We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Country charm in Taupo"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"Country charm in Taupo"”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed in The Nook, which is a charming, comfortable room that's cleverly designed to make the most of a small space. It actually felt spacious, except for the lack of somewhere to put our suitcases. There was no closet, but there were hooks on the wall with hangers provided. It was clean and quiet, and perfect for an overnight stay. The friendly hosts at the front desk provided milk in a cute covered pitcher, and loaned us a big notebook of menus for local restaurants. There were not many restaurants nearby, but it was a pleasant 40-minute walk into town along the lakefront. Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    145
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
197
382
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here last weekend for one night - had a family cottage which was very spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable and warm, with huge spa bath, outdoor courtyard and heaps of room My son loved the fact there were 2 TV's so one was claimed as his, the kids thought the spa bath was the best thing ever. The owners were very welcoming, no problem to have an early check in. Lovely to be able to just walk down the path to the lake and feed the ducks. Definitely stay here again next time we come to Taupo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Some of the rooms are a little quirky but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a giant hot tub bath tub in our bedroom but the details of the room were very nice. The desk staff were very friendly & helpful & there was a laundry right there for guests. We enjoyed being a little out of the downtown area. We walked down the lake front on a foot path which was very pleasant. We would come back & stay here again if ever back this way.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Textralians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellen, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We had the end unit overlooking the lake. There was a bedroom, bath and jacuzzi tub on the ground floor. The second floor had the living area with a second TV, kitchen and small exterior deck. The location is out of town a little but ideal for walking the lakefront path. The managers or owners went out of their way to be kind and helpful. Good parking and wifi.

Room Tip: I believe all or most units are two story and have views. We were very happy with the unit at the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jer-jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney/London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed one Saturday night with the wife on the way down to Wellington. Greeting was very warm and helpful, despite me inadvertently having booked the wrong night!! thankfully there was still a free room. Owner was very helpful and kind and even gave us a lift into town to the restaurant where we were having dinner - how nice is that?? Only thing we struggled with a bit was the pillows (we're very fussy with our pillows!). Definitely recommend this place for Taupo and would surely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We had stayed 3 nights in the Family Cottage. It was comfortable, spacious - a home away from home.

The upstairs had a queen bed and spa and toilet; downstairs the main shower and toilet, separate full kitchen, dining area, and two single beds in the living area. TV both downstairs and upstairs - not that we used them; heating for both upstairs and downstairs and two fans - which would be extremely useful on warmer days/nights or simply to circulate the air.

We stayed in hotels/motels in Auckland, Rotorua, Taupo, Huntly and Whitianga during this holiday and Cottage Mews was the only one with two toilets - always a plus with four people getting ready of a morning.

There was ample towel hanging space and closet space and the provision of an extra portable towel rail was very thoughtful and considerate for this unit. Lots of fresh fluffy towels were provided.

A short walk down a small path from the Cottage Mews takes you to a lovely beach area safe for our grand-child to feed the ducks and swans and throw "floating stones" into the lake and paddle in some hot water along the lake side. A great bit of fun for the young ones.

The owners obviously enjoy running their motel and it shows - welcoming and personable. We now wished we had spent 5 nights here rather than Rotorua.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitaia, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way to and from a family get together. At the end of the day it was nice to come back to the peace and quiet and sit down and relax. Good size unit and lovely and warm. Hosts are welcoming and really helpful! Would love to come and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racheal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,019 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing