We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AdBlue Trip Tauranga - Taupo”
Review of Ascot Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Motor Inn
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
321 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“AdBlue Trip Tauranga - Taupo”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice and quiet.
Spacious unit very clean and comfortable.
Spa bath.
Good kitchen.
Comfortable bed.
Very cold night -2 so heater was on all night.
Room was warm enough.
Heated towel rails and heater in bathroom.
Good parking.
View of mountains with snow on was a nice morning surprise.
Thank you Graeme and Sandra for a nice stay.
See you again soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    52
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
54
58
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
704 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We rang at 10.30pm and arrived at midnight to lovely warm rooms with all the comforts of home.

The manager accommodated our party of 8 at a moment's notice late at night.

Everything was better than expected and at a fair price.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you don't want to carry luggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson City, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Accommodating and professional owner greeted me late in night. Very high standard of spacious tasteful studio with everything one could want and a spa bath. Quiet spot away from main highway. Excellent linen with high quality towelling especially.
Would certainly stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tamarilloinnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom unit. The accommodation was spacious, clean and very comfortable we had an amazing nights sleep, the heat pump and the spa bath was excellent. A very enjoyable stay particular with the cooler weather coming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Glenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Ascot Motor Inn. Graeme and Sandra were very lovely hosts. Our unit was clean, spacious and the kitchen was very well equipped. Just one little niggle - we found the kitchen bench space was very limited and a cupboard to store our food would of been nice. Bathroom was big and the spa/shower was fantastic. Handy location and we will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed in a 2-bedroom unit. Nice, clean and close to the centre, but really cold. There's only a heater in the living room and one in the bathroom, none in the bedrooms. It was really cold at night. Recommended for warmer season.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nankainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellison70, Owner at Ascot Motor Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi there.
Whilst your comments are very important, we are extremely distressed to hear that you were cold during your stay with us!
One can only presume it was on our first - 4 deg night which took us all by surprise??
However,we have no restriction on the use of heating in our complex - we have also been striving to provide new bedding to ensure your stay is a cosy one with electric blankets on all beds - new large polar fleece blankets for all beds which are additional to the standard bedding etc.
It is disappointing that you did not inform us of this problem whilst you were here - we would gladly have provided any extra heating as required.
We trust you will notify any operator of problems in the future at the time.
I am confident we would all appreciate the opportunity to rectify your concerns.

Regards
G & S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at th ascot motor Inn during the easter break. We were kindly greeted upon arrival and felt right at home. The room we had was spacious, clean and well equipped, it exceeded our expectations. Staff were very helpful and provided us with phamplets and information about activites/events around Taupo. We had a pleasant time and will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerryo_207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellison70, Owner at Ascot Motor Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your great support - we appreciate your comments & would love to be of further service to you on a future occasion.
Thank you for staying with us.
Regards
G & S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Motor Inn

Property: Ascot Motor Inn
Address: 70 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascot Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Spacious modern motel complex is situated close to the town centre and lake edge, yet in a quiet location. We offer 15 Large Cosy, warm units to suit all requirements - Corporate personnel welcome! Choices available - 2 Bedroom Apartment type family units. 1 Bedroom Executive units Queen Studio Spa Bath units, Standard Queen Studio units, plus lovely accessible Queen Studios. Some Units have additional Beds - all have very cosy bedding including electric blankets for the cooler Taupo nights. Enjoy mountain and lake vistas or relax in a private courtyard. Free on site parking 51+ Guest Select SKY TV & FREE WIFI to all units Stay 9 Nights at an ASURE Property & get $100.00 off your 10th Night Come & Enjoy a Stay at ASURE Ascot Motor Inn - Taupo 'Hospitality at its best' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing