We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food”
Review of Dixie Brown's

Dixie Brown's
Ranked #11 of 139 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a breakfast stop here after a recommendation from a motel worker. Service was great and staff very international and friendly.
Only thing was maybe the meals are slightly too big, but man well cooked. Keep up the good work

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Corinne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    833
    567
    217
    103
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still has my heart”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I would say that Dixie's stole my heart from my first visit.

I'm a local and go many times and of course it isn't perfect 100% (more just the long wait), it definitely is worth it.

Food is always fresh and exactly how it is described!
Service is well-done with a great atmosphere.

Definitely my favorite in Taupo so far.

Helpful?
Thank Jasmine-lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good coffee ... Good waitress and yummy breakfast”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The breakfast menu is very elaborate and made fresh ... The muffins and coffees is great.... With chocolate shavings on coffee ..... Would definitely go again when I visit taupo

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaustubh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Superbe? Absolument!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Called in for breakfast and was seated next to a French couple. A waiter, also French, came across and asked them "c'est Bon?" The woman responded "superbe! Absolument!" And it was. This is a beautifully presented restaurant. The staff were prompt, professional and personable. When not serving tables, they were cleaning them, or the widows, or otherwise engaged in doing things. The owner should be very proud of this place. And my poached eggs? Superbe! Absolument!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch. On entering nice atmosphere especially with the lovely fire going. Right on the waterfront so great view of the lake if you had a window seat. Food - Cajun Chicken Salad was very overdressed so quite soggy. Corn Hotcakes - 3 large pancakes with chutney, Feta & cream Cheese. Probably could have done without the large dollop of cream cheese on top as the meal would have been just as nice without it. This is the second time we've been here for lunch and both times we've had a bit of a wait. Finished coffees asked for water just to fill in the time. I noticed that another couple that came in after us got their meal before us - hate that, annoys the hell out of me! Overall fairly average. Probably wouldn't go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hapeta68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dixie Brown's also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Dixie Brown's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing