We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the lake; hot tub in the master bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Right on the lake; hot tub in the master bedroom”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Cottage Mews gets five stars for the smile on my mum's face when she saw that her room had a hot tub. On top of that, they are located on the shore of Lake Taupo; the rooms are well equipped and clean and the beds are very comfortable. A cut above the average motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thanks jamiddlebrook, our spa baths are kind of quirky and we're glad your Mum liked hers. We do appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    145
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
200
384
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A very well equipped, comfortable motel in good location. We had spa bath, patio and a pathway leading to the lake next to our room. This is a family run business and Julie, the proprietor made us very welcome and works hard to make sure her guests have all the information they need offering advice on local attractions restaurants etc. she provided menus of local establishments, made a restaurant booking and as it was raining provided umbrellas.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hi Lynda - hope you are enjoying some more good New Zealand wines on your travels. Thank you for your great review. Yes, you definitely needed umbrellas for the 5-minute walk (run!) down the road to the restaurant - it's been a temperamental summer this year. Hope you have stunning weather for those scenic South Island train trips. Kind regards - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. This place is actually my favourite out of all of the motels and lodgings in NZ. The owners were the NICEST people, and you can just tell they love what they do (i.e. they are highly motivated towards delivering excellent service). I will list all the things I loved about this place:
- Proximity to Lake Taupo
- Knowledge of staff about the area and engagement with local businesses, e.g. free drink vouchers at a really nice restaurant in town
- Garden BBQ
- Cute and stylish building with landscape gardens (lots of lavender too)
- Spa in the room!!
- Room service actually wash your dishes
- Courtyard, which could be a little more private if they added some hedges / trees

The location is about a 30-40 minute walk to town, which I don't mind at all. It's a scenic walk and can get windy. The only thing about Taupo is I found it got a bit confusing when it came to what to do in the area in terms of hiking. It took a while to figure the maps and tracks out, but there's iSite centres all around that can help.

NZ is a wonderful location for families, backpackers, couples or just solo travelling. It can be as relaxed or adventurous as one desires. The scenery is stunning, the roads are straight making it easy to get from one location to another and the people are super, SUPER friendly and hospitable.

I encourage everyone to go to NZ both north and south island to see postcard landscapes and meet the happiest people you probably wouldn't otherwise experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJP_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Phew - thanks so much for your detailed review Amanda. Come and see us again one day - maybe for an anniversary! We do appreciate your comments, they help us out a lot. Loved having you stay - we always feel privileged when honeymooners choose Cottage Mews. Glad you have such good memories of your time in New Zealand. Oh - and more courtyard planting happening soon, just waiting to get a new boundary fence built in the autumn and then Terry will be in his element redesigning the gardens. Very best wishes - Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Acommodation is easy to find, on the main road through Taupo (just before the town if you're coming from Wellington, on the left).

The proprietor was _very_ pleasant and welcoming, and gave us good advice on restaurants and things to do in Taupo.

The room was clean and good-sized, and the spa-bath was excellent. The motel has a little path down to the lake, and we walked down there and had a quick dip. Cold but refreshing.

There is free wifi, which was useful. There are some bandwidth issues at peak times, but late evening/early morning was fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rustyskates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you Rustyskates for your positive comments. Good on you for taking a dip in the lake! Thanks for the feedback on the wifi also - free access to the internet is really important to travellers now and we are happy to provide it. All the best - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband, daughter and I, visiting NZ from the U.S.A.,recently spent one night at the Cottage Mews Motel. We arrived later in the evening than we had originally planned, but Julie and her husband were waiting for us and extremely welcoming and helpful. The room was very pleasant, clean and comfortable, and we were sorry that we were only spending one night. But what most impressed me was that after we left, Julie emailed me to let me know that I'd forgotten an article of clothing in the room. I told her that I would like to pay her to send it back to me in the U.S., but she very kindly sent it at her own expense. How many places would you have to go to find hospitality like that? This is a lovely motel, run by amazing people!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We were just sorry you couldn't stay a bit longer Felicity! Thanks for posting a review. I hope that your package has almost made it home to Oklahoma by now - it was no trouble at all. Hope you have great memories of all your Kiwi adventures. Kind regards, Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I am an enthusiastic return visitor to Cottage Mews. The staff are so friendly and hospitable, units well equipped and spotless, many with private outside seating and garden area. Great swimming on your doorstep. Loving the nook - so private, with everything I need for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2C2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thanks for your positive review D, especially as it is your first on Trip Advisor! Lovely to catch up with you again, and hopefully it won't be too long till next time. Best wishes - Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Julie and her family are as friendly and gracious as any innkeepers we have met. Our room was very comfortable, spotless, well located by the lake, and reasonably priced. Although it is not a B and B, we did arrange for breakfast to be brought to our room. Delicious and reasonably priced. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MewsTaupo, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you Chuck and Felicia for your comments. We enjoyed meeting you and hope that the mountain experience was all you imagined and more. All the best for future travels and the rest of your time in New Zealand. Kind regards, Julie and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,063 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Property: The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing