We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat away!”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed out stay with Tim and Debbie at Mount Tutu! We actually stayed here in June 2011, but we've been busy so didn't get around to writing reviews from our trip until now. Mount Tutu is only a 15-20 minute drive into town, but when you get back to your private cabin, it feels like you are a world away, with nature at every turn. Tim and Debbie took us on a fantastic night hike to see glowworms right in their backyard! How cool is that! The next day, they lead us through another part of their property, where we really got to enjoy some of the native flora that New Zealand has to offer. We even got to meet their awesome sheep. We stayed two nights, and wished it could have been longer. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This place is like a hidden treasure! You travel up into the clouds and just when you think you can't go any further, Mount Tutu appears hidden in the bush. Paradise is right! You travel back through a small tree lined road to your lil' cottage that awaits. Tim and Debbie met us at the door and the two of them couldn't have been sweeter. We sat down immediately to a cup of tea and lemon cake and Tim was anxious to show off his beautiful land. We met them when dark came upon the sky and we found ourselves slipping into Welly's and heading down into the creek. Little did we know, we'd be walking amongst the stars. Our own personal tour of the glowworms left us in awe. No picture can do this justice, but the memory will last a lifetime. The accommodation was fairly basic, but you don't come here for spa treatments and wifi compatibility. You come here for an experience you can't get anywhere else. The next morning we woke to a home cooked breaki and hike through the bush. We left wanting more, which is exactly what you want on a vacation from the norm. Thank you Tim and Debbie! - Brian and Lisa

Room Tip: Either plan a dinner with Tim and Debbie or bring your own. You are a good 20 minute drive to civili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountTutuEcoTauranga, Owner at Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for the lovely words. So enchanted to share a "Step in Time". We actually do have Wi-fi so have now put this on our website and have put up a sign. Thank you once again, Tim and Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Staying at Mount Tutu Eco Sanctuary was a great experience. Tim and Debbie were excellent hosts Their knowledge of and enthusiasm for the environment was very compelling. They have restored their land beautifully to native bush and have painstakingly created pathways through their land to allow you to explore their rainforest. The highlight for us was the magical glow worm tour which takes place in the evening when you don wellington boots and miners lamps and follow Debbie and Tim through the forest down to the stream. The magic moment comes when having walked along the stream, the lamps are turned off and thousands of glow worms are twinkling all around you. A truly unforgettable experience and one I would recommend you to experience for yourselves. gail and varinder 2012

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary will make you feel you are in the middle of a beautiful rainforest, but with all the comforts of a motel/B&B. The hosts are incredibly informative and friendly, the breakfast substantial and the area just breathtaking. We were really surprised and pleased that this lodge was only 20minutes from Tauranga, so there is no need to stay in the city when you have this hidden gem! Rooms are basic but have everything you need, it is so peaceful that you will no doubt have a fantastic sleep - we sure did! Great eco-credentials and the hosts are very involved in the local community which we thought was important.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecokeenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountTutuEcoTauranga, Owner at Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments.
Our Whare (rooms) offer a simplistic cosy and comfortable, close to nature encounter, that provide the following:
Free Wi-fi internet for email
Ensuite
External Decks'
Heating
Electric Blankets
Carpeted floors
Tea and Coffee facilities with biscuits and chocolates
Full linen
Fresh flowers
Nearby to Lounge exclusive to Guests
Retro decor styling (see images on website)
Rainforest tranquility and sound of birdsong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

If you want an unforgettable experience then stay at Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary. It's a beautiful place just outside of Tauranga. The owners, Tim and Debbie, made our stay exceptionally great. They were the perfect host and hostess. The guided tour of their backyard was fantastic! The evening glow worm tour was magical and unforgettable! Best to experience it yourself than to read about it. You wouldn't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meso2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

got this accommodation as a Christmas gift from my parents, was a beautiful setting and very relaxing. Had an amazing bed and the walk around the grounds was just breath taking! Plus the Tutu sheep were very beautiful. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,mass
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My wife and I spent a few days in the eco-sanctuary in March 2011. Reflecting on this experience one year later, we both feel that our stay at the lodge was one of the highlights of a fantastic vacation in New Zealand. Tim and Debby took us to see the glow worms on a magical night. The image of tiny dots of light pitched against the black of the river banks will be with us forever. I would guess that few people in the world know as much about Glow worms as Tim. He is great about sharing his expertise. Both Debby and Tim are 2 of the nicest people in the world. They both contribute so much to their community in so many ways and it was great hearing about their experiences. We found the cottages to be simple but sprinkled with Debbies love, care, and excellent taste. Although it was a bit of a drive from Tarangua it is well worth it. This was a truly unique homestay and I don't think that a trip to New Zealand would be complete without the experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharkfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
7.7 mi away
ASURE Harbour View Motel
ASURE Harbour View Motel
#1 of 26 in Tauranga
156 reviews
14.4 mi away
The French Country House
The French Country House
#1 of 45 in Tauranga
76 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Lodge
Eagle Ridge Lodge
#20 of 45 in Tauranga
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#3 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
175 reviews
8.9 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,080 reviews
10.7 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#3 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary

Property: Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary
Address: 1190 Ohauiti Road | RD 3, Tauranga 3173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in an enchanting "Bush Whare" with en-suite at an Eco-Lodge and Nature Retreat. Guests receive hearty breakfasts, evening Glow-Worm tour, Rainforest tour (included in tariff), and feed Mount Tutu sheep. Enjoy woodland/water gardens, Rainforest Bird Sanctuary, and awaken to bird song. Protected (QEII National Trust) paradise, with trees over 500 years old. Free Wi-Fi for email in Guest Lounge and some rooms. MICROWAVE & FRIDGE in Guest Lounge close to rooms, BBQ available. SPECIAL NZ$69.00 DISCOUNT WHEN STAYING SECOND NIGHT, PLEASE ENQUIRE. NO PHOTOS HAVE BEEN PHOTO-SHOPPED AND ARE A TRUE REPRESENTATION. We offer a rustic and authentic experience with the charm and hospitality of yesteryear. Accommodation is built using recycled materials (1970's retro decor) providing cosy and comfortable Whare (cabins) with ensuite and Family Room with separate private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing