We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strand Motel”
Review of Strand Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strand Motel
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Marvellous location; great hosts; stayed for 4 nights; car under cover; rooms serviced daily; wonderfull price, what more could you ask for!! So close to all the eateries /bars shopping etc that you can walk, enjoying the scenery & sights & not worry about the car; Allan & Colleen were the perfect hosts & certainly made our stay that much more enjoyable. We have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this motel & know where to go next time we are in Tauranga. At the end of the day all you want is a place that is clean & tidy & a place to get your head down & this motel did all that for a very good price which left more funds to enjoy the cafes etc.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is the first time that we have ever stayed close into town and next time we will stick to the outer edges a bit more. We stayed in a studio unit and it was tiny indeed. There were dishes for eating meals in the room along with a microwave but we found it hard to wash the dishes in the hand basin in the bathroom and it needed two people to do this as one needed to hold the dish so that the other with the teatowel could grab it and dry it! This complex seriously needs some money spent on it. We stayed upstairs and the stairway did not seem very solid to me. Until after 2 in the morning we could hear people in the street and traffic noises. I would not recommend this motel if you wanted a relaxed evening in a nicely appointed room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank teachernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Unit was our smallest which has tea/coffee making facility only but we promote good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I saw some less than complimentary reviews of this motel, and I can't understand why! Allan and Colleen were wonderful hosts, making sure we had everything we needed. They helped us with our laundry, showed us where to go for fun, and for fish'n'chips, stored our gear while we went to eat said F'n'Cs, gave us free wifi. The room was clean and tidy (each room has its own colourful mural) and the bed very comfortable. Definitely not musty or damp! Sure it's in the Moderate class of motel and is a little dated, doesn't try to be the Hilton - but for value for money it can't be beat. Can't say I noticed any noise particularly, but I'm a deep sleeper. It is, after all, in the heart of the city, and by the railway line, so you have to expect some noise. Being right in the city was a definite plus for us.

Room Tip: Choose downstairs rooms if you have climbing issues, although it is only two storeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Again guest`s who understand completely what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The best thing about this motel is that it is close to the action, all the shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. I liked the owner's a lot they are very friendly. They even gave me a free internet card so I check my email. If you want luxury in Tauranga you are going to pay for it. Yes, I looked at Sebel Trinity which was $199 NZ for a non water view, and the Hotel on Davenport was $175 NZ for a non water view the night I wanted to stay. The Hotel on Davenport looked very nice. However we checked with the Strand Motel and it was only $90NZ. We decided that we could have a nice dinner for the difference in price and not stay in the room much. Sometimes it is nice to save a little money. We were happy with our decision. We went to the Fish and Chips place across the train tracks and brought it back to the place and enjoyed our wine we purchased in Havelock and ate our dinner on the kitchen table. Then we went out and walked around the town. It was a clean, moderate motel. yes it could use and update but the price was right and it worked for us for 1 night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bcogswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Another satisfied guest who used the money they would have paid to another motel on themselves and accepted a motel, though dated, offered...good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The only good thing you could say about this place is the price - it was cheap. The room we stayed in had breeze block walls and it felt as though we were staying in a garage. The room was damp and musty and grubby, we didn't even like using the kitchen facilities and couldn't wait to leave next morning as early as possible. Needs money spending on it to upgrade it to a reasonable standard - especially the shower room/loo area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepiddu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Contrary to what we pride ourselves on (this review) but we continue to promote; good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Just got back from an almost two week stay at the Strand and loved it.
Granted the proximity to train tracks and the central nightlife area means there can be quite some noise at times but owners warn of this beforehand
Nevertheless we found it a great place to stay. The decor was a little dated but other than everything was more than satisfactory. Clean and neat, with all the necessary amenities. More than enough dishes, utensils and kitchen gadgets. Large sink, microwave, ceramic cooktop and fridge, with lots of kitchen storage space.

Only issue we had was it got quite warm especially at nights and opening windows to let in the cool air sometimes also came with the smoky smell of those getting their nightime nicotine fix, but guess that cant be helped.

The location was the best feature especially for those wanting to cook their own meals like us. Across the road is the Fish Market, which is always busy all day long and is open quite late too, closing at about 7pm most days. The made to order fish and chips seem to be the most popular and are quite generous servings too. Also can buy seafood to cook yourself and then pop back across the road to cook it fresh like we did the delicious salmon. Next block over and a minutes walk away is the best little fresh fruits and vegetable shop, prices were some of the cheapest around. There are several markets in the area, but what I wish I had gone to was the early Saturday market. The supermarkets are a couple minutes drive away but since we didnt have a car the owners kindly arranged for us to get a lift to the supermarket. Also fresh towels every day and an additional nice gesture was the daily paper delivery.

Other than that, the Strand is very close to the main bus depot, 2 min stroll away, and buses towards the supermarket, neighbouring suburbs and the Mount leave regularly. The central city area and a wide range of shops, eateries, banks, post office, souvenir shops are all literally down the road.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WanderingRose_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed in the Strand Motel a few months ago, in March 2011. We were staying in Tauranga for a Wedding, and wanted somewhere inexpensive that was close to town. The Strand Motel was just that - great value for money, and situated right in town. Whilst the accommodation itself is fairly basic, our unit was clean and the owners were so accommodating - very helpful when we needed directions, had to order a taxi etc. If you are after a budget place to stay, that is clean, well run and close to the Tauranga nightlife - I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMW255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#23 of 57 in Tauranga
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#9 of 57 in Tauranga
313 reviews
1.9 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
#17 of 57 in Tauranga
236 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blue Haven Motel
Blue Haven Motel
#6 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
59 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#11 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Motel

Address: 27 The Strand, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: £57 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Strand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing