We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Universal brown sauce on everything”
Review of Pimentos - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pimentos
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Universal brown sauce on everything”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My husband and I live locally and decided to try this restaurant for the first time on Sunday night. He ordered chicken liver pate followed by scotch fillet and I ordered chicken livers followed by pork loin. The pate was bland but passable. The chicken livers were drowned in a brown gravy (meant to be a red wine jus), two of the three livers were overcooked and rubbery- the bacon in the sauce was the cheap processed/pressed variety. The sinew was still on the livers. Scotch fillet was ordered medium rare and came very rare. Meant to be in a mixed berry jus but was also drowned in brown gravy like chicken livers. Pork was meant to be orange and fennel glazed- orange was un-tasteable and again, more brown gravy everywhere. Food was pretty bland overall. Staff were nice and welcomed feedback but couldn’t explain the universal sauce everywhere- gave us a 10% discount which was not requested but the gesture appreciated. Not sure if we will return given the ample choice of places to eat locally.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_phee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good fod”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Nice restaurant inside and the food was very good, if not outstanding. Staff friendly and efficient. I'd go back if in Taupo again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alwayswander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We visited for dinner n a Friday night. The place was not too busy. Freindly welcome and attentive staff. Dishes were the right size and food tasty, but nothing too adventurous. Well worth a visit

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lotuseaters42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“An indifferent meal”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We were disappointed by this place, one of the poorest we have visited in a fortnight. The staff were a bit clueless. Food was adequate, not good, wish we had chosen another place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sapdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotonda West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Excellent food”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed with friends in Taupo and this is the restaurant that they frequent. We now know why. It's a little bistro type restaurant where you can bring your own wine. Costs $5 per bottle. The food choice was not extensive but diverse. We each had an appetizer, and a main meal. Everyone at the table raved about what they ate. Casual but elegant. Service was friendly and attentive. When in Taupo, Bon Appetit:)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbound44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pimentos also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing