We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable, in the middle of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour City Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and comfortable, in the middle of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

I stayed here with my partner for a couple of days. The rooms are quite spacious tidy and and comfortable. The motel is also very convenient close to the shops and cafe's. It can be a bit noisy at night though which you can expect in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahdb1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    46
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
64
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here in january 2011. The studio suite we stayed in was sparkling clean and modern and very large with a small kitchen which enabled us to self cater when we felt like it. The motel is very central to all the restaurants and bars (but was a little noisy on Saturday night but not too bad). The staff are very friendly and helpful. We would definately return to this motel and would highly reccomend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

We had a comfortable 4 day stay in a centrally situated motel with easy access to the city centre. Kindly upgraded at no additional cost to accomodate an accompanying elderly and disabled parent ,two teenagers and ourselves. Adequate parking and sunny units ,well presented and serviced. . We would recommend this facility having stayed in others around the city centre previously.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wobbls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Clean, spacious and warm with Sky TV! Bed a little uncomfortable with flat pillows but not too bad. Close to town which meant we got a few shouting yobs on Fri/Sat night going past at midnight but as we were right at the back of the complex it didn't really bother us. A few minutes stroll to restaurants, bars and the water front. Friendly and helpful hosts. Very nice in all.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

I have just stayed the the Harbour City Motor Inn with my husband and 5 month old daughter. The room was lovely exceptionally clean and spacious and had everything we needed for our two day stay. It was in a great location in the middle of town with plenty of nice places to eat and drink in, nearby. I would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollisHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Modern, clean, great managers, and the location within Tauranga for tourists cannot be beat. Bathroom was big! The room rates aren't super cheap exactly, but I feel like I got good value for money. Booking this motel is a no-brainer for me next time I'm in Tauranga.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

The Harbourcity Motor Inn was an excellent place to stay in Taruanga. It's located right in the heart of the city, a 1min walk from the local i-site, and less than 5 minutes from local cafe's and restaurants. The motel and rooms are modern and well presented, even offering a choice of milk upon arrival. The price was on the high side ($145), but not unreasonable considering we didn't book ahead and it was short notice in summer time.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shooter578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.7 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#28 of 57 in Tauranga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour City Motor Inn

Property: Harbour City Motor Inn
Address: 50 Wharf Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour City Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star plus upmarket motel in CBD. Opposite Baycourt Theatre. Close to Cafes & Restaurants. FREE wi-fi. 20 air-con units with spa baths, cooking facilities, LCD TVs, Electric Blankets, SKY TV, latest magazines . Complimentary Car parking. 14 studio rooms, 2 access rooms & 4 1 bedroom units. Conference Facilities on site. Management on site. Fluent French speaking host. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing