We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service”
Review of Dixie Brown's

Dixie Brown's
Ranked #11 of 137 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food and service. Would revisit if the chance arose. The lamb shank was great as well as the delicious chocolate milk shake.

Helpful?
Thank rohitb918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    540
    206
    99
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hope to come back”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Early morning solo travelling made all the better by the warmth of staff, food, and fire at this excellent waterfront cafe.

I was able to enjoy my long black and generous omelette while watching the Fifa World Cup, reading a newspaper, and soaking up the warmth of the fire.

The breakfast menu was extensive and the servings generous and served piping hot - thank you for warming the plate!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a breakfast stop here after a recommendation from a motel worker. Service was great and staff very international and friendly.
Only thing was maybe the meals are slightly too big, but man well cooked. Keep up the good work

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Corinne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still has my heart”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I would say that Dixie's stole my heart from my first visit.

I'm a local and go many times and of course it isn't perfect 100% (more just the long wait), it definitely is worth it.

Food is always fresh and exactly how it is described!
Service is well-done with a great atmosphere.

Definitely my favorite in Taupo so far.

Helpful?
Thank Jasmine-lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good coffee ... Good waitress and yummy breakfast”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The breakfast menu is very elaborate and made fresh ... The muffins and coffees is great.... With chocolate shavings on coffee ..... Would definitely go again when I visit taupo

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaustubh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dixie Brown's also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Dixie Brown's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing