerful. Good value for money. Overall a lovely night stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor so to overlook the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKiwi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Gr8 to meet Murray he is a great host we had 1 bedroom lots of room gr8 bed big tv s in to rooms lots of sky channels to choose from & even better for us we could put mountain bikes in the garage he had made a bike stand

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toniioverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Roomy accommodation, TVs in every room, spa bath. Everything was spotlessly clean and room 12 was in very good order.

I liked the inclusion of a cafetiere and decent coffee. Murray was a very welcoming host, can provide fresh milk.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caw35uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I have stayed at the Ascot twice now, on both occasions I have been impressed by the quality and cleanliness of the rooms.It is in a good central location. Murray is a good host.All these things shall keep me returning to Ascot Motor Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#8 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Executive Motel
Executive Motel
#17 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Motor Inn

Property: Ascot Motor Inn
Address: 70 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascot Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Spacious modern motel complex is situated close to the town centre and lake edge, yet in a quiet location. We offer 15 Large Cosy, warm units to suit all requirements - Corporate personnel welcome! Choices available - 2 Bedroom Apartment type family units. 1 Bedroom Executive units Queen Studio Spa Bath units, Standard Queen Studio units, plus lovely accessible Queen Studios. Some Units have additional Beds - all have very cosy bedding including electric blankets for the cooler Taupo nights. Enjoy mountain and lake vistas or relax in a private courtyard. Free on site parking 51+ Guest Select SKY TV & FREE WIFI to all units Stay 9 Nights at an ASURE Property & get $100.00 off your 10th Night Come & Enjoy a Stay at ASURE Ascot Motor Inn - Taupo 'Hospitality at its best' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ascot Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing