We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and friendly place to stay”
Review of Ascot Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Motor Inn
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Nice warm welcome on our arrival. Room was clean and comfortable. Although not in the centre of town its really not far to the restaurants and the lake. A little tight on parking but they manage to fit everyone in somehow.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2011

The charming hosts like to share their hints for good dining places and they love to have a chat with their guests. The studios are very nice and the motel in located in a quiet spot in walking distance to the lake and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seona_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

The relatively new owners of the motel were very eager to welcome us and make us feel at home.

The room was average size. We were self-catering and as such the workspace in the kitchen was quite small. We were on the ground floor, and there was nowhere to sit in the sun in the evening, but we did have a small private area at the back of the unit. Rooms on the next floor up had balcony areas which looked better. The room also had a spa bath, which was great!

The motel is near the lake, which you can walk down to in the evening, but it was slightly out of the town, so we ate in each night.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrygirluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

2 b/r family unit was spacious, modern, well appointed. We didn't spend as much time in the unit as anticipated due to our son having an fairly serious accident early in our trip (he's all fine now). The owners let our friends take over our unit (they needed to so they could look after our other kids). They also understood when our friends inadvertently packed a couple of small motel items in with our stuff(!). I would've taken photo's to, if I'd had time...

We would love to go back, the upstairs unit we were in had lovely mountain and lake views, and spacious which is a priority for us when travelling with 3 young children. The only niggle was that there is limited drawer space for clothes, although there are wardrobes available, and the kitchen cupboards also were a little lacking in space. We restacked the motel pots etc to make some room for our food.

Like I say storage was only a niggle, I would definitely come back - and there's a great cafe across the road too!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicklebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

I'd definitely recommend staying here. We stayed 3 nights when we visited Taupo for a short break, and really enjoyed it.

The managers Liz and Glen were very friendly and had good local knowledge, so gave us lots of ideas of things to do while we were there. We went to the Huka Falls, hot pools, shops and cafes and for a walk around the lakeside.

The room was clean, modern and warm and the bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept in. The location is close to the town and the lake but not on the main road so was nice and quiet. We stayed in a studio unit but have since recommended it to friends who have stayed in one of the family 2 bedroom units upstairs and enjoyed it as well.

We're hoping to go back soon to do some of the things we ran out of time to do on this trip and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PatinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HanspeterCH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank 110n7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 68 in Taupo
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 68 in Taupo
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#28 of 68 in Taupo
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Motor Inn

Address: 70 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: £57 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascot Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Spacious modern motel complex is situated close to the town centre and lake edge, yet in a quiet location. We offer 15 Large Cosy, warm units to suit all requirements - Corporate personnel welcome! Choices available - 2 Bedroom Apartment type family units. 1 Bedroom Executive units Queen Studio Spa Bath units, Standard Queen Studio units, plus lovely accessible Queen Studios. Some Units have additional Beds - all have very cosy bedding including electric blankets for the cooler Taupo nights. Enjoy mountain and lake vistas or relax in a private courtyard. Free on site parking 51+ Guest Select SKY TV & FREE WIFI to all units Stay 9 Nights at an ASURE Property & get $100.00 off your 10th Night Come & Enjoy a Stay at ASURE Ascot Motor Inn - Taupo 'Hospitality at its best' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing