We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok stay”
Review of Hotel Armitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Armitage
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here with my partner, just for one night. We realised when booking online that it wasnt the newest of hotels, and were ok with that.
We did incur some problems though. First of all, the doors to the ranchslider had massive gaps which the wind howled through, then later we asked for additional towels only to find that my towel looked more like a rag, with freyed edges and quite small. We also asked for room service at around midnight to be told "oh sorry were understaffed tonight youll have to come get it yourself"
The two saving graces for this hotel was that the cheese board and garlic bread were very well priced :) and we were able to nurse our hangovers a little longer with a noon checkout :)

The above said, I shouldnt imagine we'll be back to stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TSmithNZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Hello there,
I am very sorry to hear of your bad experience staying in our Hotel.
We would like to investigate this matter further and deal with the problems you have brought to our attention promptly. If you have a spare minute and could email through some more details of your stay to info@hotelarmitage.co.nz. it would be greatly appreciated. E.g. room number,date of stay, etc.
On behalf of the Hotel I would like to apologise for our negligence and let you know we appreciate your honest feedback as it will assist us in the fine tuning our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We checked in last night to an old favourite in tauranga that possibly has lost its state of art style but were totally impressed! New owners and great service and management. Our room had been renovated with large bathroom, comfy bed and heat pump! Reasonable price per night. Quiet and a lovely deck to view over the domain. Privacy. Would definitely return. Much better than a pokey motel neck to neck with others.

Room Tip: Queen size room 3rd floor great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank incite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We understand the need for space, whether travelling for business or pleasure. There is nothing worse than a tiny room, surrounded by noisy neighbors! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will think of us again next time you visit Tauranga. Thank you for reviewing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hubby and I had a two day midweek break here with our 6 month old baby.
Rooms were clean, bathrooms were modern with a bonus of a spa bath which was nice. Place does look very dated however would stay here again. Staff on reception were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haylzks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are an older style hotel but we do take care of what we have and make sure that everything is in full working order! We hope you and your new family will choose our Hotel again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Have recently stayed at the Armitage - one of out favorite places to stay in Tauranga. Locality very good especially if you have a car & want to head over to Mt Maunganui - is close to the harbour bridge. Is also close to the town centre.
The Staff are very professional & friendly.
The rooms are very clean & comfortable & there is a sofa - as against the usual 1 armchair that one invariably gets in a Hotel room.
We didnt have room service this time but the prices are very good. There is a balcony - as far as I know attached to every room.
All in all a great place to stay & would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We have stayed on either side of the building & didn't have any problems with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

What an amazing all around review. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a comment, it is greatly appreciated by all at Hotel Armitage. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lovely old hotel. Room was good and clean, Service was excellent and everyone was cheerful.
Breakfast and dinner were top quality. My wife and I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and will stay there again next time we are in Tauranga. Will definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schultzy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Such a wonderful review is greatly appreciated by all of our staff. It is lovely to hear that our guests enjoy everything we work so hard to maintain! We love our unique decor and it's good to know our guests do too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Chose accommodation close to the City and also close to a nearby resthome that we were visiting. We booked through Hotels.com who also recommended restaurants .. at the top of their list they should put this place for a great meal!! This was a place I would recommend to anyone. Clean and friendly with the most divine woodwork. A special of $35 per head was offered for a 2xcourse evening meal (either entree and main or main and dessert) which also included either a continental breakfast or bacon and eggs. Could not fault the meal and great to meet the evening chef who had originated from the Manawatu, same as us. We have come home and definitely intend to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms were great - book the Harbourview room if that is what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseBuch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Armitage, Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your chef special. We offer this to all of our guests for an easy yet delicious meal option! Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed at Hotel Armitage a couple of times last year, as this was pre booked for me i did not have much choice.As this is a lovely older Hotel which had a great homely feel to it I would not have any
regrets at staying here again.But unfortunately I had 2 bad experiences on 2 separate stays with
dirty rooms.As I mentioned these problems to reception staff on two separate occasions and both times they were ignored.Will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Armitage, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Armitage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hello there,
Thank you for your review, any feedback is greatly appreciated whether positive or negative.
We are very sorry to hear of your two unpleasant stays with us and cannot apologise enough for our negligent staff. If you could send us some extra information regarding your stay to info@hotelarmitage.co.nz we would like to investigate this matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
0.1 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#6 of 57 in Tauranga
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest on Durham
Quest on Durham
#18 of 57 in Tauranga
132 reviews
2.3 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Armitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Armitage

Address: 9 Willow Street, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Tauranga
Price Range: £53 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Armitage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled conveniently in the heart of Tauranga's CBD, your ideal inner city accommodation. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is located only a 3-minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the main center in Tauranga. You'll find Tauranga's vibrant nightlife and great shopping at your doorstep and of course Mount Maunganui with its renown white sandy beaches is only a short leisurely drive away. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is a charming 3.5 star Qualmark rated, 24 hour service hotel offering the discerning traveller comfortable and spacious hotel accommodation. Enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking* to make your stay feel like a home away from home. The Poolside Restaurant situated on the ground floor offers an international fare of tastes and flavours using the Bay of Plenty's abundant 'fruit bowl" as some of its core ingredients. Other facilities in the hotel include the Clipper Lounge Bar with a grand piano and a pool table for socialising. The swimming pool and outdoor area is a fantastic place for relaxation. Swim a few laps in the large pool, soak in the spa pool and find a nice lounger to recline on with a cool drink. The Hotel Armitage and Conference Centre is a great venue for your next Tauranga conference or event with five function rooms to choose from each with different points of difference. Our professional and friendly conference team are happy to assist you with making your event a success. Send us an enquiry about our competitive rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Armitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armitage Hotel Tauranga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing