We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambassador Motor Inn
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Yass, Australia
1 review
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Roger was a gracious host and the room was impeccable. It wasn't the first time I've stayed at the Ambassador and won't be the last. The location is perfect for access to Tauranga and surrounds. The convenience of having cooking facilities really helps.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
It is always pleasing to hear from repeat guests, so many thanks for your review. We are receiving an increasing number of repeat [and referral] guests, and will continue to strive to increase that percentage. Your comments about the cleanliness of your unit have been passed onto our conscientious staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    60
    30
    16
    11
See reviews for
54
58
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I rang this establishment the day before we arrived and asked if we could possibly check in a bit earlier than 2pm to get ready for a wedding. The manager gave me a huge run down on all the cleaning that they have to do and said that we could check in early if he hired more staff and we paid for it. I don't think that this was an unfair request and something that could easily have been sorted with a customer focused approach. Aside from this the facilities in our room were adequate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Many thanks for your report. All comments are treated with the same respect. Your positive comments about the cleanliness of your unit has been passed on to our staff, who do appreciate being appreciated. Over 18 years of running B & B s in the UK and now motels in New Zealand, we have developed a very efficient system of getting everything done between 10am and 2pm. On most Saturday night bookings, especially in the summer, we receive multiple requests for early check-ins, and our staff in the past have been run ragged due to the time constraints. For just a small fee of $10.00 we will guarantee an early check-in. as in most cases, we would need to interrupt our system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Great location and very friendly, helpful staff. Roger could not do enough to help. Cleaners were smiling and helpful. Reminded me of a place where customer service was more than just a catch phrase. Will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DannyD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and for your comments. I will pass them on to our staff, who do appreciate being appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Convenient, comfortable clean place to stop over. Friendly manager was happy to leave the unit open for our midnight arrival. We just parked at our front door, put our bags inside and hit the sack. All easily sorted in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank oscorzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Many thanks for taking time to post your review. We do aim to please our guests and provide a comfortable and enjoyable experience. According to your comments, we did seem to tick the boxes for you, especially service, so are a wee bit surprised you rated us only 3/5. We will continue to put our guests first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Unit was clean and comfortable and the Manager friendly. Spa bath was not working, the internet was not good, there were tree branches scraping on the roof making for a noisy night. Management said they didn't know the spa bath was broken and that the tree branches would be looked at. Hopefully all will be fixed for the next occupants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sirda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your constructive review, and I really appreciated you talking to me on check-out. That enabled me to trim the tree that afternoon, and ask our plumber to look at the spa-bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We thought this motel was ideal for our three night stayand would recommend it without hesitation.The owner was really friendly and helpful.The only drawack is that you have to drive into town (5-10 mins) to find the bars and restaurants

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We really appreciate you taking time to post a review. With the greater Tauranga area now being so extensive with the constant growth of this very popular city, we say we may not be close to much, but are in the middle of everything - 24hr service station and bakery across the road, 2 takeaways and also superettes 2 blocks away, 2 supermarkets in different directions and the citizens club 4 minutes away, downtown 6 minutes, nearest ocean beach 10 minutes, airport 12 minutes, 'The Mount' 15 minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very friendly host, loved the free-wifi provided and the rooms were all pleasant. Not a 5-star review because the sound of water pipes being used from kitchen and bathroom from the neighboring room were way too loud! When you sleep you could tell when other people are using their water.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazza54Tauranga, Owner at Ambassador Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and very pleased you found our motel provided, over-all, a very pleasant experience. The 'sound' issue is of concern to us, and we will check with guests staying in that unit, if they have the same problem. Hopefully it was just a temporary 'air lock', otherwise we will ask our plumber to investigate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
1.8 mi away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.1 mi away
City Suites
City Suites
#7 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Armitage
Hotel Armitage
#26 of 57 in Tauranga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.0 mi away
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
#14 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Academy
Comfort Inn Academy
#10 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Motor Inn

Property: Ambassador Motor Inn
Address: 9 Fifteenth Avenue, Tauranga 3112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Ambassador Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing