We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Crazy for The Cottage Mews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were sadly disappointed with The Cottage Mews. There was no view from the windows and it was very overlooked and there were no blinds that could be pulled without blocking off all the light. The owners did kindly inform us before we booked that this would be the case for the house we booked. There was however a very nice spa bath which we found very relaxing. And it was nice having a kitchen and sitting/tv room. This is a lovely place I imagine to stay in Winter as it is cosy. However I would not recommend it for a couple traveling in Summer who want to open the windows and have a nice view of the lake. The owners however are very nice and friendly and the location good being right next to the lake where swimming and kayaking is an option. The quality of the cleaning was not good. There were dead flies/hair on the bathroom floor when we arrived and they were there when we left 3 days later. There were on the other hand ample clean towels. So there were good and bad points but on the whole I would not stay here again if staying at Lake Taupo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hello Aoife and Robert. Sorry that the unit you reserved had no lake view, and that we couldn't offer you one, with the lake-end apartments already booked. It's a shame that you didn't tell us about your cleaning concern during your stay - I've passed on your comment to our team, who hate to hear that any of our guests are unhappy with the standard of cleanliness. Do hope that the rest of your honeymoon went well, and that you have some great New Zealand memories. Best wishes - Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for a night on 13 December 2013. Wonderful unique 2 level cottage with a separate double bed with its own private spa bath and separate toilet on the upper level. good kitchen facalities and 3 single beds on the lower level. It is also close to the lake where we get to see a beautiful sunset and great views of the lake. Also has a private courtyard. The unit is very clean and owners are friendly and helpful. Too bad we only stayed a night...would love to spend more. Highly recommended and close to the town centre. Excellent

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afoo306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thanks for your review Afoo306. We wish you could have stayed longer too! Your comments are much appreciated. Hope you enjoyed the trip south, and that maybe you can come again someday. Kind regards - Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

One of the best places we stayed in NZ. Unfortunately, only able to do one night. Free wifi (which is scarce in NZ), gd location and views and enjoyable bicycle rides around the lake near the cottage.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keenz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hello Keenz28. Nice to meet you just before Christmas. Thanks for taking time to review your stay at Cottage Mews. We hope the rest of your time in New Zealand was memorable, and that 2014 is off to a great start for you. Best wishes - Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed with kids for three nights. Very handy location, 1 minute walk to the lake, right at the main road, but not noisy at all. Easy 5 mins drive to the centre of Taupo.
Staff soooo friendly and helpful.
The rooms are tidy, furniture in retro style. Spa bath cool, with complementary levandel oil provided.
Kitchen well equipped. Shared barbie with all the required gear provided.
Well recommended.

Room Tip: No. 7 is ideal with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schubi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thanks so much for your review. We enjoyed meeting you all, and your family visiting from overseas. Great to see the BBQ area getting a lot of use this summer, and the trampoline too. Hope to see you for more holidays in Taupo sometime. All the best for the year ahead - Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

What a brilliant place to stay. We stayed in the Nook, which is exactly what it says - tucked away in the corner, but still very comfortable with en-suite and kitchenette. It also has it own very private little patio, and with communal braai (BBQ for the rest of you) facilities and only 3kms along the lake from town this was incredible value for money.

The reception was definitely the friendliest we got thus far on our trip with plenty of free tourist advice.

Keep up the great work - if we ever end up at this end of the world again, we will stay here without a doubt!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pieter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hi Pieter D, and happy New Year! We love discussing guest plans - there's always too much to do and too little time, and we're happy to help. Thanks for staying with us in The Nook, and for your kind comments. Maybe we will get to host you again at this end of the world one day? Kind regards, Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stay just before Christmas and we didn't want to leave. Great atmosphere, great staff and comfort all around. Excellent location. We love it.
Very accessible if you want to wet to the lake as it is situated next to it.

Worth staying there for more than a couple of days.

Great vacations!!!!!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Cecihego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We feel privileged that your stay at Cottage Mews prompted your first ever Trip Advisor review! Thank you very much. We hope to see you again when you're next in Taupo. For now, we wish you a happy start to 2014. Kind regards, Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We turned up without a reservation in deepest mid-winter and were surprised to find this place almost full! This meant we had to take a slightly more expensive room that we'd intended but it was well worth it. The spa bath was lovely, the bed comfortable, the wifi good and the welcome was as warm as the room! The room also had cooking facilities, but we didn't use them as we decided to head into town for a curry.

If I'm nitpicking, the decor was a little old fashioned but that didn't bother us.

Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willgo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hi Willgo79. It's hard to imagine deepest midwinter at the moment, with the sun shining and the lakefront buzzing with summer visitors. Come again! Many thanks for posting feedback. Every review is important, and for you to take the time several months after your stay - and on New Year's Day - is much appreciated. Kind regards, Julie and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 68 in Taupo
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: £75 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing