We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a lovely view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterranean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mediterranean Resort
Ranked #22 of 27 Tauranga B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Room with a lovely view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a double room with a lovely rural view with flowering magnolia and citrus trees. The room was spacious & clean. The swimming pool was was empty but we were given a voucher for the Fernland heated pools which were most enjoyable. The included breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over large garden & pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    13
    1
    5
    10
See reviews for
11
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Where to start! No swimming pool, which although had a sign saying closed for winter from reading other reviews it is obvious the pool is empty in all seasons. Dirty room, bathroom filthy - ever heard of exit mould? Noise from the traffic outside windows you cannot close kept us awake all night long, tiny tv up in the corner miles away from the bed. Not impressed. Drove 2 hours for a relaxing getaway for two nights and ended up leaving halfway through our stay. Went to hand keys in and state we were leaving and reception was locked, place deserted so left keys in the room and drove away, never to return again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tauranga hotels

Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Given a family room instead of double room so room had 3 spare unmade beds looked and felt cluttered and unappealing 14inch wall mounted tv only 4 channels not skytv. Free Bubbles was cheap chilled Red wine. Skytv was only in the breakfast room not bedroom. Pool was empty of water for winter months come on! Roof terrace locked. No wifi. No bath facilities only a mouldy shower. Black Mould in ice trays. Really not worth your trip advise staying at home. Windows permanently open unable to close them. No heating other than underfloor. Bar fridge noisey. Half used toilet roll. Left day early no refund given! Constant noise from other rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We were planning a night away at this 'resort' so we booked,payed a deposit in advance and because it was a while away i had made sure this was confirmed twice as we had changed this from the original booking we had made. 20 minutes before we were due to arrive we got rung to say it was 'over booked'. I was not impressed!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JenAuckland7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We went to Tauranga and Mt Maunganui for a weekend, and I don't have complaint about this place. I just think it's not a resort, but still a good place to stay. It's near to city (around 5km, you really need a car!) and Mt Maunganui (around 13km).

The owner and his wife were both very polite and friendly. I liked the dinner style, something different, there was some meats, sausage and vegetables to cook on your table in a hot plate... that cheese and sausages were amazing! The breakfast was much better than I was expect, good size and good flavors.

The room was big, as the bathroom as well. It was autumn, but our rooms was really warm and comfortable. All clean. Bed was ok. There was tea and coffee for free and a small fridge with water, beers and soft drinks for a reasonable prices. There was no Sky TV on my room, which was a shame.

We didn't use the swimming pool (it was a little bit cold), but we had some fun time at tennis court. I wanna stay here again, probably on summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica_Guido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Dinner consist of a few lettace leaves, half a tomato, a few slices of vegies and cold sauage of which you cook yourself on a hot-plate on your table. The hot-plate is barly hot enough. Napkins are face-clothes... Breakfast, large every day packets of cereal on your table , juice, together with small packets yogurt, bread to toast, very small portion of scrabled egg and a flask of coffee and cheap jams.

Beds OK. Linen, winter weight duvet and hard pillows with only one pillow slip. One towell each.

Very dark hall ways.

Swimming pool empty, on a vey hot autumn day.

We were the only quests, and were so disenchanted to have chosen such a place.

We complained about the ' dinner ' and was told it was complementary, " you don't have to eat it " Which we didn't .

All I can say is take a look at tripadvisor, we didn't and payed the price.

Room Tip: Take a look at comments on trip advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perfect1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We booked 18 family members into this 'lodge' because it was the only place that could take us all for our annual family reunion. We came away fed up and disgusted. For $2600 for the weekend we got 1 (one) towel each, a grubby bathroom (especially the shower), a filthy barbeque, a dirty pool - which wecleared of leaves ourselves and an unwelcoming host who treated us like we were yobbos come to wreck his 'palace'. No pots for cooking, no decent wine glasses, on site owner watching your every move.
Whatever you do, do not go there!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
6.5 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#3 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
4.6 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
3.0 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
6.6 mi away
Aquarius Motor Inn
Aquarius Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Resort

Property: Mediterranean Resort
Address: 92 Wairoa Road | RD 1 Te Puna, Tauranga 3021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tauranga
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing