We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere”

The Phoenix Tauranga
Ranked #22 of 381 Restaurants in Tauranga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub, New Zealand, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Phoenix is the latest addition to the family of Monteith's Craft Beer Bars. We strive to excel in what we do, and provide GREAT FOOD and FRESH BEER to the people of Tauranga. We are passionate about the hospitality industry and strongly believe this is what helps us stand out in the crowd. The Phoenix is designed to be a place where people can come and relax, socialise and be themselves. We hope to bring new, fresh ideas to Tauranga with our different menu, designer cocktails, craft beers and service. We hope you enjoy your visit at The Phoenix Tauranga.
gold coast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was great, vining place, seems like a hit with the locals as well, craft beers on tap, great food

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank carlflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    150
    29
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Phoenix has risen”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Phoenix has risen to the challenge to deal with a group of over 30 peoples including very young children. The staff coped very well making sure everybody was served a drink as we had to wait a while as each of us had different meal which to my surprise they managed to served it all in one go so nobody had to look at their neighbours eating their meal. The young children were cared first which was great giving the chance to the parents later to have their meal in peace. Also the little ones had a sweet treat given by the restaurant. Nice gesture.
Everybody seems happy with their cafe style meal and not only I will recommend the place but hope to come back myself.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Service, Good Food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is clearly a popular restaurant/bar and it was busy when we arrived but we were shown to a bar table initially, then moved to a restaurant table quite quickly after that. Friendly and efficient service, our meals (Crumbed fish and the Corn fed Chicken) were generously sized, well cooked and very tasty. A great array of Monteith's beer to choose from, and a good selection of wine by the glass as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlemingsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohaupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Holiday Dinner.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Enjoyed a very nice meal at the Phoenix with friends, in January. Very friendly and efficient service ,really good menu, something for most peoples taste. Though very busy, the waiting staff did not rush you at all, took the time to talk to you. Would recommend a visit to The Pheonix ,if visiting Tauranga.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane
1 review
“Breakfast a treat ”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

My hubby and I were walking along and spotted this was very appealing service was excellent and my hubby loved the eggs bendict so for us it was a beautiful morning enjoyed would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Sharabara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Phoenix Tauranga also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to The Phoenix Tauranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing