We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Ascot Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot Motor Inn
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

What a little gem. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and obviously take pride in the presentation and cleanliness of their rooms. We had a standard studio (so one of the cheapest rooms) It was spacious and had a good view of the mountains. One tip - ask the hosts for dining suggestions in Taupo. They have discount vouchers for some eating places - e.g Dixie Browns. We discovered this after we had eaten a very nice meal there.

Room Tip: When booking ask if they have any rooms available with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    53
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
54
59
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed on night. The accommodation was clean, spacious, well equipped with a roomy bathroom. Free wifi make it easy to check on emails. Great value for money. Good safe parking and level to make it easy for lugging all the luggage back and forth to the car!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jakkie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom unit & found it to be very spacious, clean and well equipped. The bathroom was huge! Location Is great - easy walking distance to the waterfront and town centre. Wifi is provided but only to a very small limit (no matter the length of your stay) - we used ours up very quickly even just checking emails. Jocelyn & Murray were very helpful and friendly hosts and Ascot Motor Inn is very good value for money. Would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinaatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed just one night, on our family road trip from Wellington to Auckland for Christmas.

Our host Murray was lovely, accommodating and helpful. Our unit was amazing. Spacious and so well equipped. Can't recommend the Ascot highly enough, we would definitely stay there again and hope we can in the near future.:-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLincolns2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I rarely stay in motels but passing through Taupo for 1 night only, the Ascot Motor Inn was great value for money in a good location.

The spacious rooms were quiet and clean with all of the amenities you will need for your stay..

The rooms have some free wifi which was great but be aware that the limit is reached quickly with my husband and I exceeding the data allowance within a few hours (we were standard browsing only).

The hosts were lovely and we would definitely recommend the Ascot if you are passing through Taupo

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HolidayKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment, for 4 adults traveling together. We got a ground floor unit, which is recommended if you have larger and heavier baggage, which you don't want to lug upstairs to the 2nd floor. The apartment was clean and spacious with plenty of 'living room', with a very well appointed and equipped kitchen. We did not not cook a meal there, but easily could have, given the array of utensils, pots etc. The bedrooms were both spacious and had comfortable beds. The bathroom was large, airy with a spa tub, and very good shower ! Murray and Jocelyn the Innkeepers were very friendly, obliging, and made good recommendations for restaurants in town. We would definitely stay here again when in the Taupo area, and highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CIOonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a corner ground floor 2 bedroom unit . I was impressed and pleased with the high standard of cleanliness . The only minor fault i would say was that the sofa has a mild unpleasant smell. There was no lake view , but it was fine with us. New utensils and everything in the mini kitchen. Friendly and helpful staff who helped to replace the remote control immediately which couldn't work. Parking was right in front of the unit which made loading easier. Reasonable rate and we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 69 in Taupo
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
639 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Motor Inn

Property: Ascot Motor Inn
Address: 70 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascot Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Spacious modern motel complex is situated close to the town centre and lake edge, yet in a quiet location. We offer 15 Large Cosy, warm units to suit all requirements - Corporate personnel welcome! Choices available - 2 Bedroom Apartment type family units. 1 Bedroom Executive units Queen Studio Spa Bath units, Standard Queen Studio units, plus lovely accessible Queen Studios. Some Units have additional Beds - all have very cosy bedding including electric blankets for the cooler Taupo nights. Enjoy mountain and lake vistas or relax in a private courtyard. Free on site parking 51+ Guest Select SKY TV & FREE WIFI to all units Stay 9 Nights at an ASURE Property & get $100.00 off your 10th Night Come & Enjoy a Stay at ASURE Ascot Motor Inn - Taupo 'Hospitality at its best' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing