We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location”
Review of City Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Suites
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We only stayed here for 1 night in mid-March. We liked the under-ground car park with a lift to our floor. When we arrived, our room was swelteringly hot. It took many hours for us to cool down the room with air-conditioning. The hotel was an easy 5 min walk to many waterfront restaurants. This was lucky because the notice in the room's kitchen frightened us - if the ultra sensitive fire alarm went off, we'd be charged $1500!!! There was free Wi-Fi but we only got 30 seconds worth of use. We tried connecting for many hours but were never able to get access. This was very disappointing.

Room Tip: Room 10 was very sunny and had a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank no_444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

6 of us stayed one night at the City Suites Tauranga for a wedding. Booking was a breeze and we were given the rooms we requested with no hassles at all. John at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. This hotel is so central to everything in the CBD, there is no need for a car. The rooms are very large, extremely clean and tastefully decorated with a great shower and lovely deck. Thanks to John and the team for a wonderful stay. Stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22 on the top storey and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Five minutes walk (if that) to the centre of town and the Riverside quay area. Opposite a large park too. We had two nights here with absolutely no street or internal noise at all. Security was good with underground, monitored car parking and a lift to reception. Room 4 was spacious with an extra large bathroom, a king bed and a compact kitchenette.
Sky tv reception was excellent and despite an initial hiccup with in room internet, which was soon sorted, we were very comfortable.
Management were quick to respond to our needs and overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at a quite reasonable rate.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BrisbaneRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

When i tried to book for a full seven days on business elsewhere i could not find a place that could accommodate me until i found this gem. a 10 minute walk to the central business district along with underground parking worked well. the room was well appointed though the bed was a little firm for my liking but thats probably just me, the sound proofing was great as i didn't once hear sounds from any of the rooms either side of me.
What really made it special was the service, Trish is such a good host and helped me out when i found i had left all my other business shirts back in wellington as she did a quick wash and dry for me when i had to go back into the office that night. I can't speak highly enough of her great attitude and actually giving service that surpasses most that i have stayed in. I can only but recommend this hotel to all i meet.
Thanks for the great stay trish.
Oh and the pool was a welcome dip to cool after a hot day.

Room Tip: i had room 19 on level 2 which had its own balcony and had nice views and rooms along this side woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwinwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A perfect haven, ideal for relaxing by the pool. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The grounds were immaculate. It felt special to spend time here.The staff were always available and always very helpful, and the rooms were spectacular. Loved the fact that internet access was fast and easy to access,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garra_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were recommended this motel/hotel by the I-site office and it was very good.Safe ,secure parking under the building with a lift up to your floor.Nice rooms with all mod cons. very handy for a stroll down to the Strand ,with all the bars and restaurants.Trish in the reception was very helpful indeed.We were only going to stay one night but our dolphin Seafari was very late getting back the next day so we drove straight back to City suites to see if they had a room. Trish was there and immediately checked us into a 2 bedroom suite at no extra cost !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We booked a night here at short notice on a busy weekend and were allocated a room with 2 king sized beds which was perfect for us (couple plus a four year old). By the time we checked in, we had acquired a nephew for the night! The receptionist (I assume the owner) could not have been more helpful, the extra child shared the king bed and there was no extra charge. The room was absolutely spotless, kitchen was very well equipped and kids enjoyed the pool. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wardie233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.4 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#22 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Suites

Address: 32 Cameron Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand (Formerly Puriri Park Boutique Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range: £70 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — City Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Suites is Tauranga's newest accommodation option, right in the heart of the city. With only a 5 minute walk to the CBD, or a 10 minute drive to the beaches of Mount Maunganui, City Suites has all you could want, whether you are traveling for business or fancy a weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing