We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Armitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Armitage
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“An excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

This hotel is untouched by time and retains the character and charm of old world New Zealand. It has a charm and atmosphere you need to experience to appreciate. Staff were friendly and helpful, the food was amazing, the location was great and so close to town. The rooms were larger than average, clean and well maintained. The bed comfortable. This is my second visit and the only hotel I will stay at when visiting this town. I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIgntech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    106
    60
    35
    18
See reviews for
68
96
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hotel Armitage has a 70's decor we found appealing - lot's of wood panelling, dated but solid furniture and fittings - but flat screen TVs. However, very clean and overall quite appealing for those looking for something a little different. Some may think the hotel is due for a refurbish but funly enough that may well take away it's charm. A short and pleasant walk gets you to the town centre. The outdoor pool looked nice, although we didn't try it. We did purchase a dinner and breakfast deal which turned out to be very good value - the dinner was excellent. The chef deserved more customers than he had on a Saturday night. Very good, friendly service at the desk. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road will get you the morning sun, rooms facing the pool and carpark the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakapaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Where else can you get free unlimited WiFi from in your own room? This place is fantastic.loads of parking,clean pool, spa,quiet street, receptionists that answer the phone fast, great value too if you use the ezypeezy website with free breakfast.You won't find a better place than this for its value and location.well done guys!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hadders843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We were a bit worried when coming here, since we had read so much critics about the hotel - and couldn't find anything elso in the whole region (since it was a busy holiday time). But - it turned out to be a perfect place for us to stay. Specially the kids loved the outside pool. We adults loved the warm whirlpool beside :-) And - the personnel even mailed us (to Scandinavia!!!) some staff we've forgotten in the hotel... That's Service with a capital letter!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engelschor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We having been coming here for years because of its central location it's swimming pool and friendly staff. We have seen a great improvement over the years as it is given the tender loving care that it needed. We will certainly return

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for a week and had such a lovely time. We arrived late on the 1st night and were worried about finding somewhere at short notice but the young man in reception told us we could have the last room and would wait for us to arrive. Once we got there, we loved the vintage look of the hotel and was happy with our room. the next morning a young girl was on the desk and she told us that we could move to a bigger room with a spa if we like and was extremely polite and helpful. During our stay, all the staff asked about our day, if there was anything we needed and was so friendly. The pool was great which we took advantage of most days and the little food we had there was nicely cooked. I would def stay here again and reccomend to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frodsham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Hotel was handy for our requirements just on the edge of town and away from the hustle and bustle of this lively town. The staff were very friendly, but I just felt that the hotel needed some tlc all over in general the place looks tired. Lovely the wood panelling etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzyFrodsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.2 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Tauranga
Quest Tauranga
#19 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
1.9 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour City Motor Inn
Harbour City Motor Inn
#8 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Armitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armitage

Property: Hotel Armitage
Address: 9 Willow Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Armitage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled conveniently in the heart of Tauranga's CBD, your ideal inner city accommodation. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is located only a 3-minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the main center in Tauranga. You'll find Tauranga's vibrant nightlife and great shopping at your doorstep and of course Mount Maunganui with its renown white sandy beaches is only a short leisurely drive away. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is a charming 3.5 star Qualmark rated, 24 hour service hotel offering the discerning traveller comfortable and spacious hotel accommodation. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking* to make your stay feel like a home away from home. The Poolside Restaurant situated on the ground floor offers an international fare of tastes and flavours using the Bay of Plenty's abundant 'fruit bowl" as some of its core ingredients. Other facilities in the hotel include the Clipper Lounge Bar with a grand piano and a pool table for socialising. The swimming pool and outdoor area is a fantastic place for relaxation. Swim a few laps in the large pool, soak in the spa pool and find a nice lounger to recline on with a cool drink. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is a great venue for your next Tauranga conference or event with five function rooms to choose from each with different points of difference. Our professional and friendly conference team are happy to assist you with making your event a success. Send us an enquiry about our competitive rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Armitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armitage Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing