We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic day out”

Tauranga Tasting Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$97.31*
and up
Shore Excursion: Local Tasting Tour from Tauranga
More Info
US$101.06*
and up
Shore Excursion: Rotorua Tour from Tauranga
More Info
US$198.37*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Waitomo Caves and The Kiwi House
Ranked #1 of 4 Food & Drink in Tauranga
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic day out”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We arranged for a wine and beer tasting tour while visiting on a cruise ship. Our hosts, Paul and Hilary were just lovely and gave a really personal touch to the day. The lunch at Mills Reef Winery was divine, as was the dessert and cocktail by the water. Highly recommended for a wine tasting day with a difference.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 280SueA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tgatastingtours, Owner at Tauranga Tasting Tours, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your day, despite some unexpected hiccups, and hope the rest of your cruise went really well! Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tauranga Tasting Tours & Charters - Rotorua Tour - While cruising on Voyager of the Seas”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We did this tour on the 27th of November 2013. We were on the Voyager of Seas, Royal Caribbean for 14 nights from Sydney, around New Zealand and then back to Sydney. We left Sydney on the 23rd of November. Our second stop on cruise was the town of Tauranga, located on the Eastern side of the North Island, below Auckland. Prior to leaving Brisbane, Australia, I enquired via the Internet for tours of Rotorua out of Tauranga. The Rotorua tour offered by the ship was going to cost $1300.00 AUD for 2 adults, 3 teenagers aged 15, 13, 11 and a 4 year old. And that tour would have been with another 40 people. So after researching the internet I was recommended by a company to look at "Tauranga Tasting Tours and Charters" - run by Paul and Lyn Marston. I contacted them via email and dealt with Lyn. She was so easy to deal with and answered any question we asked of her. The quote we received was great at NZD 590.00 for all 6 of us. At NZD $150.00 for adults, NZD $80.00 for kids up 15 years old and only NZD $50 for our 4 year old daughter. Which after the conversion it was only AUD $536.00 dollars. So this saved us AUD $ 736.00 compared to the similar tour through the ship.

Below is a rough outline of the Rotorua Tour -

On leaving the port, we travel along our beautiful waterfront & beach, talking about Tauranga & Mt Maunganui.
We then proceed to Te Puke, the kiwifruit capital, stopping at Kiwi 360, where clients are taken under the vines, & the kiwifruit industry is explained - followed by a kiwifruit tasting.
En route to Rotorua, we stop at Okere Falls, with a short walk into the bush to view a spectacular waterfall and, possibly, some white-water rafting and, as we approach Rotorua, background knowledge is given on the city.
Clients are taken through the Government Gardens, stopping at the Rotorua Museum, the old Bath House, to explain the background of this fine old building, and allowing time to go inside.
After proceeding to Te Puia, the Maori Cultural Centre ( this cost of entry is included in the price of the tour, and that alone for our family of 6 was about NZD $150.00), clients are given a personalised tour of the old pa site, through the thermal grounds (of boiling mud, geysers etc.), and shown the wood-carving school, flax weaving & the kiwi bird. This is followed by a Maori Welcome onto the marae, before entering a meeting house for a performance by a Maori concert party. After Te Puia, lunch is purchased at a small cafe on the lakefront.
Owing to sailing times, it is normally time to head back to Tauranga, via Pyes Pa Road, which provides an opportunity to view different scenery on the return trip. Also, by coming back via Pyes Pa, and travelling through the CBD, we are able to show a little of Tauranga, before returning to the ship.
We may reverse the order of the tour, to fit in with booking times at Te Puia, if necessary.
Cost: NZ$150.00pp. (NZ$80.00pp. child up to 15 yrs.) (Includes Te Puia costs)

Lyn & Paul Marston Ph: +64 7 5441383
Tauranga Tasting Tours & Charters
Email - tgatastingtours@xtra.co.nz
Web address - www.tastingtours.co.nz

The tour price includes entry fees to Te Puia the Maori Cultural Centre and show. You virtually only pay for any souvenirs and your lunch at a beautiful café beside Lake Rotorua.

Paul was our tour guide for the day. He met us at the ship at about 8.30am and the was for about 7 hours. We got back to the ship at about 4.00pm. We travelled in a small 16 seat mini bus. There was only 10 of us, so we had plenty of room to spread out for the tour.

Paul was a magnificent guide. He was very knowledgeable on New Zealand and the Maori Culture. He was great with the kids and answered any of their questions and encouraged them to ask questions. He complimented them on their great behaviour during the tour when he dropped back at the ship. We stopped at a few extra points of interest that are not listed on the tour and he will happily stop for photo opportunities.

We had an absolutely excellent day and this was our favourite tour that we did when we were in New Zealand. I highly recommend this tour if you want a truly personal tour without the large crowd of a tour group. Thankyou Paul and Lyn for a great tour and Paul you made the day for us, you were great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SimonKnechtli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tgatastingtours, Owner at Tauranga Tasting Tours, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We're so glad that the tour was a good experience. Paul said it was a pleasure to be with you. He thoroughly enjoyed the company of such a pleasant & interested family with such well-behaved & communicative children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Wine and beer tasting tour”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The Tauranga tasting tour was a great way to spend the day in Tauranga New Zealand The driver was pleasant and good company .He took us to some nice wineries and we tried lots of different wines .We also went to a beer brewery and tried some interesting NZ beers We had beautiful meal on the trip and finished off with cheesecake and cocktails at the harbor. Would recommend this tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tgatastingtours, Owner at Tauranga Tasting Tours, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We're glad you enjoyed our Local Tasting Tour for your special day. We try to cover a variety of venues & liquor types during the tour. We really appreciate your taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hosts”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We went on an organised Wine and Food tasting trip to West Auckland from Tauranga, that Paul and Lyn had organised for our Beefsteak and Burgundy Club.

We had a fantastic weekend, full of exactly the type of wine and food experiences that we were expecting (and even some that we were not), for example we went to a wine aroma experience in the Wynyard Quarter adjacent to the Viaduct Basin, this was a very informative and thought provoking visit.

We came home laden with far too many purchases of the bottled kind, which Paul managed to look after in his bus without any breakages - well done!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 325Hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tgatastingtours, Owner at Tauranga Tasting Tours, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
It's always great to spend time with those who enjoy tasting, learning & talking about about good wine. Thanks for being convivial company & taking the time to write a review. We hope you enjoyed your purchases!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taauranga City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kumeu Wine Trip - 23/24 March 2013”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Paul organised our programme for the weekend visiting Vineyards and Saturday evening dinner. Sunday included smelling the different fruits etc good and bad (mould) included. Most of us failed the test. An excellent place to visit if at the Viaduct Basin, Auckland. The most popular Vineyard being Kumeu River which is family run and all wines made from grapes grown in the Kumeu area. Thanks Paul for a wonderful weekend.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tgatastingtours, Owner at Tauranga Tasting Tours, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to write about the trip to Kumeu. We enjoyed Kumeu River Wines too, & their real passion for what they were doing, but were pleased that all the presentations & tastings were a bit different from eachother. We hope you enjoy drinking your purchases!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tauranga Tasting Tours also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Tauranga Tasting Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing