We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So central yet so quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Suites
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So central yet so quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Five minutes walk (if that) to the centre of town and the Riverside quay area. Opposite a large park too. We had two nights here with absolutely no street or internal noise at all. Security was good with underground, monitored car parking and a lift to reception. Room 4 was spacious with an extra large bathroom, a king bed and a compact kitchenette.
Sky tv reception was excellent and despite an initial hiccup with in room internet, which was soon sorted, we were very comfortable.
Management were quick to respond to our needs and overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at a quite reasonable rate.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    83
    26
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
120
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

When i tried to book for a full seven days on business elsewhere i could not find a place that could accommodate me until i found this gem. a 10 minute walk to the central business district along with underground parking worked well. the room was well appointed though the bed was a little firm for my liking but thats probably just me, the sound proofing was great as i didn't once hear sounds from any of the rooms either side of me.
What really made it special was the service, Trish is such a good host and helped me out when i found i had left all my other business shirts back in wellington as she did a quick wash and dry for me when i had to go back into the office that night. I can't speak highly enough of her great attitude and actually giving service that surpasses most that i have stayed in. I can only but recommend this hotel to all i meet.
Thanks for the great stay trish.
Oh and the pool was a welcome dip to cool after a hot day.

Room Tip: i had room 19 on level 2 which had its own balcony and had nice views and rooms along this side woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwinwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

A perfect haven, ideal for relaxing by the pool. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The grounds were immaculate. It felt special to spend time here.The staff were always available and always very helpful, and the rooms were spectacular. Loved the fact that internet access was fast and easy to access,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garra_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mougins
Level Contributor
302 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were recommended this motel/hotel by the I-site office and it was very good.Safe ,secure parking under the building with a lift up to your floor.Nice rooms with all mod cons. very handy for a stroll down to the Strand ,with all the bars and restaurants.Trish in the reception was very helpful indeed.We were only going to stay one night but our dolphin Seafari was very late getting back the next day so we drove straight back to City suites to see if they had a room. Trish was there and immediately checked us into a 2 bedroom suite at no extra cost !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We booked a night here at short notice on a busy weekend and were allocated a room with 2 king sized beds which was perfect for us (couple plus a four year old). By the time we checked in, we had acquired a nephew for the night! The receptionist (I assume the owner) could not have been more helpful, the extra child shared the king bed and there was no extra charge. The room was absolutely spotless, kitchen was very well equipped and kids enjoyed the pool. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wardie233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Clean, spacious, quiet room with everything we needed. Secure parking and so close to the city centre. We also discovered a swiming pool which wasn't mentioned in their on-line blurb.We will stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We arrived early in the morning, at least 5 hours earlier then the allowed check-in time. We were greeted by the friendliest and most helpful receptionist who allowed us to check-in early. She even gave us a choice between 2 different rooms. A vast contrast to the 2 most horrible nights we had in Rotorua. She made sure the room was ready and fresh milk was available. She even walked us to the room to show us where it is.

The room was immaculate, spacious and filled with natural light. There was clean linen and the amenities was spotless. High praises to the management and housekeeping staff whom must have worked very hard to keep the entire hotel spotless.

We left something in the room by accident and had checked out but received a call 5 minutes later to advise us of what we had left behind. It was just a phone charger but the honesty of the staff was very heartwarming. We would recommend it to everyone who is visiting the area. I would ensure we stay over whenever we return to the Tauranga.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor has a shared little balcony/patio space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mephalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.4 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.8 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.2 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Suites

Property: City Suites
Address: 32 Cameron Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Puriri Park Boutique Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Suites is Tauranga's newest accommodation option, right in the heart of the city. With only a 5 minute walk to the CBD, or a 10 minute drive to the beaches of Mount Maunganui, City Suites has all you could want, whether you are traveling for business or fancy a weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing