We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family weekend”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Cottage Mews Motel Taupo is a fantastic place to stay. From the moment of entering the gate and reception there is a total feeling of friendliness and hospitality. Julie the manager is a fantastic front of house person showing great interest in her guests.The whole complex is a credit to the owners - it is spotlessly clean and the rooms extremely well appointed. There is huge pride in the presentation of this motel complex. The lake view unit is superb and the family units so convenient for a larger group. It is a very pleasant place to stay and would be ideal for an extended holiday especially with so much to see and do around Taupo and its surrounds.

Room Tip: Lake end of complex have some lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hello June 408. Thanks so much for your comments. I've passed them on to our housekeeping team, who work hard to keep our cottages clean and tidy and do appreciate the feeback. Hope to see you all again at the lake. Kind regards - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    145
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
197
382
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had a wonderful night stay here. Love the short walk to the lake. Staff was helpful. Our cottage came with a well equipped kitchen and BBQ facility was available outside. We had to use the fan to cool down the room upstairs during our stay because Mr Sun was strong on that day! Guest laundry was available too which was handy for people on tour. We were happy that we had free access to wifi which was a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank desertrose28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi Desertrose28. Glad you enjoyed your stay. It's been a summer of mixed weather but you struck a couple of hot days! Our guest washing machine is free now, as well as our internet access - two important aspects of being on the road for our guests. All the best for 2014 - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

What a lovely place. We stayed in both the lake end rooms for 2 nights (us and the kids). They were very comfortable with a great outlook to the lake. Also very quiet at night - we slept very well in the comfy beds. Julie and Terry were very friendly and helpful to us and told us all the best places to go in Taupo. We followed up on all their recommendations and had a great time as a result. Also the breakfasts were very good value and very nice. The cottages are a bit out of town but there were a couple of nice restaurants within walking distance - and what a nice walk by the lake!
We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The lake end rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnnJaayAarrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We're glad you enjoyed Cottage Mews Neil. Great to see parents travelling with their teenagers - we have one of those at home ourselves, and time goes way too fast. Many thanks for your positive comments. Kind regards, Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

friendly welcome, pleasant clean and quiet room, short walk to lake. pretty walk to town, but takes 40 minutes. that's about all I'd like to say. It's just that Trip Advisor insists that I write a minimum of 200 words. Why do they do that? I almost didn't complete my review

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank petrusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for doing it anyway, PetrusC! Every review is important to us and we do value you taking time to post your thoughts. Best wishes for the new year - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Beautiful place with a path leading right down to the Lake. Well equipped kitchen, and a little patio out the back. Bonus of brilliant spa bath upstairs and bedroom has a little balcony.

Unfortunately our neighbour left very early the next morning and had a loud conversation on his phone right outside, but apart from him, it was peaceful and quiet. The free wi fi was excellent, efficient and remembers you, unlike some other place were you have to keep logging back in.

Really pleased we stayed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks Sue - glad you enjoyed your stay at Cottage Mews, and we appreciate you taking time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We only had a handful of requirements for our stay in Taupo, that it have a view of the lake, a spa, and that it be clean and affordable. In this, and many other things, Cottage Mews exceeded our expectations. We chose Cottage Mews for the days after our New Zealand wedding because we wanted somewhere quiet to recuperate. We left feeling a million dollars.

Julie is an absolute gem, she really made us feel welcome, even giving us lifts to the local spas as we weren't driving. We had previously mentioned that we were on our honeymoon, and there was a bottle of wine and a note waiting for us in the kitchen (for which we forgot to say thank you - sorry!).

Some reviews mention that the rooms are dated, and there is evidence of this, but our bathroom was recently renovated, the room was extremely clean and fairly priced.

There is a track down to the lake, of which we made good use, a lending library of books, free in room wifi and a lovely, lovely staff. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: We had the lake view room with the balcony - which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you, Hobbiton honeymooners, for taking time to review us. It was great to meet you - we always feel special when couples choose to spend some of their honeymoon here! Hope that the job developments are positive and you are excited about everything ahead of you. Very best wishes, Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

If you would like to walk along the lake side without getting into the car, these units are ideally located. Some have lake views from the upper level (the end units closer to the lake. Pricing is reasonable, and the units are well-maintained.The soaker, Jacuzzi tubs are a nice addition, located right in the bedroom, so if you want some warmth for your aching limbs together with the creature comforts of TV, you can!

Room Tip: Ask for the end units closer to the lake, if you want a glimpse of the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Last winter we made 'windows' in the walls between the spa baths and the TVs for exactly that reason - after a long day on the Tongariro Crossing or the Wairakei cycle trails, the baths are relaxing. Glad you enjoyed yours! Thanks very much, our team appreciates your positive review. Kind regards, Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,020 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing