We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place / hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great place / hosts”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

One of the best places we've stayed thanks to our hosts! Clean, spacious room, good location. Special thanks for all the recommendations. Hope to see you guys again in the future, if i ever go back to NZ surely will stay there.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brit800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate your comments regarding the clean room, we will make sure our staff are given your feedback. As a team they are very proud of what they do in cleaning and servicing their rooms because we have developed a good team culture where staff understand that for guests it is about the whole experience of being at our motel. Glad to hear you enjoyed Tauranga so much that you would consider coming back again. This is a great place to spend two or three days and use Tauranga as a base to see the region because it has great beaches, walks, lot's of activities and a large selection of restaurants. So if you ever come back to NZ we would love the privilege of hosting you again. kind regards, Lorraine and Athol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    62
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
99
11
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Although I had only one night there and work booked my accommodation, I really enjoyed my time there. Great facilities that were clean and lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Hi Darcy,Thank you for your positive comments on the cleanliness of the room. I will pass that feedback on to our housekeeping staff who know how important it is to commit to being responsible with their rooms and doing the best that they can do each time. Glad you found staff helpful and friendly as we have attempted to build a real team culture to ensure that each guest feels appreciated. Without you staying and more importantly returning for a second and third stay we would'nt have a business. We appreciate your support and hope to host you again soon. kind regards Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Booked this room based on features and other past reviews and it left a little to be desired. Rooms were clean and well maintained but there was not much more to them. I was satisfied with what i got but there is not much more on offer, the pool was out of commission, the road noise disturbing and the spa-bath that was on offer was a tub with two jetts... not quite a feature i would advertise to clients. Not poor by any stretch but definitly a 3 star in my view.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chadvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hi Chad, Thanks for your positive comments that the rooms were clean and well maintained. So you gave us a 4 out of 5 for that thanks. I take your point that you only gave us 2 out of 5 for value that's probably true. As a single corporate business traveller your best priced solution would have been one of our king or queen studio units which definitely represent better value for single guests whereas the one bedroom units are better value for 2 to 4 guests. The pool was out of commission for 12 days, the first time ever in 18 years or so to be re-lined. A new blue fibreglass shell was sprayed on Monday this week & on Wed 4 Dec it was filled - see photo in Trip Advisor gallery, we even had guests swimming at 7am this morning, sorry for the timing. The studio units with double spa baths (4 jets) are the most popular and are usually sold out. The road noise can be NIL somedays but if you are a light sleeper you can easily request a room away from the road like some of our regulars, no problem, regards Athol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

An appealing, well appointed, modern and fastidiously run establishment situated in the heart of lively Tauranga city. Walking distance to everything you'll need, cafes, supermarkets, restaurants etc. Managed by exceptional hosts who are an absolute tribute to the motel industry. Despite our list of unusual requirements that would be a challenge for most that included different room configurations, preferably next to each other, on the same floor with different check in/out times, not to mention several changes along the way, was all met with a smile and no worries mate... not an extra charge in sight!!! Athol even stayed up till 2am making sure one of our crew got his keys left for safekeeping..and helped us tremendously with our rather large project again at no extra cost !!! It was very handy that they were knowledgeable on where to go, what to do and even what you could eat ... nothing like local knowledge to get you going in the right direction. Highly recommend a stay at Macy's with these awesome folks who go out of their way to keep you comfortable and happy for a very competitive price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vino464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hi Vino,
Wow, Thank you so much for your very kind words about your stay at Macy's Motor Inn. Glad you found the room and that the location suited you. It was a pleasure to host you and yes while we do have office hours we know that sometimes late arrivals cannot be avoided. You were our guests so it was my privilege to be hosting you and ensuring that your stay was a pleasant one, after all you pay me to stay and therefore without you and other guests walking through the door I truly would not have a business. I hope we get the chance to host you again soon. At Easter weekend Tauranga is host to the National Jazz Festival and it is one of my favourite events of the many we host that go on all year around, maybe then ?? kind regards, Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Motel under Asure, is well maintained and clean. The service provided is good, but it is not worth the $160/ we paid for 3 adults. We could have secured a similar room in another motel for $120/ or less but we were too tired to look for it. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Choose another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenny700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Hi Lenny, Thanks for your review. You selected us & pre-paid for a booking with the local tourism office who phoned a number of motels on your behalf before you selected to stay with us & pre-paid them. We are listed with them as an approved Four Star Qualmark hotel. Thanks for your comments that the motel is well maintained and clean & that we provided a good service to you. The rates you paid ($160 for one night) are very much in line for the level of hotel that we are graded for & are even a little more competitive than some of the motels with similar rating. Knowing all the motels in Tauranga I do not know any that charge $120 a night for 3 adults sharing so I am sorry that you felt that our rates was not worth the stay maybe you should have taken that offer. We had a cheerful and friendly chat before you left & what I do remember is that the only thing you were unhappy about was there was no hook behind the door in the bathroom for your clothes. We are looking into putting a hook behind the door but most guests have in the past considered the two towels rails sufficient for them but we appreciate your input. kind regards, Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Bed a little hard and a bit of road noise. Staff were friendly and helpful. Place was clean and tidy. Good tv and shower pressure was very good, would stay again. Room was warm, no noise from other rooms

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi Cameron, Thanks for staying with us for the first time and thank you for your feedback. We have four rooms that are alongside 11th Ave and they have double glazing on the windows to reduce the noise. Many days it's as quiet as, but now and again there can be some road noise. If you are a light sleeper next time we can put you in rooms away from the road, please just ask on check-in. Glad you found us friendly & helpful & that the rooms were clean & tidy. I agree the shower pressure here is amazing, love it. Sorry that you found the bed a little too firm, we have gone through a process of bed replacement from time to time to ensure we have good quality sleep experiences for our guests. I also suffer from a back problem and have to watch that I don't sleep on a bed that is either too soft or too hard so can sympathise and identify with you. Lets try a different room next time and I am sure we can fix that on your next stay. Regards Athol & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Having not booked anywhere in advance I was fortunate enough to pick Asure Macy's Motor Inn at random, and couldn't have been happier with the welcome I received and the facilities on offer. They aske dme my requirements and went the extra mile to make sure they were met, without trying to upsell me to larger/more expensive options. The pool is just gorgeous, the amenities are modern and comfortable, and the TV offered plenty of channel options for the bored traveller! I will definitely be back next time I'm in Tauranga.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldboki, Owner at ASURE Macy's Motor Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi Kelly, Thanks for your positive comments about your stay at Macy's. Glad you enjoyed the pool, when you next visit we will have a brand new pool which is being installed as we speak. It will now be a more sparkly blue - it was due for re-lining which will be completed in time for the summer season. Will pass on your comments to the dedicated housekeeping staff who make sure the rooms are all up to expectations every day. We look forward to hosting you when you next visit Tauranga and the Bay of Plenty. We do appreciate your feedback as we do have a hosting approach to try and make sure that each guest leaves here knowing that our main goal is to take care of you whilst you stay with us - without happy and returning guest's we would not have a business, kind regards, Athol & Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
1.0 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
520 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#27 of 57 in Tauranga
298 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Macy's Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Macy's Motor Inn

Property: ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
Address: 96 Edgecumbe Road | cnr 11th Avenue, Tauranga 3144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ASURE Macy's Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 comfortable units in total, 10 Studio units, 9 x One bedroom units, 2 spacious two bedroom units, 2 Access units. All units have 32" hi-res LCD TV, SKY (9 channels, Freeview, DVD's avail. Double or single spa baths in all units. Limited Free wi-fi available. Swimming pool and BBQ facilities. less than 10 minutes drive to natural thermal hot pools,NZ's best beach(Trip Advisor). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ASURE Macy's Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing