We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was at home, Excellent Hostess”
Review of Taiparoro House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taiparoro House
Ranked #6 of 27 Tauranga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Memphis makes you feel at home right away. My daughter and I had a twin room with a shared bathroom on the first floor. Everything was always very clean. Our room had an an ocean view, and right outside our door was a porch area that faced the ocean with a table and two chairs. The shared living area has a beautiful glass view of the garden in the back yard. The back yard also has outdoor seating and a table. There are so many places to sit and enjoy this house. Kitchen is well equipped and every room is assigned an area to store things in the refrigerator along with a separate area for other groceries. Memphis is very welcoming and is wonderful to talk with. We loved having conversations with other guests in the kitchen area, meet so many great people. There are two grocery stores within a few blocks and a laundromat as well. There are two house cats that enjoy the guests but they are out of the house most of the time We used this as our base to tour the area and took day trips to Rotorua and other areas. Truly felt like we were coming home every night. If you are looking for a four star hotel this is not meant for that, this is meant to be a very clean and affordable place to stay and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank msuivyci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Taiparoro House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

We fell in love with this charming little place the minute we stepped into it. The rooms were spotlessly clean and each room has a different theme.

There is a common kitchen and living room for all share. Kitchen is huge enough for more than 6 people to use at the same time.

Location wise, it is perfect. Within walking distance to the shops and restaurants.

Ample free parking in front of the place.

Charming and helpful host, Memphis who made us feel at home.

Price wise, it is not as cheap as other motels / b & b at NZD100 for a twin sharing room but it is well worth the price.

Beds are soft and comfy with a quiet neighbourhood. We slept really well here.

Overall, it was a good stay. Shame we had to leave by 6 am to Auckland.

Would be good if the bathrooms have a shelf to put our toiletries for the shower instead of placing them on the floor. Also, a shower cap would help.

Room Tip: If you have a huge and heavy luggage, best to ask for rooms on the lower floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Gorgez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Kiwi hospitality at its best saves this fairly basic but charming accommodation.
The location is excellent, close to the inner city and restaurants .
Our room was small but sufficient but had no where to hang clothes, also little room for toiletries in the bathroom. No tv in room but a large, ancient looking tv in the common room. When we asked if we could turn it on to the all blacks test we were told no. Hey, we are kiwis ........national sport!
There was a large modern kitchen where we could cook but didn't need to. An attractive lounge to share with other guests. The whole property was spotlessly clean, appreciated, but possibly wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room so if stairs are a problem, ask for downstairs.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 December 2013

Hi and thanks for the feedback. We always appreciate the time taken by our guests to review their hospitality experiences with us. Our tv does not have sky tv reception which was relayed to our guests at the time, which meant, alas, that the all blacks game was unable to be seen on our old faithful telly. We are more than happy for any of our guests to turn on "old bessy" any time they please..................we promise she won't mind. Most of the time our guests enjoy socializing and interacting with others in the house and/or are out and about enjoying the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was a little different but very highly recommended. This is a large house with several people staying there. It had an awesome kitchen, living area and guest room. Our room had a great view over the bay. The host was extremely friendly and helpful. The wood heater was a nice touch.

Place was very clean, etc. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the bay.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed for two nights in the massive queen room with adjoining twin bedroom at front of house. Great views from the double doors out to small balcony. Memphis, the owner was very friendly and gave us some tips of where to eat etc. Her lovely paintings are throughout the house and she has tastefully decorated the house. Common areas are shared between all guests...some of whom are long stays over several months. Unlimited free tea/coffee/hot drinks/milk for guests. As there was no breakfast (it isn't a b&b) we bought some cereal from the local supermarket which saved some money! Close to tauranga town (10 min walk) and on a quiet road with secure car parking. Only negative was the cold room which could only be heated by putting the electric heater on full blast. Hardly a major issue though!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Very friendly people, beautiful house, good beds in a nice size room and a 15 minute walk to town. Parking was not a problem either. Loved waking up to the sound of birds singing in the garden -- great introduction to New Zealand. Would definitely stay there again. Hard to say more since we arrived in the evening, went out to dinner and then left the next morning!

Oh, and there is a Burger King less than a 5 minute walk away if you want to start your day with a bacon and egg biscuit :)

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank grabowcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We paid a little more than we usually do for a Hostel but it was worth it. This large home is well cared for, very clean, and has several large common areas (living room, dining room, kitchen, garden) which made us feel very much at home. Our second floor room had excellent WiFi service (included) right in the spacious room. Memphis, our hostess, was very helpful with local attraction information and the short walk along the shoreline into the downtown area (5-10 minutes) made it an excellent location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
1.2 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,102 reviews
0.9 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
1.4 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taiparoro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taiparoro House

Address: 11 Fifth Avenue, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Arthouse Accommodation @ Taiparoro Mansion)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tauranga
Price Range: £80 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taiparoro House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taiparoro House is a boutique-style private guesthouse located in the heart of Tauranga city, an easy ten minute walk from the city centre. Overlooking Tauranga harbour, in a quiet residential street, it is one of the few remaining heritage properties in the Tauranga area. Taiparoro was built in 1882 in a traditional Victorian villa style and is a Category II heritage listed building with the New Zealand Historic Places Trust. Over the years Taiparoro has been lovingly maintained, and restored. It has been specifically designed as guest accommodation with five bedrooms including a harbour view suite, all with ensuite bathrooms, and although it still maintains many of its beautiful period features, it has been updated to a high standard with a more modern contemporary theme and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Taiparoro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing