We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awesome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tauranga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charlemagne Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 28 Tauranga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I just love these old restored places such charm such architecture with its beautiful plaster ceilings and all the antiquated light fittings just awesome and for such a place to be run by such lovely folk seems only fair, was only there for one night but was very impressed with everything , such charm the love and the good service
God bless'

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

We attended our niece's wedding at the Charlemagne on 4th Feb and absolutely loved the setting, it was so romantic. The small gazebo is lovely for the ceremony but we were disappointed that the celebrant did not hold the microphone high enough to be able to hear properly. It was extremely hot so many of the guests were trying to stand in the shade of the buildings. I think they should have had a lot more umbrellas for shade especially with the warnings we have all the time about the sun and cancer. I am pointing these things out but really I loved the whole experience and the day seemed perfect so am only nitpicking for the review. The reception area where the meal was had was beautiful with little lights and chandeliers and the tables and chairs decorated beautifully. The buffet meal was a little disappointing but the brunch next morning was great - service could have been better. All in all though a wonderful place for a wedding and we all had an amazing time.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the lodge- we only attended the wedding. The bride and groom stayed in the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coralieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed at the lodge for the first few days of our honeymoon. We were jetlagged after traveling from Boston, MA, USA and were so grateful to have such a lovely place to relax after our journey. We were the only guests and were bumped up from a smaller room to the largest room. Since we were the only guests we had the whole place to ourselves, including an office and laundry room. There were also multiple sitting areas and lounges for us to use as we pleased. One sitting room in particular was our favorite for afternoon tea.

Our hosts were lovely. We had a tasty breakfast each morning, lots of useful information about our surroundings and places to eat, and as mentioned above, they made us feel very welcome. It was the best possible place for us to get over our jet lag and get acclimated to New Zealand. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eve1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Ever wanted to stay in a Victorian mansion, but don't want to pay too much? Then Charlemagne lodge could be for you. It's a bit of an odd "hotel" or B&B as the locale is clearly more of a venue for weddings (so I'm guessing trying to get a room on the weekends would be very difficult), but if you can ignore that side of the equation, it makes for a lovely spacious and luxurious stay that won't break the bank. The house itself is built to look Victorian, but is actually only about 15 years old.

We had booked into the second suite, but family of the owners were staying there, so we got upgraded to the honeymoon suite. This basically gave us free run of the whole top floor of the house (and downstairs if we'd wanted too). There was acres of space - literally if you included the grounds - including a giant bedroom, bathroom and lounge area. Fluffy bathrobes were included and the bathroom itself very nice and with a waterwasting shower head. Lovely! I'll save water when I get home.

Internet was available, but only in the managers office, so not exactly wireless country. Breakfast was fine, but nothing to write home about.

Location was not really in Tauranga per se, so you need to drive for 10 minutes to get to the town itself.

All in all good fun, and a nice place to stay, something a bit different to your average motel or B&B. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cpagia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

We were lucky enough to have this lovely place all to ourselves the night we stayed. Bev the manager showed us round and told us a little about the place (it looks really old but is only 14 yrs old!!). She also had loads of local information, let us use the washing machine, etc and serves an excellent breakfast.
The main bedroom is fantastic - opening out onto the huge verandah has a good size en-suite bathroom. A lounge is just outside the bedroom door, with another lounge downstairs next to the dining area.
The house is really easy to find being just off the main road into Tauranga from Auckland. As you drive round the road you'll see the turret appear over the trees.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2007

Lovely lodge with a beautiful view. The hosts were very plesant. Clean, comfortable rooms. Beautiful sitting areas indoors and out. Lovely grounds. It is about 10 minutes from town for cafes and restaurants.

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank Seattle_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
England
1
Reviewed 7 May 2004

Fabulous house, in a beautiful setting, free wine on arrival!! What more could you want? We felt like one of the family.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
7.6 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
183 reviews
5.9 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,126 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
118 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Tauranga on the Waterfront Motel
7.6 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlemagne Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlemagne Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Loop Road, Tauranga 3176, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tauranga
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlemagne Lodge Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing