We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprise ! surprise!”
Review of Roselands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roselands Motel
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We went at last minute, without reservation. ross the host greeted us. showed us a couple of option. even bargained the rate. welcome surprise. clean,comfy & cozy. will revisit. v close to motorway and township, but dead silent.

Room Tip: if you are 4 persons ask for room # 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselands, Owner at Roselands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us because we did enjoy having you here. We wish you the best in your future endeavours and hope you do come back soon. Thanks for the kind review, we really appreciate your valuable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Attended a Reunion close by and found this Motel well situated for easy access to city centre and to Mt. Manganui.
The Motel was clean and tidy but quite old and tired and need of some modernising. The main issue was the extremely hard, uncomfortable matresses making for a poor sleep.

Room Tip: Room 9 was upstairs which would not be suitable with mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselands, Owner at Roselands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We are sorry you didn't have a good night sleep, if we had known we would have given you an extra mattress to alleviate that, you only had to ask. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Roseland motel with Miyuki and Ross and we really enjoyed our stay. The motel is perfectly clean and parts of the interior in the rooms is old style (looks like from the 60's to me) but in a perfect condition. Since we stayed in the ground floor we had our own backyard where we had breakfast with flowers, trees and bees just outside the door. This was wonderful! Miyuki, Ross and the dog Fluffy were so sweet and friendly to us and really made us feel like being home or like family members.

For my personal liking I found the beds a bit too firm but I was given an extra mattress to use which helped. So everything was top notch and we are glad to give Roselands our highest rating. Very recommended!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tobbe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselands, Owner at Roselands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure having you both.
Good luck in India and I hope you enjoy the CD.
Many thanks.

From Miyuki & Ross...& Fluffy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were attending a family wedding in Tauranga and providing our 3 American cars for Wedding Cars. We were a bit concerned about taking up 3 large spaces to park the cars overnight. We needn't have worried. Our hosts .Miyuki and Ross could not have been more helpful and friendly. This is a lovely little motel - the rooms are spotless and comfortable with comfy beds and nice linen. It is also in a nice location with lots of things to do and see nearby. All in all a lovely place to stay - I would recommend this motel to all. Thank you Ross & Miyuki for making our stay such a pleasureable one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raewyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselands, Owner at Roselands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review.
Miyuki and I enjoyed having your group here and we hope that we get to see you all again in the near future.... even if its just for a cuppa and a catch up.
Dont forget to bring the cars....so cool.

Cheers
Miyuki and Ross

P.S. Hope the honeymoon went well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great location, great spot, close to town, the Roseland Hotel is a small complex of only 10(?) units, but sparklingly well maintained and lacking nothing. Good old fashioned welcome and hospitality sealed the deal together with an unexpectedly un-grand price. And quiet to boot, in spite of it very convenient location. Decor is retro, only it is the genuine original deal.

Our room had a view of the sea, a kitchen, free wifi and separate toilet. Toaster, microwave, the usual tea and coffee, plus(!) little chocolates! Hill hoists out in the garden take those wet togs, balcony, those sandy sandals.

Our hosts also passed on invaluable information about how to get to town and what to see. I also appreciated their professional approach to running the business, it gave me confidence that what I asked for could be delivered.

I highly recommend this hotel. Great job, mine hosts!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank vaguelymovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselands, Owner at Roselands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Well... words can express a lot of things... but reading your review left me with no words at all... Thanks soooooo much for such lovely review. Thanks for taking the time to notice the little details we offer our guests, thanks for reassuring once more our job is so rewarding... And THANKS for staying with us... it's been our pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Rooms were clean and tidy. We ate in our rooms first night - it was a very nice dinner, all freshly made. The location is great, close to the centre of town, but very quiet. Only a short walk to rose gardens overlooking the bay. As it's only a small complex it is nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselands, Owner at Roselands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Gaelene, Thanks for the lovely review... we couldn't ask for a nicer, more honest review.
Very glad you enjoyed your meals, we do try our hardest to make the meals as fresh and nice as we can.
It was an absolute pleasure having you both here. Hope will see you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Arrived at Tauranga to find a place to stop overnight. Having travelled through the main front and none to hopeful came across the Roselands Motel only minutes from the towns activities. Although it was only lunchtime nothing was to much trouble for the owners to settle us in. Nice clean unit and very comfortable. Only one hundred yards from lovely rose gardens nearby. As we had booked for two nights in Auckland before onward flights would rather have stayed one extra night here than in Auckland. The only negative was a very noisy young couple who clearly had no regards to other residents in the early hours. The owners realised this the next morning and apologised but it was not their fault.

Room Tip: Nice location and within walking distances of many restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikewsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselands, Owner at Roselands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thanks so much for the great review! We really appreciate your time and kindness to leave such a lovely review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. It does make us feel good when you guys say that you would have preferred stayed one more night with us. Probably it would have been a bit more quieter the night after ;)
Thanks a lot!
Miyuki & Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#22 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roselands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roselands Motel

Address: 21 Brown Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: £65 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roselands Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the tranquility of Roselands Motel - everything Tauranga has to offer is within a stone's throw from your doorstep. Roselands Motel is only a 5-minute walk to the city centre, waterfront, cafes, restaurants and city market with organic produce. Its only a 10-minute drive to Mt Maunganui Surf beaches. A small place, very quiet and private with only 10 units set in a beautiful setting in the heart of Tauranga. All units are fully equipped and are serviced daily. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Roselands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing