We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch date delight”
Review of Volare

Volare
Ranked #23 of 386 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Licensed restaurant, Bar, Wines, Beer, Italian style dining, fresh homemade pasta, meat, seafood, salad or side
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lunch date delight”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Relaxed atmosphere, very good service and excellent food. The restaurant has two floors and from the upper floor you get a great view of the harbour. The building is one of the old ones and therefore has character. They often have special deals.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Merilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    80
    17
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful food”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We were in Tauranga to view the Russian Ballet performance of Swan Lake and had a meal at Volare. The fettucine Pollo was delicious - fresh pasta and tangy sauce. A small serving was generous but had to try a desert to end off the meal so shared a cassata - yum. Although very busy with a large group, the staff were friendly and efficient. Try it out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merito_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An old favourite!”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We have been to Volare a number of times over the years, but this is the first time I have written a review for it here. We hadn't been to Volare for probably about a year, so there was a "new" menu with lots of choices! We (my husband and I) arrived on a Thursday evening with no reservation, but the friendly manager was very accommodating, and retrieved a table from outside and put it upstairs in a good position, which we really appreciated, considering there were a number of large groups there, so it was quite busy. Meals were very good - I had a beef dish (sorry can't remember the name!) and my husband had the veal. Its good also that you have a choice of a light or main meal, so nothing goes to waste. Excellent wine list as well, at reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband and I lunched at Volare last weekend. We both had pasta dishes which were delicious. I especially loved the fettucine pollo with bacon & parmesan. Will definitely be back. Very friendly and attentive staff too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I really enjoyed the food and the place. I ate a Gnocchi al Gorgonzola e Noci and my husband ordered a Mario’s Bistecca. It was delicious!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fernandafontenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volare also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Volare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing