We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid friday night,!!!”
Review of Strand Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strand Motel
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Very cheap motel, well placed, great courtesy.....but...
Avoid the friday night, there is a nightclub just a few meters from the motel....
I had an hawfull night!
Boum boum all the night untill 4 am on saturday!
Drunk people with bottle a few meter from the motel...
And the railway is very close...
Every 2 or 3 hours is the train!

If you doesnt matter off the noise, it is a good deal.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pv2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Manager at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Good to see the positive comments in regards to the negative our listing with AA and Jasons Travel advises searchers of our central location which is prone to a combination of noise issues. The night pertaining to this review related to NZ`s "autumn break" when students have a 2 week holiday and tend to let their hair down a bit and the music is often louder then usual. The nightclub mentioned is actually more then 100 metres from the motel. And yes the reviewer is correct if you can handle a bit of noise the location and price is great value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed at the Strand with my wife in mid february on our trip up the North Island. We booked it because it was in the centre of Tauranga close to the waterfront and resturants. Don`t be put off by the negative comments, the trains were not a problem and the value for the location is fantastic. The room was clean with all the facities you need albeit a little dated but the cost could not be better and the owners were lvely people. We will stay there again on our next trip to NZ in a couple of years

Room Tip: Chose a room at the back just in case the trains might wake you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The building is dated, but is very clean and $85 a night with cooking facilities. The view out to the bay is magnificent and the hosts lovely. Walking distance to great pubs and shops. Not flash but a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Apart from the age of the building its always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were desperate for a place to stay, all the backpackers were full and the one available looked dodgey and all the motels were $100 or over then we saw the sign for this place, had a look at reviews, noticed the train tracks but we had zero other options.
We were given a ground floor room behind the front ones. It was a Sunday night. Very quiet - I figured there must have been an airport nearby as we could hear the planes overhead. We actually really liked the place and the train woke us up once during the night but we went back to sleep. AND even better, walking distance to the restaurants. We had our car parked onsite and it was awesome to be able to walk to get dinner.
It had everything we wanted - it's a little dated but remember! If it looks great you'll be paying more! Shower was good, bed was comfy, tv was new. No complaints here.

Room Tip: Ground floor units probably quieter than the ones bordering the street. They are bigger though so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

The odd train can be a bit noisy at times but again its always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

It's true what everybody has said about the nightlife nearby and the train across the street...this could be annoying for a light sleeper. Bed was a tad hard for my like but none the less I slept well all things considered. Room as clean and hosts were fantastic. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Again always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

First off, we were warned almost extensively about the noise, and we could still have left and went to another much more expensive motel, but we decided we would stay, it was a Saturday and the noise is only in the weekend, so if people are staying during the week it's much quieter then I suppose! Also if you come for the night life I think this is a great hotel, because you are so close to the clubs. The beds and unit were clean, yes they are not new and modern but you can see that from the outside! What do people expect for 95 dollars? Hilton? Milk for tea was included, there was a large almost soundless fan in the room and very friendly people at the desk. Good parking off the road too. If we'd be coming to Tauranga during the week I would book again.

Room Tip: They have a huge upstairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Marvellous location; great hosts; stayed for 4 nights; car under cover; rooms serviced daily; wonderfull price, what more could you ask for!! So close to all the eateries /bars shopping etc that you can walk, enjoying the scenery & sights & not worry about the car; Allan & Colleen were the perfect hosts & certainly made our stay that much more enjoyable. We have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this motel & know where to go next time we are in Tauranga. At the end of the day all you want is a place that is clean & tidy & a place to get your head down & this motel did all that for a very good price which left more funds to enjoy the cafes etc.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strandmotel, Owner at Strand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Always good to hear from people who measure our offer on what we promote; Good clean affordable accommodation in the heart of the city with harbour views and as hosts we try very hard to ensure our guests have all the help and information they need during their stay. Colleen and Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#22 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour City Motor Inn
Harbour City Motor Inn
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roselands Motel
Roselands Motel
#14 of 57 in Tauranga
55 reviews
1.3 mi away
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
#17 of 57 in Tauranga
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Motel

Address: 27 The Strand, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: £58 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing