We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Telling it like it is”

Eastern Ocean Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #281 of 382 Restaurants in Tauranga
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Telling it like it is”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just really disappointing. On walking into a very quiet restaurant we were told where to sit from across the room from a waitress wearing a beanie and dressed like it was snowing inside. We were bought a pot of luke warm tea and then shown a menu, which we ordered 3 yum cha dishes from. Now waiting for food is not a problem, but we got 2 dishes 15 minutes after ordering and then the 3rd after we had finished our first 2. We chose to order a further 2 and got one with a black hair in the batter then waited another 10 minutes before deciding to leave before the last dish arrived. So in total 5 yum cha dishes took 1 hour to prepare and serve. We did not pat for the squid with the hair in the batter but we were charged for the dish that had not yet arrived. On the plus side the food we ate was very good. We used to frequent this restaurant quite often but will be looking for an alternative when next in Tauranga.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MeffnDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    9
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Typical of a New Zealand provincial restaurant really. Some good dishes (sweet and sour pork that was tasty and not bright orange and the smoky wok fried noodles were excellent). Other dishes bordered on average. Service was pretty good. However we did have to remind the staff to get our Tiger beer- unforgiveable that. Solid choice for a bit of Chinese in Tauranga.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canddnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohope, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful authentic Chinese restaurant; Great yum cha”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The yum cha choices is great although could do with a bit more variety. The food is very authentic Chinese, delicious and very appetising. The service is always prompt, efficient and ;friendly, most of the times. It is quite of good value. I love the desserts especially the ice cream balls, sesame balls and custard pudding. I eat here quite a lot whenever I'm in Tauranga and will highly recommend it to all who like authentic and delicious Chinese cuisine. I have eaten here countless times and will definitely come back for more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TES983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
178 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Another Satisfying Experience”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My friend & I decided to grab a bite to eat before we headed to the movies (just around the corner). We were given a warm greeting, shown to a table & asked what drinks we would like to order. Our waitress was attentive & efficient & quickly brought our drinks to us & took our meal order, steaming bamboo baskets arrived at our table in super-quick time. My vegetarian friend thoroughly enjoyed her meal and my dishes - BBQ pork buns (approx $4), spring rolls with yummy dipping sauce (approx $4) & tasty chicken/rice dish (approx $14) & $2.50 can of Sprite were very satisfying.

I couldn't eat all the rice dish & my friend couldn't eat all her meal, so we asked the waitress to package remaining food for takeaway (waitress very helpful & this was not a problem). Very nice, friendly gentleman processed our payment at the counter & away we went:) Highly recommend this place & we will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
178 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Variety & Timely Service”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My husband & I visited this authentic Chinese restaurant two days ago & were greatly impressed by the professional, courteous service & steaming hot food that arrived at our table very quickly. We had booked ahead of time & arrived early evening, we were given a warm greeting & asked which table we would like to be seated at. A check sheet was placed in front of us so we could check boxes next to items on the Dim Sum (Yum Cha) menu which had a good variety of dishes to choose from. Food arrived quickly in steaming hot in bamboo steamer baskets & the different dishes we shared were delicious. The atmosphere felt very authentic & wait staff were courteous & very attentive which ensured a very enjoyable dining experience of which we shall repeat in the very near future.
The bill was delivered to our table quickly & we were pleasantly suprised at how reasonable it was & there were no issues when we handed a 'Grab A Deal' voucher over with our payment.
The only drawback was that the place-mats had seen better days & appeared a bit grubby/greasy and the water glasses/jug were fairly old/stained, however these issues can be easily remedied & the rest of our dining experience was outstanding:)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eastern Ocean Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Eastern Ocean Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing