We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bennett's Thermal Pools Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Baywatch Motor Inn(Mount Maunganui)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel on Devonport(Tauranga)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cobblestone Court Motel(Tauranga)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers(Mount Maunganui)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$164
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel(Tauranga)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Motor Lodge(Tauranga)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquarius Motor Inn(Mount Maunganui)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Motor Inn(Mount Maunganui)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gateway Motor Inn(Mount Maunganui)(Great Value!)
US$114
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
49
37
12
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
37
12
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmineral poolprivate spahot tubelectric frypanrooms were clean and tidybit datedsliding doortwo single bedsstayed here for one nighta great place to staynew ownersliving roomshort drivejohntrampolineunitmotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We had seen great reviews so pre booked a thermal family unit for a family of five. Due to Hotels.com application booking error we got a normal family unit instead. John, the owner, went to great lengths to explain and accommodate us anyway, which was greatly appreciated.
The room we were given (unit #6) was directly on the street next to a main road. The noise level meant we had to sleep with windows closed and earplugs. The unit was very hot and all beds (mattresses) had very uncomfortable mattresses with noticeable hard springs, so unfortunately we can't rate the stay as highly was we would like to relative to other family accommodation we have stayed in over the last 3 weeks in NZ.
On the up side, the unit did have a renovated spa bath upstairs, which looked clean and modern.
The unit might have been designed for a family of four. The kitchen was equipped with chairs, plates, utensils for only 4, although we paid for a unit for 5. There was only one pot and no oven (only microwave), so the kitchen was not on a par with our other family unit stays.
Just like other reviewers we would like to point out that John was very helpful and friendly - perhaps this unit is not the usual standard.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Kmdlqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BennettsManagement, Owner at Bennett's Thermal Pools Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Hi Folks, Once again I apologize on behalf of Hotels.com, the same thing happened again last night. I always suggest guests book directly with the motels especially in very busy times, speaking with a human can certainly eliminate errors such as these. As you were aware # 6 was our last available room that night, we do try and avoid selling it for that exact reason, however there most certainly should have been five of everything in the draws to match the # of beds in the room so please accept my apologies on that one. As a rule moteliers are more that happy to hear about anything that's not right, giving them the opportunity to correct it.
Kind Regatrds
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The bennetts was very welcoming. The room was clean with a great thermal spa to relax in.
The manager was so friendly, as we couldnt reach by foot a shop with beer he kindly offered us two of his own nz beers (macs gold) .
Great facilities including nice pool and close to see and mount.
We would definately recommend this place for a stay!
Thanks for all. bart and ann :-) belgium!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bart t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BennettsManagement, Owner at Bennett's Thermal Pools Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thanks guys for your kind words, it was absolutely my pleasure to shout you a beer. When your back home enjoying a cold one, spare us a thought as we battle through a busy summer season.
Once again many thanks and I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Fabulous stay - our unit was well back from the road so no traffic noise, loved the private thermal spa outside the bedroom. As we were in Taurange competing in a sporting event the hot spa really helped ease the aching body. The new owners have plans for upgrading however the units were comfortable, clean and tidy. Bennetts is in a central location which was perfect for us. John, the motel owner was very friendly and went above and beyond to be helpful. But get this - the cleaners found $20 in our unit after we left so John posted it to me!! :) Didn't have time this trip but looking forward to going back to try out the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3kiwigirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BennettsManagement, Owner at Bennett's Thermal Pools Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for your great review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you upon your next visit to Tauranga.
Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Even I am late to write review about how our first settlement in Tauranga came to pass, I thanks to Bennett, how you guys have helped us by guiding us. It was not only business deal for them but it was in general very gentle help to me and my family for their guide to put our-self in better place in Tauranga in those three days of our stay in Bennett's with my wife and three children. It could never be second stay if we were not happy with first one night stay in this family friendly and reasonable motel in Tauranga. Manager of Inn is just very service oriented person, their hospitality is very good, 10 out of 10. Sorry to say, my children just mess the room like anything but their every day room cleaning service bring it back to normal to enjoy our further stay. We had family unit, me and my wife just enjoyed the spa in our room, not to describe about hot swimming pool, children just loved it. We recommend just for all kind of people, whether family with children or just couple. It is good to spend atleast night. We will be back just to have some good time again. Thanks John & Puja

Room Tip: For family and couple, just best place
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BennettsManagement, Owner at Bennett's Thermal Pools Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thanks so much for your kind review John, I trust your family will love settling in Tauranga and I wish you all the best.
Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A surprisingly central location to the district and we were using the public transport. Not a fancy new complex but we were very comfortable here and loved the mineral pool and outdoor swimming pool and that's in winter. Normally we try different motels in our travels but as for Tauranga we know where we want to stay. Thanks John for your extra assistance and as per conversation we have made to donation to a local wildlife initiative. Darryl & Tania

Room Tip: If you like a good hot soak get a thermal pool and unit away from the road.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BennettsManagement, Owner at Bennett's Thermal Pools Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Hi Folks,
Thanks so much for your glowing review, we do try to please all our guests and are really please you enjoyed your week-long stay with us.
Kind Regards
John & Erin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews