We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobblestone Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cobblestone Court Motel
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My family I have just returned from a last minute short stay in Tauranga. We chose Cobblestone Court for it's great looking one bed apartment and we were glad it lived up to it's photos...and more. The hosts Jim and Emily couldn't have been more helpful, the rooms were spotless and had everything you could need. We were delighted after coming back from an evening swim at the hotpools to find a great fan heater that warmed the place up in minutes. Menus of local restaurants were a great idea. It was perfectly located for us, being between the mount and the city...and had a great little patio area out the back ...ideal for the kids to have breakfast. Would definitely come back again, and will be recommending to friends heading this way!

Room Tip: One bed apartment had 1 queen and a single in living room, and two singles in bedroom so great for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Owner at Cobblestone Court Motel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a Review. What a shame you could only stay for 1 night. We look forward to hosting you again and we are pleased - firstly that you found our property spotlessly clean. We shall pass on your feedback to the Housekeeping Staff who take great pride in their work. Secondly that you found all the information you needed, either from Emily and I or from the information in the Room Compendium. Thirdly we are glad that you found our location perfect for you. Look forward to seeing you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    33
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
33
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The host was very friendly and helpful, he brought us over a extra heater as it was areal cold night. Everything was clean and tidy and shower had good water pressure. Thought they maybe some street noise but it was ok.

We had a one bedroom unit but the bedroom had a 2 x single beds in it and a double bed in the lounge. I felt this was a little bit of a rip off, and have never come across it before, most one bedroom units have a double in the bedroom and a single and couch in lounge, what we really had was a studio unit with a spare room.

Pretty average

Room Tip: Don't get a one bedroom unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Owner at Cobblestone Court Motel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a Review. We are pleased that you found our accommodation clean & warm and that you enjoyed our hospitality. We are sorry that you did not find the room configuration to your liking. Feedback given to us by the many families who choose to stay in our 1 Bedroom Units, is that having the single beds in the separate bedroom works well for them but we can understand that this might not be what you were anticipating. We welcome our Guests to contact us directly before they make a Booking if they wish to discuss the room configurations or any aspect of our property. This gives us the opportunity to ensure that you chose a room which is right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent three nights at the Cobblestone Court Motel and we were pleasantly surprised at how lovely it was. The owner was extremely friendly and it appeared that , not only was nothing too much trouble for him, but he really enjoyed his job! The Executive Studio was well equipped with everything needed to create simple meals, which was great as we enjoy self catering.There were several excellent walks in close proximity to the motel and anything else required was a short drive away. Tauranga and the neighbouring Mt Maunganui are lovely small towns. We plan to return to Cobblestone Court with extended family another time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ghenna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Owner at Cobblestone Court Motel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic Review ! Why wouldn't I love my job ? We live in one of the most beautiful parts of the world and as a bonus we get to meet lovely & interesting people like yourselves. Helping our Guests make the most of their time here in the Bay of Plenty is such a rewarding part of this business. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Cobblestone Court Motel and are thrilled that you will be coming back next year with the extended family. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Host Jim was a very nice guy and made our stay wonderful
For our first time in New Zealand we appreciated his knowledge of the local area ie where to eat and what to see
Highly recommended Great Motel

Room Tip: Quiet area all round loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Owner at Cobblestone Court Motel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Paul. Thanks for taking the time to write a Review. We are pleased that we were able to add to your positive holiday experience in NZ. We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and made it safely back to Oz. Hope to see you back here at Cobblestone Court Motel, Tauranga some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very quiet and tranquil location. The rooms would benefit from some updating but they were clean and comfortable. Super friendly owner with helpful recommendations and maps! Laundry on sight for $4 per wash and dry with free detergent available for use.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JStewey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Owner at Cobblestone Court Motel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a Review. We are pleased that you found your stay at Cobblestone Court Motel to be a positive experience. While our property is an older style, we continue to work through an updating program, concentrating on our Studios. As you mentioned, cleanliness is a big factor and we are proud of the way we present our Units. Hope to see you back in Tauranga some day in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband, adult son, and I spent one night here in the 3-bedroom unit and were very pleased. The master bedroom had 1 queen (innerspring mattress) and 1 twin (nice for placing luggage at waste level), and a desk. The 2 other bedrooms had 2 twin beds each. The living area has 2 couches and a 40" flat screen SAT TV. WI-Fi is also available and free. The kitchen has a 4 burner electric stove with oven, a full size refrigerator and microwave. The dining table seats 7. The bathroom has only overhead lighting with a window over the sink and a mirror to the side. 2 towel bars are present and a hairdryer and a large walk-in shower. Parking is free and directly outside the unit. The unit was very clean. It was conveniently located about a 5 min. drive from the main street of town (population 116,000) with lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Owner at Cobblestone Court Motel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to right such a wonderful & comprehensive review. There is nothing that potential guests like more than "real time" 1st hand information such as you have provided. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our 3 Bedroom Family Unit and hope that you one day get the chance to come back to Tauranga again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northam, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night during a brief tour of the North Island. Jim is a really nice man, very helpful and gave us advice on interesting places to visit. He recommended the Raft restaurant which is a short walk back over the bridge, which was a great call. The food was beautiful. The room, while somewhat dated, was very clean, spacious and comfortable, and we enjoyed our stay here. Would highly recommend this motel as great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alpaca1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Owner at Cobblestone Court Motel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
It is always pleasing to hear that if we have made a recommendation to our Guests that they have enjoyed the experience. The Raft has only recently reopened after a complete makeover. We sampled this Restaurant ourselves and found it highly worthy of recommending. The fact that it is a short, pleasant 10 minute walk from the front door at Cobblestone Court Motel is an added bonus. Thanks for taking the time to leave a Review and we hope to see you back here one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
2.0 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bethlehem Motor Inn and Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#25 of 57 in Tauranga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobblestone Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblestone Court Motel

Property: Cobblestone Court Motel
Address: 86 Chapel Street | Otumoetai, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobblestone Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jim and Emily offer quality accommodation in beautiful manicured grounds. Each unit leads out to individual patios set in a comfortable private garden area. All units have access to our FREE Wireless Internet and over 20 Freeview channels with SKY sports and movies. The CBD, Marina, shopping centres, bus terminal, bars & cafes are all 5 minutes away. The Tauranga airport is just over the harbour bridge and we can offer free courtesy pick-up and drop-offs for up to 4 people. The Otumoetai Golf Course is within a few minutes walk. Alongside we also have 3 cafes (The Raft, Le Petit Four Patisserie and The Chapel Cafe) on the Briscoes shopping complex at 65 Chapel Street. Countdown Supermarket and the fantastic Bureta Bar & Eatery are less than 5 minutes walk from our door.The region offers a wealth of activities and excursions with the beaches, estuary and boardwalks, watersports and sightseeing. Simply ask us and we can either organize these for you or steer you in the right direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cobblestone Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing