We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Studio Unit, $90 per night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Greerton Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tauranga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greerton Motor Inn
Ranked #19 of 26 Tauranga B&B and Inns
Wellington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Basic Studio Unit, $90 per night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Cheap and good Studio Unit that has the basics only. Most Units are upstairs but there is a lift. Large car park that also services local RSA and it will not always be possible to park close to Reception entrance.

The Room is really basic but is exactly as described in the Jasons Directory. Tea/Coffee making facilities, good selection of TV Channels, reasonable shower within a small bathroom/toilet. There were no glasses, plates, or fridge.

Only good if you want the basics and a cheaper accommodation rate.

Room Tip: Good if you want a basic cheap room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AytonWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    13
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and appreciated it's proximity to a wedding we attended. Tidy, clean and comfortable but quite dated. Took me a while to realise where the entrance was until I figured out it shared its entrance with the rsa. Was quite at night so had a comfortable sleep. Location to the rsa pub was handy!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Newlyweds246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch NZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Yes, it was an average room, but at just $90 per night there is no room for complaint.
No refrigerator in the room is a minus, but, there is a seperate little lounge, just for guests, which has a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.
The buffet dinner was just fabulous with a great array of choices.
Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JellyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Greerton was my third choice to spend the night in Tauranga. The other places were already booked (Easter weekend). The inn is okay. I reserved a family room online. My voucher confirmed a room with 1 queen bed and at least 2 single beds. When we saw the room, it only contained 3 singled beds, which was unacceptable. So I went back to the front desk and complained. Apparently, that was not the family room I reserved, but they couldn't transfer us because it was already occupied. They offered an extra twin room for a "special" price of $80, which was again unacceptable. So as a compromise, they installed an extra bed.

There's no airconditioning--only a ceiling fan.

There's free wifi access but limited to 120 minutes per day.

The LCD TV was up to date and okay. The bathroom was clean and had a hot shower.

The inn sits on top of the local RSA association, and its members were singing karaoke that night, and I could hear 'em. It took me a while to get to sleep.

For the price, and if your first and second choice are full, Greerton Motor Inn is an okay alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farthest from their music lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilocanotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here to attend a 21st in Tauranga. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, suitable for a short one-night stay and the price was very reasonable. Would stay again for a short stay for just somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed here on 28 & 29 December 2012.

Not much accomodation in Tauranga/ Mt Maunganui this price at this time of the year where you can book for 2 or less nights!

Stayed in a twin single room with my Mum. Rooms were very tidy (Mum is a Hotel Cleaner Supervisor, and checked the places most often missed, and they were spotless! Top marks for your cleaning staff!)

Beds were very comfortable.

Prior reviews mentioned no fridge in rooms, so I brought my own portable car fridge which I had running in the room non stop over the 2 days :-)

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and didn't mind waiting up for us as we were late arrivals (After 10pm)

Will stay here again if I'm up that way.

Room Tip: Twin Single beds are bigger than standard singles, and are very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

let me be brief about this. We stayed for 2 nights, (25th and 26th of Dec). we booked our rooms last minute and this inn was about the only option that we had.

the good: clean establishment, looks much better than the price tag, very (and I mean very) friendly and helpful staff

the bad: location is not ideal (away from most of attractions), needs refurbishment VERY SOON

the ugly: some misleading advertisement!!!! on their website they mention SKYTV and Internet. what they don't mention is that they only have 3 channels of SKYTV !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and the internet is $5 per hour !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I mean are you kidding me!!!!!!!!!!

anyway I gave them a 'very good' rating, just because of their brilliant staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehsan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
3.9 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.4 mi away
850 Cameron Motel
850 Cameron Motel
#1 of 57 in Tauranga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Academy
Comfort Inn Academy
#13 of 57 in Tauranga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ambassador Motor Inn
Ambassador Motor Inn
#23 of 57 in Tauranga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.8 mi away
Colonial Court Motor Inn
Colonial Court Motor Inn
#10 of 57 in Tauranga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rainbow Motel
Rainbow Motel
#26 of 44 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greerton Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greerton Motor Inn

Property: Greerton Motor Inn
Address: 1237 Cameron Road, Tauranga 3112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Tauranga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a relaxing and affordable Tauranga accommodation then look no further than here at the Greerton Motor Inn. Starting from just $90 per night, Greerton Motor Inn offers comfortable and secure rooms with a selection of king singles, twin, queen or double, with family rooms also available. In each of the accommodation wings guests will find a large lounging area where they can relax with others and use the full range of tea and coffee facilities available. Every room features an en suite bathroom plus all rooms have 32" flat screen TV's (with Sky TV), Telephone facilities and FREE Wi-fi. Also located on site is the Oak Tree Restaurant that offers a great menu at great prices. Off street parking area is also suitable for large truck and trailer units ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing